How is been a teenager living in a 3rd world country. (Part I)

in #venezuela7 years ago

Hi, I'm Roxana and I live in Venezuela, the most dangerous country in South America, I recently turned 18, but that teenage feeling is still here inside of my heart. But let's no take this poor introduction as a former description of myself. Instead of that let me tell you how is the lifestyle of a 3rd world country teenager.

ss-170516-venezuela-handmade-11_dc342a50f74972dfc19177c7ce30c5fb.nbcnews-ux-2880-1000.jpg

Before reading what comes next, I want to clarify than I'm not trying to play the victim, I already know that there're poorest countries and that there is people in a worst sittuation than mine, I know that maybe because of the way I look you might think I'm not suffering with the crisis, but that is too far of my reality. I'm in a better position than back then when i was still underage, but that took a lot of effort.

I also wanted to say that my english is not that good since is not my mother tongue, so I still can commit many mistakes :(

After readig all of that, let's continue!!

As you might know, being a teenager is hard... in some way, Is not a new thing that all of us were a pain in the ass while we were going through puberty and even after that. Nothing in the world seem worthy for us, we just wanted to find our true identities (whatever that means) while having some fun, doing whatever we wanted, and of course, trying new things to feel like we're one step closer to the adult's world. Isn't it like that?

All I've said sounds like a cliché, and indeed, It is a cliché. But hold on and let me explain, I'm at the point of my life when I don't know If i can still be consider as a teen, I'm so inmature as I used to be but I'm legally an adult according to the laws of my country. But I've learn that It doesn't matter how your lifestyle used to be, the maturity level you considered you had at that time or whatever you had to go through, adolescence is almost the same for all of us. Sometimes It is easier and sometimes It is harder, but It doesn't matter at the end of the day.

When you come from a 3 world country, you will always have an extra difficulty. It is no longer just about being a problematic children for your family or trying to find your place in the world, you have to learn how to survive in a place who's literally broken, a country governed by a bunch of corrupt politicians that you know they will be always behind their own political agenda ignoring the needs of population.

When you're under the power of a dictatiorship you not only feel closed in a box, you know that you are not the only one suffering because there's no bread in the table or because your grandmother can't find any medicine, but feel unable to do anything against It.

You suddenly start hating your country, the place that served you as a home, your body feels strange not only because of hormones, but because even myself, a person raised in a middle-class family, still can spend some mornings starving in the middle of the street 'cause there weren't any food or money to make and buy a breakfast. You feel ashamed of your body as every teenager, and is not only because of your period or the fact that your boobs and hips are growing up with a weird shape, but because you can see your bones showing up under your skin.

And after all that I've said, there is still a feeling that you musn't be that ungrateful, I mean, I'm still counting with my family everyday, I still have a roof over my head, I'm starting to eat better and gain weight, but at least in my case I've lost a lost of things, friends that have passed away because of insecurity, that were murdered or who simply dissapeared, or that are currently in jail because expresing their displeasures in the protests, friends that moved into another country leaving their families, jobs, careers, studies and comfort just looking for a better future without knowing if they will find something like that abroad, I lost even more that than, more than just many of the people I loved, more that just comfort or amenities that capilatism or a 1st world country could provide, I feel like If I have lost my freedom.

venezuela-16dec16.jpg

And If you ask to another teenage living here or anywhere, like Syria, Somalia or even China, they will feel so overwhelmed by their own teenage issues that if you add them the fact that their countries are near or even into the bottom of the list of the most repressive countries that they'll probably say the same thing, corrupt goverment took our lives.

And please, don't misunderstand what I'm trying to say. I don't want any of you who lives in 1st or 2nd world countries to feel 'guilty' or ashamed of your privileges. I just want to use this plataform as a way to take everything I have to say out of my chest, and maybe let everyone know that there is more in the minds of our youth than just sex and drugs and bands and superflous topics, I want you to know that there are a way more complex problem than the ones the media shows.

I will be posting a second part soon, I thing that maybe this post is a little bit long and boring to read. What d'you think? I'm able to provide details about the standard lifestyle and protest, let me know if you would like to read more about those topics and thank you for reading up to this point ^^

Oh, and by the way! One of the pictures in the post comes from this page.
http://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-36319877

I thought the link could be a good source in case you wanted more info. Kisses for you and have a good day!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @octopuskiddo :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome to Steemit @octopuskiddo!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here!
Unfortunately, I can not make an upvote of your record - my steem power is still small. But in the future I will come back and do it. If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me.
Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and I hope you will follow me.
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to Steem @octopuskiddo I have sent you a tip

Fantastic, I look forward to hearing more from you. Also, your English is quite alright.

Thank you very much for saying such a nice thing! I will be posting more soon, just wait for it.

Nice to have you on board, Roxana! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

 Check the contest for newbies-https://steemit.com/steemit/@tinashe/600-followers-feeling-the-love-milestone-contest-of-sbd-inside-post-follow-upvote-and-resteem
*Thank you*
 

Thank you so much for the info. I see a lot of potential in this plataform.

Welcome to Steemit Roxana!

Hi Roxanna, welcome to steemit :)
I had family that emigrated to Venezuela in the 80´s, many portuguese people lived there and worked in your beautifull country, it´s sad what´s happening today with all the violence, we can just hope that soon a nice turn will happen and things will get better!
God bless! ;)

There were a lot of mediterraneum european migrants during the past decades. Venezuela was worthy but right now is not a good place to live and let roots grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36