~ 53 ~ Walk With Me in Glen Margaret, Nova Scotia

in #walkwithme7 years ago

Another Day of Leaden Sky

IMG_2570.JPG

Even though the temperature was above freezing, there was a strong bitter wind out there, so I bundled up like the Stay Puff Marshmallow Man and headed out into the wilderness.

Photo on 2017-12-12 at 11.29 AM #3.jpg

IMG_2558.JPG

My dough is 1/4 into its first rise as I head out.

The Wilderness

IMG_2559.JPG

Because of the recent Easter Egg hunts I've had to go on, it's time to keep the pullets in the run for the morning until they lay their eggs. They need to learn where to lay. Sorry guys...I would love to let you out but your getting way too out of control with the hidden eggs stashes outside getting frozen and rained on...

Maybe my chickens are even smarter than I thought, and I did give them a lot of credit before, but maybe, just maybe...they know when I find an outdoor hidden egg stash, I end up scrambling them up for them because I don't want to give those eggs to people. So they're actually scoring one of their favourite treats. Now that I think of it, it seems like something Fluffy and her Egg Gang would plot...

IMG_2560.JPG

I saw a lot of these little ducks today. They were expert divers by the looks of it.

IMG_2561.JPG

Walking down Moser Island Road.

IMG_2562.JPG

IMG_2563.JPG

IMG_2565.JPG

Always gotta include some beautiful Nova Scotia architecture.

IMG_2567.JPG

IMG_2577.JPG

IMG_2568.JPG

A gull enjoying low tide.

IMG_2569.JPG

I was standing on a little bridge looking into the water at the flowing movement of the seaweed.

IMG_2575.JPG

More of those little super diver duckies

IMG_2578.JPG

I can see a beautiful sandy beach across the way.

IMG_2579.JPG

IMG_2581.JPG

Almost back home by now and passed a bunch of water fowl chilling in the low tide.

IMG_2586.JPG

IMG_2584.JPG

Back Home & Time To Make Buns!

IMG_2589.JPG

Thank you for coming on another "WalkWithMe" I hope you enjoyed today's shots! I'd like to go on a walk where you live too, so if you get out there for one, take a few pics, and post about your walk using the tag "walkwithme". I'll check the tag regularly to upvote and give encouragement. Let's get fresh air and fitness together!

Check out the latest walks by fellow Steemians who got out there in the world, and took us with them! See life through their eyes.

Huge Shout Out to @davedickeyyall for doing an #OpHumanAngels Walk With Me! Thank you so much Dave that really made me cheer! Walk With Me Op Human Angels Edition

A Christmas mission to the city. (Melbourne,Australia) By @ram.bozo

Walk with Me at Rodman Reservoir’s Florida Nature Trail~#1 by @mother2chicks

A WALKWITHME PHOTOSTORY! | Walkin' in a Winter Wonderland in the Countryside with @teamhumble by @dayleeo

Walk With Me and Bus With Me in Denver #19 by @phoenixwren

walkwithme-walk along the river couple weeks ago when it was warm By @seareader1

Walk With Me 3.25: The Fire Truck Food Drive And Walk By @rebeccaryan

The past couple of weeks have been so busy By @rockchickjen

Take a Tour With Me Through The Outer Banks Sea Food and Craft Festival By @bluelightbandit

Photo on 2017-12-12 at 11.25 AM.jpg

Sort:  

Another lovely walk, it's the first thing I look for when I get to the office babe. It's 07:38 here now and already I feel chilled out after your walk! 😉
Vicarious exercise, I like that. I should make a fitness video with you on the front posing like this.......

Relative of yours?! 😂😂😂
Love ya Lyndsay 😉

AHHAA!!!! Yesssss!!!!! That was me last winter because I wasn't walking hahaha!! My winter coat fit me like a micro mini <3 <3

😂😂😂 hilarious babe.

So beautiful ... so peaceful on your walk
Chickens are smarter than we think. I agree :)
It's nice to see how Nature does her wonder on your dough when you go out for a walk. She does it to plants, too! I am still amazed every single day when I see my plants!

Just curious, do you ever get a sunny day in the winter? Just checking ;-)

HHAHAA!! I will let you know when we get a sunny day, it'll be a BIG post hahahaa!!

I am all EYES ;-)

Super enjoyed this, I love the little mental game of chess you're currently locked in with the chickens lol!

Hoping they get into a regular placement schedule for your time's sake though!

HAHA Yep...and time for me to scramble them up some eggs now...

mmm!!! I'll be right over! 😋

Haha!! I don't think you'd want these ones, they are from the egg stash I found out in the woods the other day :)

I'd gladly make you your own though, from where the good hens lay their eggs :)

Haha I'm not picky at all, I'm sure anything you guys have going is better than what's at the grocery store! Although I do have a deep appreciation for a deep orange round yolk- nothing like farm fresh !

I like that white jacket of yours. I also like the progression of the rise of the dough.

Thanks David, what's new and exciting with you?

I was at my mom's friends house and I brought up the discussion on Bitcoin. I just did a blog about it. I am still studying it and haven't got my account at Coinbase yet. I'll do that soon. I did get a sub account of my saving account to buy Bitcoin. I think I have get another email address for security. I told another one of my friends about Bitcoin and that we should try to buy a small amount before Christmas. Well, let see how that goes.

Also I just recently learned how to sell my SBD for Steem then to Power Up. I was trying to follow all these other blogs but always got confused then I read another blog that showed me how to use Currency Market. Finally it makes sense on how to do it. So I got to sell some at the higher price than as today.

That's amazing, I'm proud of your progress!

That is dedication. Congratulations. You really have come a long way from the days of needed McDonalds coupons.

Wow it is cold out there. Of course, you sent that Canadian down to us. The wind is coming out of the north. I even had to turn the heat on. It is getting into the 40 at nights.

This is simply inhumane. I am not a polar bear.

Hhahaaa, suck it up polar bear buttercup, and heyyyyyyy now stop saying the M word I've boycotted those cunts for the better part of a decade now lmao!! Now you see why your threat scared me so much, I think I would actually go into convulsions if I ate that shit at this point.

Grease: it does a body good.

That should be their motto.

Good fishing out that way?

There is amazing fishing to be had, but we don't have any kind of boat yet. In the summer when the mackerel are running and it's high tide we do get a few jumping in our back yard, but I don't think my husband's ever landed one from our side. If we go to our neighbour's dock it's better. Still, there's more chance of us catching a crab than a fish where we are haha!! How bout you rambozo, do you fish a lot?

Not as much as I'd like to. I don't get much time for anything these days. I do have a mate I go fishing with now and then but I usually dirt fish (metal detect) while he fish fishes. We get a lot of snapper this time of year and there is always a good feed of squid to be caught. I'm getting the itch for it now!

Ooooh what's the best thing you've ever caught dirt fishing?

My favourite would probably be an army hat badge from the 1930s. I find more bottle caps than anything!

@lyndsaybowes you are right you do look like the Michelin man or the stay puft marshmallow man. Another great walkwithme. Fantastic photos as usual. I love the seaweed you can just barely catch a glimpse of it just below the surface of the water. Very cool.

Thanks for appreciating the seaweed photo, it was so relaxing to watch...

I can just imagine it was. How did the buns turn out? I hope they got great.

Ooh yes the perfect thing for the boys when they got home from school :) (And me!) We've already dusted off over half of them lol!!

Kick ass walk LB! Of course you have to tantalize us all with your buns :)

One day we'll have you and your fam up here for a nice dinner :)

That would be awesome! I might stay and never go back

Hehe you look nice and warm for your walk! 😊

Thanks, I do love that jacket, the wind doesn't get in it at all.

You're so lucky to live in such a beautiful area.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lyndsaybowes to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Yep, we suffer in some ways, but that's the chance we took by getting out of Edmonton, or any big city for that matter, we don't have as much money, yet we have so much more Peace...because of being In Nature. <3 <3

Very true. We have the same goal to out of the city, out of Alberta move to the east coast. We are slowly getting out house fixed up in order to sell it. We want to buy land and farm it. We were originally planning to move to Newfoundland but we won't be able to make it out there. So we decided to move to Nova Scotia. Britt has family there as well and it makes more sense for what we want to do.

Ooooh my goodness, I have total goosebumps!!!!! This is so cool!!!!!!!! We're gonna be neighbours!!!!!!!!!!!! xoxooxox I'm super excited, what area of NS are you guys looking at?

Not sure, where yet but her family lives in Liverpool so somewhere around that area maybe. Depends on what's available for farmable land.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53