You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is that sticking up from my truck bed? (HF antenna)

That's a pretty serious antenna! I'm new to HAM (about 8 months). So far I have just been on VHF/UHF (also using a UV-5R - with a Commit SBB5 antenna on the truck). We have a pretty active local repeater that covers a large part of Southern California... but I have been getting more and more interested in HF for longer range communication while out exploring ...

Sort:  

Good to meet a fellow ham! Get your General license and then a whole new world of HF opens up to you. You’ll have access to all the ham bands. For me HF is very fascinating. I just had to study for about 30 days and then passed the general test. Then you have so many things you can get into: DX, digital modes, SSB, Satellite, CW, contesting, field day, ...etc.

I concur on the General!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03