Walk With Me #1 - Frozen Ponds & Ghost Mice

in #walkwithme7 years ago

DSC_0193.jpgA little over a week ago, I made a post that was essentially just me rambling about my day as a method to come up with a post while sharing a few pictures I took and the what not. I'm still trying to find a stride here, and I guess it was my attempt at just a regular old pointless "blogging" post.

DSC_0184.jpg

Anyways, an admirable member who helps out a lot of minnows via resteems etc., @mudcat36 , took the time to read my post and left me some advice. I actually received quite a good amount of advice on the post from various users due to my persistent commenting. If you've read any of my posts about my experience so far on the platform, you know I firmly believe that commenting is the key to newbie success here on Steemit. Among other tips and bits of encouragement, mudcat's advised me to check out the #walkwithme tag and thought my style of writing might be fitting for the tag.

So here is my first whack at it. I hope some of you might enjoy and hopefully we can make some friends.

DSC_0165.jpg

I blew it.

I've been trying to be fairly consistent with my activity here. I try to make at least 30 constructive comments a day, for instance, and have fallen far behind that goal. I have been pretty busy, sure, but I've had the ability to do more, and just got a little lazy for a bit. But I'm committing to getting back on track!

DSC_0155.jpg

I spent my weekend snowboarding, throwing sticks for my dog to chase on a frozen pond, eating unhealthy amounts of popcorn and saying goodbye to a furry member of our little family.

DSC_0152.jpg

One of our two mice, Niña, passed away on Friday. I noticed her when I went to change her water. We have no idea how old she was, but we guessed she was pretty damn old and were surprised it had taken this long, honestly. I have a few pallets in the backyard, so I made her a little coffin/box with them and burned her name into the lid with a soldering iron and sealed her up. We'll have to bury her once the ground thaws(it's supposed to tomorrow).

DSC_0239.jpg

Niña ended up with us after a friend had stolen her from an apartment where she was a feed mouse in training. I'm not really sure how she ended up in our possession. Shortly beforehand, I found a mouse scurrying around our kitchen cabinet and made him a home on top of a bureau. I named him Mr. Jingles, after the mouse in The Green Mile. If you haven't seen The Green Mile, stop reading this nonsense and go watch it.

DSC_0240.jpg

So we ended up with two mice in a period of two months after never really being all that interested in rodents beforehand. Life's weird.

There's a fairly large man-made pond near our house where I frequently take our Rottie pup for runs. This is his third winter, so he's still pretty excited about ice. We spent a few hours watching him slip around and get embarrassed. We wanted to walk around the perimeter, but it was absolutely miserable out, so we kicked that idea.

DSC_0138.jpg

The rest of the time I spent snowboarding and regretting my lack of activity on Steemit. So here I am, writing about nothing. I plan to do more posts in this style in the future, hopefully with more interesting content, haha. Or maybe not, I don't know. If you think this post was dumb, feel free to tell me!

DSC_0140.jpg

Later tonight I will be writing my first Steemit horror film review, so if that sounds interesting, stay tuned!

DSC_0226.jpg

Thanks for sticking around!

DSC_0215.jpg

Manna - Earn what we all deserve

Check out these faucets!
Coinpot Microwallet
Moon DASH
Moon BCH
Moon BTC
Moon LTC
Moon DOGE
Bonus Bitcoin
Bit Fun

Sort:  

I am sorry for the loss of Niña. You made a lovely coffin.

I like your post, it tells about who you are and what you care about. The pictures are beautiful

I understand your feeling about ideals for yourself on Steemit. I have them too. Mine are way lower than yours, wow 30 comments! my 2 cents of wisdom: Every step towards your goals is bringing you closer to your ideal. So even if you don't reach your chosen amount, all the comments you place are helpful. Maybe it can help a bit with the feeling?

Thank you! I was planning on making a really nice little coffin for her, but ended up kind of liking the DIY look. I appreciate your compliments on the photos and what not!

I know I set high goals, I just like to do so for myself so I have something to strive for. I also work seasonally so my introduction to Steemit coincided with a break from work (while searching for supplemental work) so I have a lot more free time than I normally would. That's another reason I set high goals for myself now, because when my job starts up again, my activity here will sadly decrease significantly; I work about 60 hours a week during the peak season.

So, for now, I will try to contribute as much original content here as possible and make friends like yourself! Thanks for reading, and for your thoughtful comment!

I have no Steemit goals. I just post and follow people that interest me. Sometimes I don't feel like saying anything so I just upvote.
I love your #walkwithme ! One of my new friends told me about it last week. Isn't it funny how Steemit is so big and also so small at the same time?

I totally respect that. Even though I have goals, I also only really follow people who interest me, in addition with those who interact with me, because it's helpful and I appreciate that.

One of the main reasons I set goals is because I encountered Steemit at an interlude in my life; I work seasonally so I had just gotten laid off for a few months when I was introduced to the platform. So, while I was searching for under-the-table work to add to my much-needed unemployment, I had a lot of downtime. I wanted to use my downtime in a productive way and, well, the more I looked into Steemit, the more I saw it as an investment.

An investment that only required my time, which I had, and my putting effort into sharing my own experiences while at the same time expanding my writing practice, as I have always written fiction in my free time, ever since elementary school.

Sorry to ramble. I'm a little drunk haha. I do know what you mean though! It seems so huge and flabbergasting, yet at the same time I continue to stumble upon the same things. It IS so big and so small at the same time, very well said!

I appreciate your friendship here ! Again, sorry for the drunk rant!

Awesome!! I wish i was drunk 😂😂 have one for me!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 1/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 02:10:55
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 37.15/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 16
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I'm in a similar way as you, I haven't found my stride just yet either. I continue to try to make constructive comments, like you said, to stay active
and make some Steem Power, but my posts are all over the place.

Also, don't worry about being on Steemit. You live in a beautiful place and snowboarding looks fun!

Yeah, it's kind of hard to figure out a direction but at the same time I'm kind of OK with being all over the place right now :)

I know I live in a beautiful place and appreciate I'm fortunate for that. I guess re-reading my post I see what you mean- I didn't mean to detract from that at all. I'm more so thinking about the possibility of Steem taking off in the way many believe it could over the next year, and how if we use our down time here effectively we might be able to create a future for ourselves where we can enjoy these beautiful places as much as we please :)

Thanks for coming by!

I'm sorry about Niña. I'm glad you gave her a proper and thoughtful burial, and saved her from being a feed mouse.

Winter walks are very magical if one is brave enough. Thanks for these lovely photos!!! Not a dumb post at all.

She actually still hasn't been buried (teeth-gritting face)(I'm not too good with emojis, lol). The ground is frozen as f--k here, so her coffin box is in an icebox outside until the ground thaws.

I love walks, whatever season. I hope to go on more and take more photos, but the weather's been pretty shitty, and well, yeah.

Thanks :)

Oh shart I forgot about winter, what a dingus I am! I look forward to photos of Vermont when everything is green!!!

I mentioned in the post I was planning on burying her, so I can see why you may have gotten confused! We were supposed to have a thaw here, but it didn't end up happening. Oh well

I'm really trying not to lose my mind. It's been ungodly cold here the past few days, I'm inclined to just try and give zero fucks hahaha

We had a month long single digits/negatives spell here. Literally a month without it touching double digits.

So now the twenties and teens is kind of feeling like paradise.

Not so much the wind though. I hope you survive :) Nihilism is always a good option!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43