What is that sticking up from my truck bed? (HF antenna)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #vehiclephotography6 years ago

Hello, this is my picture/s for the vehiclephotography contest. But i figured it is a good opportunity to show you my HF (high frequency) antenna I installed in my truck for ham radio (amateur radio) operation.

The antenna is a Scorpion screw driver HF antenna. That means I can contact people across the USA as well as around the world! Ham radio is beneficial because if cell phone service fails, you can still contact people with ham radio.

Below is a picture of the HF radio, an ICOM IC-7000, in my truck (left hand side). This radio connects to the antenna and allows me to scan the amateur radio bands (frequencies) for making contacts across the world. The handheld radio on the righthand side is a Baofeng UV-5R. That allows for short range VHF//UHF communication.

This picture is a closer view of the mount I installed to hold the antenna upright. It is a tilt mount, so the antenna can be lowered when not in use:

The antenna is made in Phoenix, Arizona by a company called Scorpion Antennas: http://www.scorpionantennas.com/
If you really want to learn how to mount an antenna on your vehicle, then this is a very informative website: http://k0bg.com/

Let me know if you have any questions on ham radio or vehicle antenna installation.

best,
Paul

#vehiclephotography

Sort:  

That's a pretty serious antenna! I'm new to HAM (about 8 months). So far I have just been on VHF/UHF (also using a UV-5R - with a Commit SBB5 antenna on the truck). We have a pretty active local repeater that covers a large part of Southern California... but I have been getting more and more interested in HF for longer range communication while out exploring ...

Good to meet a fellow ham! Get your General license and then a whole new world of HF opens up to you. You’ll have access to all the ham bands. For me HF is very fascinating. I just had to study for about 30 days and then passed the general test. Then you have so many things you can get into: DX, digital modes, SSB, Satellite, CW, contesting, field day, ...etc.

I concur on the General!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #vehiclephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 03:12:27
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Good luck on @photocontests :)
But DO NOT Power Up 100%
https://steemit.com/steem/@pinay/best-time-to-power-up-100
50/50 reward setting is better. Just buy Steem with SBD to Power Up :) https://steemit.com/steem/@pinay/buying-steem-and-powering-up

Thx pinay. Your info is helpful for a newbie (me).

That is a serious antenna! I didn't know they could reach so far.

Yeah, it is pretty amazing. Magic really, that you can reach people with about 100 watts of power. I’ve reached people in South America and Europe!

That is awesome. Some day, I will have the time and the money to do something like this! :)

First step is to get your technician ham radio license. Have to take a simple test and then FCC issues you a call sign. Cost is about $15 to get your license.

Awesome! Tell me more about the antenna. What bands are you hitting with it?

It will hit bands from 10m to 80m with the Scorpion screwdriver antenna. i use it manly on 20m and 40m. it does have an optional 160m add on which i didn't get. Ron is the owner. great guy and provides great support. high quality. his website is scorpionantennas.com check out the Gallery page on his website. shows the antenna on different vehicles and also you can install it on a tripod in your backyard.

I'll have to check it out. So the truck in the picture is yours or Ron's? I have a 2012 F150 that I want to get a rig into but I'm afraid it will be too cluttered! :-) LOL! Are those straps on the top of the dash? How does that work?

My truck! I ordered the radio mount from proclipusa.com. They make mounts for cell phones and gps and other things specially for your car model.

Thanks! I'll check them out.

Was it the center dash mount in your picture?

I have three ProClip mounts on my dash. Left mount for my cell phone (phone not in the mount in that picture). Middle mount holds the HF radio. Right mount holds the VHF radio. Hope that answers your question.

Yes Center mount for the radio.
Did a left mount for the cell phone and right mount for the HT

One other thing, how do you like the Icom 7000?

Love the IC 7000! It was my base station for a couple of years. I have an Elecraft KX3 now )which is both my base station as well as portable use).
So was able to put the 7000 in the truck. 7000 covers all HF bands and 2m and 70cm. And the I really like the color display.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53