What is ASMR?

in #video7 years ago

Below you'll find out what exactly ASMR is and if you have it.
First, in video form then transcribed for your pleasure.

Don't wanna watch the whole video, but wanna take the test?

Skip ahead now to 08:52:10 to start the triggers.

Warning: The clock is ticking throughout the video. I got a sweet new mic that is very sensitive. I'm so sorry. I didn't notice till over halfway through with editing.


Transcript:

Have you noticed those weird videos on YouTube with people up close and personal... whispering? Maybe dressed like a doctor, pretending to give exams? Have you seen the ones with just lips... smacking? Or perhaps someone pretending to put makeup on you (the viewer)? Some pretty weird stuff out there nowadays. Why give it a second thought?

It's actually pretty cool... if you have it and alternately completely weird if you don't.

What is IT? Why do people watch these strange whispering videos?

It's called ASMR.

What is ASMR?

Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response

asmr pic.png)

A Brain Orgasm, if you will. Okay, I know, that sounds nuts, just bear with me.

Wikipedia describes it as

a static-like tingling sensation on the skin, typically beginning on the scalp and moving down the back of the neck and spine.

It was also described as

Low-grade euphoria

and just all-around positive feelings.
memoji cat hearts.png

It can be triggered by many things, including acoustically, visually, with digital media, by altruistic touch and even self triggered.

The most common triggers are

  • Soft Voice
  • Quiet, close, repeditive sounds
  • Watching someone do a mundane task such as cleaning, preparing food or putting on makeup
  • Receiving altruistic, tender, personal attention either in real life or by watching it on digital media.

So WHY do people use, enjoy or benefit from ASMR?

Top reasons:

  • Relaxation
  • Stress Reduction
  • Anti-anxiety
  • Sleep

I actually do it to relax and de-stress and ... get the tingles!

ASMR hasn't been coined for very long. In fact, it was first talked about in chat rooms in 2007 and in 2010 Jennifer Allen (no relation) finally decided on a name. The names being used prior to the coining were very descriptive: Attention Induced Observant Euphoria, brain tingle and head tingle, spine tingle, to name a few.

lemur feels it.jpg

My favorite: Attention Induced Head Orgasm🙃

Allen finally decided on Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response, assuming the meridian stands for orgasm.

I could NOT make this stuff up. IN Allen's understanding, meridian signifies a peak, climax, or point of highest development. It's essentially on old literary usage meaning the period of greatest splendor. So, I guess I get it. 😏


Have I lost you yet? Do you feel weird? Don't worry. I did too.

Now, with all this talk about orgasms and soft voices you'd think this is sexual, but inherently, it's totally not. In fact, that's why they chose to name it WITHOUT using the word orgasm.

Other evidence that points to it NOT being regarded as a sexual feeling comes from a professor at Ohio State (you can check wikipedia) who believes that primates (yuppers, good ol' chimps and monkeys) are experiencing a

strong similarity to physical grooming in primates' who 'derive enormous pleasure (bordering on euphoria) when being groomed by a grooming partner' 'not to get clean, but rather to bond with each other'

So basically, ASMR.
monkey love.jpg
And yes, once online EVERYTHING can become sexual and does, though this is/was never the original intent with ASMR.


Since it's not really been talked about until recently, not a lot is known about it. But what 'they' do know is you either have it or you don't. There's no in between. They are also starting to do studies on how it helps with the over-all healing process, particularly PTSD. Especially considering it is triggered by activities in the health profession. I.E. A doctor's visit where they are giving you full attention.


me oh resize.jpg
I've known I've had it my whole life. I remember the all-over body tingles (not just the head and neck- I'm one of the lucky ones) just getting my hair washed and cut, having a friend do my makeup, or telling the nurse my birthday information. There's that altruistic attention again. At the time I didn't know what it was, just that it felt really nice. 😍


Maybe you have it a little. Maybe you're thinking back to a time when you remember the tingles. It's also been described as having fizzy water (or soda) just under your skin in the most pleasant way possible. Or electricity, like very mild static, flowing through your body.

Sound like something you've experienced? Or want to try?


test time.png


The remainder of the video will either annoy you, make you feel super weird, or give you some excellent tingles. I'm hoping for the latter for you. ❤️

Disclaimer: I'm not going to eat anything. The lip smacking stuff does NOT do it for me. Totally grosses me out, but to each their own.😏

lips.jpg


Here's the list of triggers in the video (starting at 08:52:10):
*from this point the video is no longer transcribed. You'll have to watch to see what unfolds.😲

Auditory

Soft Spoken voice with altruistic attention
Wrapper crinkling
Scissors/cutting sounds
Glass tapping/touching
Skittles
Page turning
Writing on paper

Visuals

Finger Wiggles
Follow Finger
Brushing face


All images are my own, from Pixabay or altered from Pixabay (the animal ones).


There are literally hundreds of other triggers. It can be anything.

Do YOU get the tingles? What does it? What annoys you? Are you weirded out?

Got questions?

memoji lets discuss.png

I hope you enjoyed my first VLOG. Don't judge me too hard. 😉

Thanks for stopping in!

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!

Finally did you ASMR and you're officially a VLOGger, nice going! Woot Woot

Officially, official! 💁 😍

Was a lot of work (for a first time). I was using a lot of new things. 😳

But- I did it!

Next up: Strain Review and Mediocre Monday (hopefully)🙃

Thanks for the support! 😍

Up next for strain review: Red-Headed Stranger

haha cool cool, yes you did!

Mediocre Monday, so that's probably gonna make it .. tomorrow. Looking forward as always!

I have to push back the first Mediocre Monday to next week. Got behind editing the videos we'd already recorded.

@chrisroberts just posted a Strain Review video of us and I have another one of just me coming soon (today).

Mediocre Monday will be a contest of sorts.... Stay Tuned! 😎

"Mediocre Monday will be a contest of sorts.... Stay Tuned! 😎" it would definitely be worth the wait then ! ;)

@originalworks check this one out!
Nice job, Carrie

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @carrieallen to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Wow, that was fast... You are one speedy robot.

@carrieallen ~ I have watched a few ASMR Reiki videos with great results..I am also one of the lucky whole-being feelers :)

This is off the charts awesomeness & a wonderful synchronicity for me. The perfect re-minder I needed to bring my practice to an entirely new level.

Thank you much!! Reiki Hugs & Bright Blessings <3

Upvoted, Following & Resteemed :)


((( Thank you @karmashine for bringing this post to my attention ~ much love! )))

@thereikiforest ! I'm so glad. 😍

It's nice being one of the lucky ones. 😉

I've followed you now to keep up with your upcoming 'new level' of Reiki. 💛💜💛

From me to you, a four-leaf clover, for luck: 🍀

❤️

I love ASMR! and have been initiated/attuned as a (level 1) Reiki Practitioner - it's awesome that they go 'hand in hand' ;)

I think this is great - Thank you for sharing!

Upvoted & Resteemed! Have a great day :)

That's awesome! I was hoping to find some folks that already knew about it to comment that I'm not totally nuts. The community at YouTube is HUGE, but here it's pretty non-existent still. 😕

Was hoping to just inform a little so people aren't so scared off by the weirdness.

That's so cool that you do Reiki! I live in a very ... eclectic community. There are lots of practitioners of all kinds here, Reiki included. And yes! ASMR goes right along with that 🙂

I'm thinking about doing other videos on it... but I'm still jumping over the weirdness hump myself. Lol! 😁

I believe that we perceive it to be weird because of society constraints. I mean, WHY on earth, would I think someone giving me personal, non-threatening attention is weird? It makes no sense!

Thanks for all the support❤️

I've followed you too.

And now, you are granted a bumble bee: 🐝

(Hope you're not allergic! They are so cute!)

Oh you are so lucky to live in an eclectic community. It's pretty dull around here lol. There's a few reiki practitioners scattered about, but other than that, mostly everybody is still sleep-walking through their days and life :(

I am very excited that you are here and shining the light on ASMR and I love your energy. Thank you much for the Bumble Bee! Sometimes I run from them as @thereikiforest knows - haha - but I am not allergic :)

Right it is sooo strange how twisted people have things - but the more awesomely weird people like us that pop up, the quicker things are shifting and changing :D

I so hope you make more videos on it. I have been trying to get @thereikiforest to switch things up - I think she should start getting in front of the camera and banging out some of that altruistic attention. She is on point with that! We shall see ;)

I will be keeping an eye out for your new posts for sure. You've got me inspired!

I know you will have a magical Monday - Cheers Carrie!!!!

Lol! I don't ever run from the bees. We have a BUNCH right out our front door every morning. There is a bush they just LOVE.

I agree, the more of us that can pop up and connect with one another, the easier and quicker the whole 'shift'.

More ASMR videos are on the list, but I'd like to get more of my many facets out before getting stuck on one. I fear I've already done too many pot posts, implying it's all I do, and it's not. It's just a lot of fun to write about. 🙃 (I even have 2 more coming up! Lol!)

If @thereikiforest has a really caring face (lol) she could potentially do very well with ASMR videos. I really just look for sincerity and ....symmetry 😉

Oh! If you want to know more about the place I live, Google: Crestone, Colorado (or youtube it). You'll find stuff. It's pretty amazing. 😍

Have a most fantastical Monday, darling! 😘

You are braver than me lol but I'm working on my relationship with the Bees. It just freaks me out when there's alot of them together. Once I accidentally stirred up a nest of yellow jackets and that was an ugly experience. I am still getting over it 🙃

It feels like Steemit is the gathering space for our Tribe to further this shift. It is very exciting! I will have to go through and read your pot posts. I love ganja and consider it to be a super veggie 😉 I don't think you could ever write too many pot posts...at least not imho 😍 and I am definitely looking forward to not only more of your ASMR videos but also seeing what else you come up with and share.

I will be sure to do a search and have a looksee to learn more about your hood, Thank you!

As for @thereikiforest - she's got the caring face and the beaming vibe lol She is one of those people that others are drawn to and share their life stories and problems with. Just being in her presence is very healing and empowering. I love being around her, especially when she is in her zone and doing her thing. I really hope she gets in front of the camera and soon 😍

Thank you again @carrieallen, I trust your Tuesday will be full of wonder and wicked awesome experiences 😘

Cheers & Happy Steeming!

Hey. Just listening to your clip in the background. I'm new to ASMR and I made a video today. I love it so much :)

Hi there! 😄

I ran into it months ago accidentally whilst watching makeup tutorials. I was actually partly watching the tutorials FOR the tingles, but didn't know. 😉

I started your video, but have to run into town (well, the next town, so like and hour away). I'll come back and finish it.

I love how excited you are at the beginning with your new set up. Just like I was. 😆

Following now. Thanks for the comment!

.... and for you.... a lady bug: 🐞

Enjoy your day! 💛

That's your first VLOG!
Nice, keep it up.

Thank you so much! I think I'm gonna 💚

IM FOLLOWING & UPVOTING EVERYONE THAT COMMENTED ON THIS ARTICLE

Why thank ya!❤️

Do you enjoy ASMR?👂🏻

Or did you just enjoy me? 🙃

I definitely enjoy ASMR and yaaaaa I totally enjoyed you too

Ya! It's fun to find new friends! I've followed back 😍

glad to have a new friend :))

Great Blog
for some whom have experienced these tingles and flush feelings from their environment, their whole lives, have had attachments and feelings that may have made no sense. until they have the knowledge and understanding what asmr is.

Thank you!

I actually really like ASMR, even though somehow we're taught it's weird.

I was toying with doing more of these things here, but wasn't sure if there was an audience for it yet.

Maybe I'll revisit the idea soon. 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64215.55
ETH 3183.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47