Entry for Poetry Contest by @rahul.stan

in #voiceshares7 years ago (edited)

Hey SteemFam!

It has been years since I last wrote a poem. I gave it my best shot :P

This is my entry for @rahul.stan's contest.

image

You can check out the contest here.


Set Me Free

You think your words mean nothing, so you don't care how you use them
You choose to weaken, insult and hurt, when you can comfort, build and strengthen

To me, your thoughts mean the world, but you wouldn't know that
It was never your concern

When you spoke your words, you hurt me
I care what you think, why can't you see?

You make me feel like I mean nothing to you
All these thoughts in my head are pushing me closer and closer to doom

Why do you restrict me?
What wrong have I done?

Why would you say I was a free woman
Only to turn around and tell me that I wasn't one?

You kept pushing me so far, now I'm standing on a ledge
If you push once more I'll be off the edge

Can't you see I'm hurt?
Can't you see my pain?
Why won't anyone come and stop this constant rain?!

I can no longer depend on anyone
The strength must come from me
I'm the only one now, who can set me free

I can't give in to the darkness, I must get into the light!
I cannot let my life fade away into the dark night

The winds will change and blow these dark clouds away
I must be strong and move on... on to another day

Darkness and depression will not win
I can't, I shan't, I won't give in.

There is so much to live for
So much good around me
If I can't find the good in this world
It will have to come from me

So what if there is no one to see my pain?
It no longer matters to me
I will stay strong and live my life
Because my God is with me


Thank you for reading 🙂


Check out my other works below

About- Wild Fire
About- Red and Gold


Check out my ongoing story

Story- How Long Have I Been Here (Working Title)- Part 1
Story- How Long Have I Been Here (Working Title)- Part 2
Story- How Long Have I Been Here (Working Title)- Part 3
Story- How Long Have I Been Here (Working Title)- Part 4


Click here button to follow me and stay tuned for more to come.

Sort:  

This poem's very awesome! So much emotions are put into it.

Thank you very much ☺

Awesome poem!

Fits to the theme perfectly. I like how you have written this in first person.

Thank you 😊 I'm glad you liked it

Whao, you are a poet too! It's a beautiful piece!
Especially, I loved your attitude in the following lines:

If I can't find the good in this world
It will have to come from me

More power to you!

Thank you 😊

Really a very nice poem, Upvote and a follow from my side. :)

check out my posts too :)

it's great andy, the emotions are beautifully portrayed! good job :)

Thank you so much 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60600.18
ETH 2606.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62