๐Ÿฝ Stay healthy! ๐Ÿฑ ๐Ÿš ๐Ÿฅข Self-made veggie sushi rolls: easy, quick and delicious! ๐Ÿฅ’๐Ÿฅ•๐Ÿฅ‘

in #veganwednesday โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

veggie_sushi_rolls.png

Hi dear Steemians ๐Ÿ˜,

This time I would like to show you how to make veggie sushi rolls. ๐Ÿ‘ŒI really like them because they taste incredibly good ๐Ÿ˜‹ and they are very simple and quick to make.
The cool thing is that you can get the ingredients in almost any bigger supermarket. You will need however some equipment such as a bamboo sushi mat that might not be readily available at every supermarket.

๐Ÿ‘‰But before starting with the recipe, let me briefly tell you how I came up with this idea. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

I was inspired with this idea four days ago, when I attended the first Steemit-Vegan Meetup in Vienna! ๐ŸŽ‰ (Feel free to read our Meetup report and to support the organization of the Viennese vegan meetups with a nice comment, or if you feel generous, even with an upvote ๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

The meetup took place in an Asian restaurant ๐Ÿฑ ๐Ÿš ๐Ÿฅข (called Xu's Cooking), and I opted for the all-you-can eat buffet.
๐Ÿ‘‰Guess what: They had delicious avocado sushi rolls! haha. They were so good, I couldn't stop refilling my plates with these mouth-watering ๐Ÿ‘„๐Ÿ’ฆ delicacies. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Here is a photo ๐Ÿ“ท I made for you. As you can see, this is a special type of rolled suhsi (called Ura Maki, ่ฃๅทปใ) where the rice is on the outside and the nori inside.

Maki_2.jpg

This was so delicious that I convinced some friends to meet and make some veggie maki rolls at home ๐Ÿ . However, we decided to make the more traditional Hoso maki (็ดฐๅทปใ) where the rice is inside and the nori on the outside. For our variant we only used a half sheet of nori instead of a full sheet for each veggie roll. We also decided to not only use avocado๐Ÿฅ‘, but also cucumber๐Ÿฅ’, carrots๐Ÿฅ•, bell peppers and tofu for the filling.

So, let me first tell you what equipment you will need:

Equipment

  • bamboo sushi mat (Makisu)
  • bowl ๐Ÿฅฃ
  • cooking pot ๐Ÿฒ
  • sharp knife ๐Ÿด
  • spoon ๐Ÿฅ„
  • scissors โœ‚๏ธ

Here are the ingredients you need or the rice and the fillings, and some condiments.

Sushi rice and cover ๐Ÿš ๐Ÿ™

  • 4 sheets of nori (dry seaweed)
  • 250 g sushi rice (sticky so-called "glutinous" white rice)
  • 5 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 1 tsp tumeric (optional)
  • water

Sushi filling ๐Ÿฅ’๐Ÿฅ•๐Ÿฅ‘

  • 1 carrot
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 small block of tofu

Condiments

  • 1 small bottle soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp Wasabi paste (to taste)
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds (for decoration)

avocado_maki1_.png

Step-by-step Procedure

  1. Rinse the glutinous rice under running cold water ๐Ÿ’ง for about 2 minutes until no more starch leaks out of it. Don't underestimate the importance of this first step!
  2. Place the rice gently in a cooking pot, and add water (you will need a little bit more water than rice - the ratio should be about 1.2:1). Be careful not to put too much water into the pot, otherwise the rice will be too squashy. That's not what we want!
  3. Cook the rice on high heat and stir continiously until the water comes to a boil.
  4. When it boils, reduce the heat to minimum and cover the pot with the lid. Let it simmer for about 8 minutes.
  5. After that, check whether there is any water left in the pot. When all the water is gone, the rice is done and we can proceed further. Otherwise let the pot covered with the lid on minimum heat until the water is gone. Depending on the rice, it might take another 10 minutes.
  6. Once the water is gone, turn off the heat and put the rice in your bowl. From now on, be very carful not to mash the rice.
  7. Add the rice vinegar, sugar and salt. (You can also add turmeric in order to give it a yellow color. If you want both white and yellow rice, divide it into two portions. Add turmeric only to one of the portions). Stir well but gently and set it aside to let it cool down.
  8. After it has cooled down, take one of the nori sheets and cut it into two halves. The easiest way is to cut it with scissors. โœ‚๏ธ
  9. Now put one of the resulting nori leaves on a bamboo mat.
  10. Put a big spoon of rice on the lower end of the nori sheet. Use your hands to spread the rice gently and evenly upwards until the middle of the nori sheet, leaving completely free the upper half.
  11. Cut the peeled and pitted vegetables and the tofu into thin strips and arrange a few different slices across the center of the rice layer - it should be a continuous line from right to left.
  12. And now lift the bamboo mat and use it to roll over the stripes once and press down.
  13. Unroll and roll again towards the black end of the nori sheet to make a long roll to bring the sushi into its final shape. Moistening the nori sheet with a little bit of water may help seal it more easily.
  14. Cut the big roll into about 6-7 slices with a sharp knife.
  15. Continue with the remaining nori sheets, rice and filling. If you like, you can decorate by topping it with sesame seeds.
  16. Serve cut side up, together with soy sauce and wasabi.

avocado_maki.png

And there you have it โค ๐Ÿ˜

avocado_maki2.png

Hope you enjoy it!๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹

This is my entry for the vegan Wednesday contest hosted by @heart-to-heart!

Best wishes!
CU,
Chris aka smallstepschange ๐Ÿพ

hi_steemit.png

If you liked my post, please ...

Sort: ย 

I canโ€™t wait to try this, it sounds amazing. Thank you for sharing with us.

Hi charisma,
thank you so much! Let me know if you try it. When looking for your name, I came across your first post by your current user. wow, it is really scaring and annoying what happened to your user charisma11! Do you have an idea how drydoc46 managed to hijack your account?
Cu, Chris aka smallstepschange

@smallstepschage, I will let you know when I try this recipe. Yes, I do know, my mistake and I have learned to use my key and not password going forward. At least the account was not worth much and I guess I kind of like being number one better haha.

haha, I like your attitude! ๐Ÿ‘ Mistakes can make us better in the long run. ๐Ÿ˜€
CU, Chris

Definitely, I must be pretty damn great by now after all the mistakes Iโ€™ve made within my lifetime.

Thank you so much, Diana! Love your wraps! CU, Chris

Just saw that I wasn't following you man, I have corrected that ๐Ÿ˜‰.

Keep up the good work, Love sushi rolls!

Hi Derek, good to have you! Been following you for quite a while. Your self-made nutella got my undivided attention! ๐Ÿ‘
CU,
Chris

Lol I know, I totally thought I was following you! All good now though. Keep up the good work.

๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘ The same for you: keep up the good work!

Oh I love sushi, great post (:

Hi Sarah,๐Ÿ˜€
Thanks so much! Also looked at your many sushi posts! Found out that you actually started Steemit with wonderful sushi posts. haha Very nice! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘
Cu,
Chris aka smallstepschange

Haha thanks! I just love sushi (:

you're welcome. I'm following you, so I am looking forward to get some more inspiration. haha
CU,
Chris

Thanks, I'm also following you for a while now ^^

Wow..very interesting. Looks really yummy. I always thought sushi means uncooked fish lol. Never knew it can be made out of rice and veges as well. Great job

Hi, thanks for dropping this post on my blog! ๐Ÿ‘โค๏ธ There are actually a lot of different sushi variants. Most of them include raw fish, but there are also quite a lot veggie options. Here you can find some variants: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sushi#Types
CU, Chris

I suddenly crave for sushis!! Thankyou sir for this awesome step by step post. This would really a big help for someone who really is a food lover like me!โค๏ธโค๏ธโค๏ธ

Hi Jonina,
thanks, for reading this post! ๐Ÿ‘ Let me know if you actually recook it someday.๐Ÿ˜€
Cu, Chris

I would love to try these sushi rolls! They really look awesome and I am sure they are so delicious! Would you mind sending me some? Hehe! Thanks for this recipe!!!
Love, Niina

Hi Niina, haha ๐Ÿ˜€, are you already back in Vienna or are you still traveling? If you are in Vienna... ๐Ÿ˜œ haha, just joking, the Sushi did not survive 15 minutes to be honest. It was eaten very quickly because it was so delicious!
Cu, Chris

Haha I can only imagine! YEa I am back home!!!

Yum! I love home made sushi. I will definetly follow this guide for my next Sushi day. I did some sushi at home a while ago and it got pretty loose. The rice was not sticky enough. Your sushis looks amazing =)

Hi Nicole, knowing that you actually plant to recook this recipe makes me happy! ๐Ÿ‘ Thanks! โค๏ธ This makes posting these recipes meaningful. I think that there are a few factors regarding the right consistency of the rice: 1) it should be glutinous rice and not normal rice, 2) you should rinse the rice until the water comes out clear, 3) you should not use too much water when cooking the rice, 4) you should not cook the rice too long. So, as you see, it is very fragile and subtile, but if it works out, it can make you very happy! ๐Ÿ˜‚
Cu, Chris aka smallstepschange

I think you contribute with some grate content here and I love to see your recipes ๐Ÿ˜Š.
Always enjoy to read about what you have to say.
Thank you so much for the tips ๐Ÿ˜Š I make sure to follow them to the letter โค

Hey Nicole, wow that is so nice of you! Thank you so much!!! ๐Ÿ˜ณ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜Š
Cu, Chris

Only being honest ๐Ÿ˜Š

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly ๏ฟฝ Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Wow Chris! Another great entry for #veganwednesday! How delicious! <3 I just made sushi the other night and what always happens to me is after I have prepared everything, I get to the rolling and I just say nope! haha so we end up with burritos instead ;) Love that you committed to the cut and roll process, it can be challenging <3

Hi Cece, thanks, you made my day! :D
You are right, rolling and cutting can be quite nerve-wracking... But it is certainly easier when you are doing it with your friends... in the process, there were quite some sushi pieces getting mashed or falling into pieces. However, I told myself, this is a good thing, because I immediately sprinkled some soy sauce onto them and ate them with relish. haha
As you can see, the final sushi rolls are not perfect. They are all different, some are smaller, some bigger, and all of them are lopsided. ๐Ÿ˜€The way I see it that they are all individuals, having their very own personality. haha
CU, Chris

Haha that is a beautiful way of looking at it ;) Mine is like OH MY GOODNESS IT'S CUT! EAT IT NOW! ;)

They look great so no complaints from me :)

haha ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69