Blue Eastern German Satellite (Trabant) [Photo of the Day #109]

in #vehiclephotography6 years ago (edited)

Expression 'Beauty is in the eye of the beholder' simply must be used for Trabant, one of most produced cars in former East Germany. The Trabant is translated as 'The Satelite, name inspired by the Soviet satellite - Sputnik.

Also called 'a spark on the wheels' and 'a spark plug with a roof', this car was manufactured for almost 30 years. With the body made of plastic, it was cheap and easy to build and repair. It was also subject to many jokes and funny moments.

Serbian alternative rap band - 'Atheist Rap', published in 2001 a song 'Blue Trabant', about one Trabant being eaten by the pigs. In after interviews, the band claimed that song is inspired by the true events. Trabant owned by one of the members has been eaten by the pigs while he visited grandparents in the village.

Trabant is still used today. Numerous Trabant owner clubs still exist around the globe, offering to its members opportunities to find spare parts, exchange tips and tricks or even tuning advises.

Click on image for full size


I would like to candidate this photo for @juliank daily contests in category #vehiclephotography
More about his fabulous daily photo contests you can find here.


Camera info: Sony A6000, Lens: Samyang 12mm NCS CS
I hope you will enjoy in these photos as much as I enjoyed taking them.





Sort:  

Blue Trabant, my love!
Odlično, nisam znao da je po istinitom događaju.

Meni zvuci kao urbana legenda, sto znaci da je 100% istina, osim ako nije izmisljeno :D

Simpa autić. Jeste loš, ali nekako ne može čovek da mu zameri :)

I malo da se reklamiramo među našima:
YU-STEM Magazin, Broj 3

Nisam se mnogo vozao njime, ali ono cega se secam je da je poprilicno bucan i da ne dihtuje bas najbolje :))

Congratz, your post has been featured in The Daily Spotlights of 28 February 2018!

Thank you very much, and once again - I really like your comments :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 27 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

I remember getting a ride in one of these when I was a child. It certainly looked bigger back then. ;-)

Hah... exactly, I remember we had old Citroen - model Diana. I found one on scrapyard a few years ago and it looked like toy comparing to modern cars :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #vehiclephotography

You have earned 5.85 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.17
Server time: 18:23:36
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 948.15/1600.00
Total Photos: 54
Total comments: 75
Total contest wins: 14
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

@dejan.vuckovic I've been to a couple of Atheist Rap concerts when I was a kid, didn't know about this song. Blue Trabant has such a nice blue shade to it, really 70's style

As a musician, you will easily recognize from which band is which part of music cover borrowed :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dejan.vuckovic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 28 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

the real beauty !

They have some charm :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65143.22
ETH 3203.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88