Steemit.com issue #86: Wechat Signup and Integration

in #wechat8 years ago (edited)

wechat2dcde.jpg

This post is entirely for the purpose of calling attention to this github issue and publicly stating that yes, Issue #86 is a very, very good idea.

Selection_016fe6a6.png

In my estimation, we should be able to accomplish this with this:
https://github.com/node-webot/wechat-oauth

The authors of wechat-oauth also have a QQ group:
157 964 097


In case you were wondering, YES, I am trying to influence the course of events around here. If you think that I'm having or could have a positive impact, please let me know by following my posts :D!
Who to follow: @faddat

Addendum: There's good arguments for and against here, and now I at the very least understand where the "let's not do that right now" side is coming from. My gut disagrees with them, but I surely get their concerns now.

Sort:  

Already working on it... Just pm on the slack this weekend mate ;)
But still. Without considering the limits we ll face with the GFW.. (Means new chinese and censored interface). That will just end bad;)

Well, that's a real possibility-- on this particular topic (GFW), I haven't a clue what the best strategy is.

I'm adding some words here. Most of them are my own opinion though.

Generally, bring more users from China is not a technical issue.

Firstly, what's our target market? WeChat is more like whatapp/skype, people chatting, sharing stuff among a group, but not to all the world, there are options about privacy, e.g. who can see or comment on their contents. On the opposite, Steem is more like Facebook/Twitter/WeiBo.com, at least for now.

Secondly, are we ready for a bigger user base? China has largest Internet population in the world, it's not hard to attract a large number of users in a short period, if we tell people that they can possibly earn money by signing up and posting on Steem. However, we all know, the amount they'll earn is vary, most of them will earn next to zero, so they'll leave. Before we figured out how to keep people on the platform, it's not wise to just get more users sign up.

Thirdly, language barrier. Many Chinese people can read/write Chinese only. But most contents on Steem is in English, obviously common Chinese users won't bother read them. Likely Chinese posts won't attract current users, especially active curators and/or whales. So, Chinese posts won't get much reward, unless new people buy in to support them. However, earlier Chinese adopters, for example @laonie who had bought a bunch, now remains only about 1/10 in fiat value, you see the problem with that?

Fourthly, we need to think about the issues new users would bring to the platform, and solutions, in advance.

  • Account farming. There are far more serious account farming issues on Wechat, QQ and other Chinese platforms, than on Facebook or Reddit, so we'll face worse account farming issue than we have now.
  • Content. In comparison to developed countries, copyright ignorance is more common in China.

Another possible issue is whether we can use the oauth of other Chinese platform legally. Most platforms requires a person with Chinese ID, or a company registered in China, if you want to cooperate with them e.g. use their oauth API.

I didn't even talk about the GFW. It would only be an issue after we're bigger.

Thanks for the refresher on the complexities of doing business in China. (that's not sarcasm, one can easily forget all the nuances.....)

Half of me wants to say "Hm, we should scrap this I was wrong to highlight it" (This is possible)

Half of me wants to say "We should do it, and see what results" (this could of course possibly be fantastic)

Please excuse my ignorance on this one:

  • Why do people farm accounts on Steemit?
  • How does this possibly benefit them?
    *What is the thinking behind it? -- I don't get it at all.

As regards platform maturity, I get your point. And yet, honestly, I remain torn.

I just pondered this for about 15 minutes straight. I get all your points, and still remain torn. I wouldn't want anyone to think that I just ignore all the valid stuff you and others have said about this. My "gut" is telling me otherwise, however.

Just caught up with your discussions on Telegram, I admit that you know much about China. That's good for us.

In regards to account farming, the first issue is that it will drain funds from the registrars (currently steemit). When accumulated enough accounts, for example 10k even 100k accounts with 10 SP each, it's not hard to run bots to earn curation rewards, then power down / sell. Perhaps they'll also have some level of influence on some topics/areas.

Yes, people who want to do things will do regardless, some will succeed, some will fail. I'm perhaps too negative right now, which is not good.

Superb. Several of my friends here (China) have wanted to join Steemit but can't because they don't have FB or Reddit accounts.

BTW, QQi? That's my English work, 啦---.

WeChat English team is in SZ at the office where I teach if you might need anyone....

And just posted a link to this article in one of the English Corner QQ groups for TC.

Your username looked familiar.

Might we know one another? Lived in Shenzhen Summer 2014, visit every three months doing shit with embedded linux and the like.

I might need your real name to know, and you might not wanna post it. But it's a possibility if you were at Tencent or around Shekou.

Jacob Gadikian
Are you at the Tencent Nanshan offices?

I don't recall meeting u, maybe through some SNS. I'm at that office about once a week these days. Why don't u add my QQ: 858157690.

thanks for sharing this post

i have confidence in you

Yes, a Good Idea.

Carl(858157690) 1:59:49 PM
https://steemit.com/wechat/@faddat/steemit-com-issue-86-wechat-signup-and-integration
phongchen TEP(42576010) 3:25:31 PM
maybe it will be gfwed soon…

Sorry for the stupid question, but I am reading from my phone and there is no link to the GitHub issue, so I don't have an easy way to check this myself. What is the enhancement that is being requested? Is it to add WeChat to the list of sites (currently Facebook and Reddit) that new users can use to signup through Steemit?

Correct sir

So it is probably just something outside my social circles, but I don't really know anyone that uses this. Who is the target audience that uses WeChat but does not have Facebook or Reddit? Would the majority of those users be able to use something like anonsteem?

Who is the target audience that uses WeChat but does not have Facebook or Reddit?

Chinese people.

I included this in the latest edition of the Steemit Wish List! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59