Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #14: Wild Mushrooms All The Way! - Fomitopsis Tea, Roasted Chanterelles, Deep-fried Elfin Saddles, with Candied Witches Butter and Cats Tongues!

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Forests provide us with so much! My meal is a tribute to the mushrooms I picked from the forest earlier this week. One mushroom is well known - the Chanterelles. The others are not so common on a plate. But maybe they ought to be! This was a delicious mix of late-season mushrooms from western Oregon.

x mushrooms TN.jpg


Foraging My Wild Mushrooms

I've been using different wild mushrooms in some of my earlier entries for the Steemit Iron Chef contest. That's because I've been finding a lot of edible wild mushrooms this autumn - even when I visited my parents' in Arkansas, where there is a drought!

But the mushroom season is getting late here in western Oregon as we move into December. Would I find any wild mushrooms that are good to eat? That would be ironic, wouldn't it - if I couldn't find any wild mushrooms to cook when the Steemit Iron Chef featured ingredient is mushrooms!

But I did find an interesting selection of wild edible mushrooms. Yay! It's the end of the chanterelle season in my area. Most of the chanterelles I found were past their prime, split apart, soggy, and mushy. But I did find a few good chanterelles, mostly under the moss on the forest floor.

The other mushrooms are not so well known. I'll write more about them in future posts. One kind, the Helvella Elfin Saddles, have a bad reputation. But I know how to identify and prepare specific kinds of Helvella mushrooms, so I won't have my liver destroyed! Not even the Steemit Iron Chef contest is worth a destroyed liver!

x mushrooms 1.jpg

  1. Soggy, split chanterelles that are too old to pick and eat! I'm glad I found some that were still young and firm!
  2. Red-belted polypore, Fomitopsis pinicola. There's some potent healthful compounds in that tough mushroom!
  3. Elfin Saddle, Helvella vespertina. Some Helvella are not good to eat, but this one is OK if it's prepared correctly.
  4. Cat's Tongue mushroom, Pseudohydnum gelatinosum. This little jelly fungus grows in the deep, dark, dank forests, on little sticks and in the moss. It has little spines, just like the tongue of cats!
  5. Witches Butter, Dacrymyces chrysospermus. This isn't the more commonly known Tremella Witches Butter that's found on deciduous trees and parasitizes other mushrooms. It's not even related! But this decomposer of conifers is still fine to eat!
  6. At the end of my foraging day, I stopped at a local spring to forage some wild water. There's usually other people getting water here, too.
  7. When I got home, I foraged some Wild Field Mustard, too, to go with the mushrooms. I picked this Wild Field Mustard in my yard. It's just the older version of the wild mustard microgreens I used with my Pumpkin Custard for Steemit Iron Chef 8.

Cooking My Wild Mushrooms

I didn't want the flavor of any of my mushrooms to be lost in a lot of ingredients. So I tried to keep my cooking simple. I roasted the chanterelles in the oven, first alone, and then with a dash of olive oil, salt and pepper. I served them on a bed of sauteed Wild Field Mustard, so a palate cleanser. The mustard is flavorful, without over-powering the mushrooms.

I parboiled the Helvella vespertina Elfin Saddles for 5 minutes. Then I dipped them in a simple flour and water tempura batter, and deep-fried them in safflower oil. The boiling makes sure there's no monomethyl hydrazine left in the mushrooms -- rocket fuel, yes, mushroom-made rocket fuel, is not good for anybody!

For the cats tongues and witches butter, I made a simple syrup of sugar, water, and fresh-squeezed lime juice. After reducing the syrup by half, I soaked the little yellow globs of witches butter and the cats tongues - and then put them in my food dehydrator. That dries the little mushrooms and turns them into little flavorful gummy bears.

I also made tea from the Red-belted Polypore. It's bitter, so I added a dash of the lime-and-sugar-syrup. With that, the tea became something worth drinking!

x mushrooms 2.jpg

  1. My Elfin Saddle, all cleaned up and head to parboil.
  2. Parboiled Elfin Saddles, ready to dip into a tempura batter and deep fry.
  3. I grate the red-belted polypore and then simmer it for about 30 minutes for a great tea -- but it needs some sweetening!
  4. Chanterelles, ready to be cleaned up.
  5. Chanterelles, in a cast iron skillet, ready to roast at 400 degrees F.
  6. Cat's tongues, washed and drying on a towel.
  7. Cat's tongues, steeped in a lime-sugar syrup and on a dehydrator tray, ready to dry overnight. They turn out like gummy bears!

Eating My Wild Mushrooms!

This was a fun meal of mushrooms to make. I think anyone who likes mushrooms would enjoy this meal - and maybe even people that don't think they like mushrooms! It's amazing to me that mushrooms can provide us with drinks and desserts, too -- and without being hidden away in a lot of ingredients.

x mushrooms 5.jpg
I mis-numbered my label. But I have the featured ingredient and date listed correctly! Thank goodness for that, lol!

x mushrooms 4.jpg

x mushrooms 6.jpg

x mushrooms 7.jpg
Every bit of this meal is good. I wonder if people could tell any of these were mushrooms, besides the Chanterelles! Fans of molecular gastronomy would like the Cats Tongue and Witches Butter dessert!


What Do You Think?

  • Have you ever eaten any of the mushrooms that I used in my meal?
  • Do you forage for any mushrooms?
  • Would you eat my mushroom medley?
  • Which mushrooms would you like to read more about?

I eat a lot of wild plants and show you how, because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wild places.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!

Thanks @progressivechef for creating the Steemit Iron Chef contest series!

I try to make content that's interesting! If you found this informative and helpful, please give it an upvote and a resteem.


Plant and Fungus List

  • Wild Field Mustard - Brassica rapa - leaves
  • Chanterelle mushroom - Cantharellus spp.
  • Red-belted Polypore - Fomitopsis pinicola
  • Elfin Saddle mushrooms - Helvella vespertina
  • Witches Butter mushrooms - Dacrymyces chrysospermus
  • Cats Tongue mushrooms - Pseudohydnum gelatinosum

Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

This is an excellent quality post - thanks so much for putting in so much effort as always. One thing I just wanted to say "Elfin Saddle?? Coolest name ever!!"

Glad you enjoyed my post. The Elfin Saddles are a neat group of mushrooms. The tops of some really look like a saddle that an elf could sit on. But not all of them are edible. And others, prepared wrong, would have your liver trying to metabolize rocket fuel, real rocket fuel. I had a Helvella maculata that I didn't eat, because they haven't been studied for their level of rocket fuel production.

Lol, doesn't sound like a healthy exercise for one's liver!

Thank goodness that the compounds are so volatile. And when I parboil the mushrooms, I turn on the exhaust fan over the stove, and I do do something in another room for the few minutes that the mushrooms boil and outgas. It's still easier and safer than cooking a chicken, lol -- and those chickens are downright dangerous from bacteria.

Aaahh yes, that age old rivalry, Chicken versus mushroom! he he he

haha -- I like the mushrooms! :D

I suppose you are over the other side of the pond, I'm not sure that eating chicken here is quite such a risky pursuit, although let's wait and see if the TPP or some other variant of it finally gets through and pushes down the standards. I suspect all the socio-environmental standards in Britain will plummet once Brexit has been bungled through. I'll just escape back to Ireland at that stage I think!

One funghi I'd love to try is chicken of the woods. Do you get much of it over there?

Here, they tell us to not even rinse the raw chicken, because it will potentially spread bad bacteria all over our kitchen. Nobody says that about a mushroom!

Chicken of the Woods (Laetiporus sulphureus)is a great mushroom. I didn't get any this year, but have in the past. It really does have the consistency of chicken. I like it in soup. When I find them, there's usually enough to freeze for many meals. And then there's the Hen of the Woods (Grifola frondosa). And the Fried Chicken (Lyophyllum decastes). There are a lot of edible mushroom chickens out there! :D

never hears of the fried chicken, i must check that one out!

And there's the Turkey Tails, too (Trametes versicolor). I use them like mushroom-flavored chewing gum when I find them. So many good mushrooms!

By the way Tanya (Tanya isn't it?), are you familiar with the Association of Foragers? It's something that really was driven by people in the UK, but the remit and vision is to be international. I just thought it might be interesting to you.

I've never heard of that group, so thanks. I'll check them out. (And I'm no Tanya, lol. I'm Chris or Holly, either one, depending on how I meet folks -- Holly on Facebook and to my family, Chris on YouTube because I used that in my channel name long ago.)

ah, yes it was Holly how you introduced yourself in your vlog, ha ha ha, not sure were I got Tanya from!!!

All of this is amazing. I want to try these ingenious ways of using mushrooms - foraged mushrooms nonetheless - because they look incredible. Good on ya!!!

I was glad to be able to include a mushroom drink and a mushroom dessert, too. I'm fortunate to live in a place with so many kinds of mushrooms and such a long season. It's like an Easter egg hunt, every time I go outdoors!

I was sure that you'll enjoy this mushroom round so much and it can be seen in the final plate my friend!
A lot of amazing infos as usual!
Thanks so much!

This was definitely a fun round! I'm glad you included mushrooms in your list. There are so many different kinds, with different flavors and uses.

I can only begin to imagine the different aromas produced during the preparation of this meal. You are truly a myco-encyclopedia ☺

I will never be able to learn all that I want to know about mushrooms. It would take more than one lifetime. There are so many interesting ones, not just the edible ones, too. Each of these mushrooms is so different from each other. I'm fortunate to live where mushrooms are so abundant!

Wonderful post! Your recipe sounds so appetizing! I love and already ate chanterelles but I only "find" on our local green market!
I would love to see more of your recipes. Such inspiring ideas!

Thanks, @pusteblume! I'm glad you are able to find some chanterelles in your local market. That's such a great way to become familiar with wild mushrooms. And it shows that they are real food. I'll have to make posts showing how I identified and prepared each of these mushrooms. Thanks for the inspiration.

Mushroom is one of my favorites. It's great that you found them in the forest! This dish looks beautiful and delicious!

Good luck for the contest! ;)

Thanks, @tangmo. I think you would like these mushrooms -- any of them. Especially the sweet ones for dessert! ; )

You're welcome! You're right! I do love the sweet ones for dessert, for sure! ;))

You like your desserts! ; )

That's right! ;)

Outstanding post and narrative. Thank you for sharing!

Glad you enjoyed it! There are so many interesting mushrooms out there, doing their thing. Each one is special!

Beautiful dish... looks very tasty !

Thanks! I enjoyed it a lot! There are so many good edible mushrooms out there! :D

This looks so good. I am sure the forest here houses yummy mushrooms too but mushrooms is not a thing here it seems. they only sell one variety on the market and it tastes like nothing :( As always a beautiful post and I hope we can go on a foraging trip together one day. So much to learn from you ;)

Thanks, @amy-goodrich! I wonder what edible mushrooms are lurking in your tropical forests, too! But I don't have a clue. It would be quite challenge, I think. But some are world-wide mushrooms, too, and those might be in your area, too. I'll have to post about a couple of those.

That would be nice. The only thing, Cambodia has very dense forests, jungles and we always have to be careful with mines and cluster bombs which limits foraging in the wild ... haven't seen any mushrooms on our new land so far.... but then the rainy season ended and mushrooms love moist right?

I had fogotten about the mines and cluster bombs. That changes so much, and I bet is still a problem for farmers, too. Here's to peace. And it will be fun to see any of the mushrooms that pop up at your place. Some kinds are surprising about when they emerge. Bracket fungus and some others seem to tap into moisture from the trees, even when it's dry.

Your food presentation is improving a lot! It looks a fancy dish.​ I know how Cantharellus​ mushrooms taste like, and that must be a great meal! :)

I'm getting so fancy, lol. But I still like the simple cooking the best -- just a bowl of wild greens or stir-fry and a plate of fruit! And I'm glad I have more to eat than what is only on the fancy plate! Every one of these mushrooms treats was good! And so different, too. I was fortunate to find them all.

Ahah :) I know what you mean and absolutely agree with it :D

When the Steemit Iron Chef challenge is over, I will go back to my "homestead cooking". I'm glad you are back with your Sunday Cook, too. That's real food! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57531.86
ETH 3051.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29