4. I made this! My very own wristwatch, proud of myself (Lancia Delta Integrale EVO)

in #watches7 years ago

Disclaimer: I will only make one post about my own brand, I wanted to share it while my following is small, just because I am proud of what I made (designed) and also I don't want to use/abuse this platform for the purpose of selling my stuff! It's important to just have fun with it and make you all familiar with as many brands as possible!

Now that's out of the way, let me share with you the Tenera Integrale:

FullSizeRender (8).jpg

The watch is inspired by the the iconic Lancia Delta Integrale EVO (multiple rally championships etc.). As you can see the case design is resembling the body style of the car (bumpers/fenders).

4d23b51c8f9510331ef862145c7bb66e.jpg
(picture credit: turbodelta on pinterest)

The backcase had to be the rims of course

FullSizeRender (10).jpg

The dial is heavily influenced by the rev-counter in the dashboard, giving it that cool retro 80's style.

FullSizeRender (6).jpg

It's a 43mm case, sapphire front and back glass, Swiss made with the ETA 2824-2 movement (very common and solid movement). I also made it a limited edition of 10 pieces, because I'm a broke ass student that couldn't afford the 300MOQ limit all factories have.

Other design features are the bezel, which is in this case the front bumpers air intakes and the crown, shaped like the Lancia logo

IMG_2098.JPG

I hope you'll think I did a pretty okay job on my first watch, will 100% be making other models, probably in some type of way influenced by cars. Saving up cash for the big order! I can't wait!

Kind regards,
Ron

Sort:  

Welcome to the platform, Nice to meet you as well.
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Welcome to Steemit @watchesdaily :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

That's really impressive. I make stuff, but I've never tried to make jewelry, and a watch is very intimidating. I have tons of questions, but I'm afraid of seeming stupid (because I know nothing of making watches), or wasting your time.

Thanks for sharing your skill.

No please ask, I'd be happy to help! :) I like sharing my passion and there are no stupid questions

Where do you get the movement? Do you contract out to get the case and other parts made, or do you make them yourself? Can you give me an idea of what it costs to have a custom watch made (my son has mentioned he might be interested in a watch, and if it is possible for me, I'd like very much to commission a unique watch that reflects his personal interests, for example his band, Of Fact and Fiction).

Thanks very much if you can find the time and can answer these questions =)

For my first watch I contacted a supplier via alibaba, they do everything (get you movements etc.) After that watch I got contacted by a Swiss manufacture! I would suggested to just go on alibaba and inbox a bunch of suppliers of custom watches. Just say you want to make a sample watch if you want one, depending on what you want to make custom and the movement. Custom case design is around $400 so if you get everything custom and a automatic miyota movement it will be around $500-600 for one watch :) I can always help you with design ideas if you want

Thanks! I am presently avoiding crawling under a house to post and comment on Steemit, and really can't afford to invest the time in the learning curve requisite to doing this presently.

When I can devote some time to this project, I'd really benefit from your knowledge and skill. I know my son would really be moved by such a gift, and I never even had a clue it would be possible to do such a thing until I read your post.

Followed, and looking forward to hearing more about your next project!

Sure man feel free to ask anything, I'll remember your name, you can ask for it under anything I post, doesn't need to be specifically here :) Next project will be bigger, hopefully 300 units, but I need to save up first. I'll be posting watches every day, maybe you can get some extra inspiration out of that as well. It's an amazing gift idea :)

Some time ago I became entranced by automatics, like the Seiko 5's, the Bambino, etc. My son had no idea they even existed, because kids use phones to tell time nowadays.

He said he'd like one because it was hacker proof. I didn't tell him about hacking watches lol, because I didn't want to confuse him.

Who makes the movements you can buy, or do you just scour Ebay? There are so many worthy automatics, Sinn, Rolex, etc., that I could never afford, but Seiko 5's are highly regarded, and ridiculously inexpensive.

I just wouldn't know where to start. I work construction, so wear a pulsar. If I smash it with a hammer, I won't cry too long, and it keeps great time (as quartz movements do). But I yearn for an automatic good to about 3 atmospheres, so I won't destroy it working in the rain, and need a day/date cuz I'm old and forget what day it is.

I've wondered if it would be possible to use an automatic movement to produce enough electricity to power a quartz movement through a small rechargable cell. But I expect you'd need a backpack to carry it, I doubt you could wear it on your wrist.

Anyway, I'm a fan, both of good watches, and your first effort. Looking forward to seeing more when you post them!

Check out this post from me: https://steemit.com/watches/@watchesdaily/5-piaget-emperador-coussin-xl-700p-a-hybrid-watch-wait-what it is possible, it's a hybrid watch, exactly what you described ;) also Seiko has the ''Spring Drive'' which is sort of the same as the Piaget. Piaget just took it to the next level.

I get my movement straight from the factory :) I just tell them what I want and they get it for me

Welcome to Steemit @watchesdaily!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steam - you really like it here!
I upvote your post so you can get your first money. If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me.
Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steam better together!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
I follow you, and I hope you will follow me.
Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38