Vegan Wednesday: Tempeh & Kamut Stuffed Peppers


Hey there everyone!  It's not quite Wednesday here yet, but every day is a good day to be cruelty-free for #veganwednesday. :)  My pal @heart-to-heart is not only keeping the love going with this challenge, but she also has a mega-challenge in the works for any of you folks who have been curious about trying out a vegan lifestyle but needed a little extra push.  As if your health, animals, and the environment aren't motivating enough, she's giving out some killer prizes for making it through 22 days.  That's not even a whole month!

I am happy to support anyone who is taking the plunge to do the big challenge, or just wants to add more plant-based goodness to their daily life.  For #veganwednesday this time around I'm sharing some really delicious stuffed peppers that I made last week.  My mom always used to make stuffed peppers for my dad, but usually with ground beef, white rice and most likely some form of cheese.  Mine are veganized, but definitely not lacking in flavor in any way from the original!  Most recipes end up being quite simple to adjust to omit the animal products.

You can use any grain you like, or omit and add more veggies.  I had a some Kamut left to use up which is why I chose that grain this time around.  I love the nutty texture and it is very high in fiber and protein.  It also has a good amount of essential minerals like zinc, selenium, manganese and magnesium.  I generally try to rotate out my grains and keep my consumption to in-tact forms to maintain all of the benefits.  These would be great with farro or millet if you need a gluten-free option!



With all of the running I have been doing lately, my appetite has been pretty voracious. Adding crumbled up tempeh packs a good protein-punch for recovery and adds to the hearty texture.  I was happy to find pretty large peppers to be able to stuff to the brim with all of the yummy veggies, grains and tempeh.  Silly me forgot to take a picture of the final product (must have been too hungry), but I did remember I had extra stuffing that made for an excellent taco filling in organic corn tortillas!



Tempeh & Kamut Stuffed Peppers

Makes enough to stuff 6-8 large peppers

  • 1 cup Kamut or other grain
  • 6-8 colorful bell peppers, cored but left whole
  • 1 onion, peeled & chopped
  • 6-8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 zucchini squash, chopped
  • 2 packages organic tempeh, crumbled or chopped
  • 1 (14-ounce) jar organic plain tomato sauce
  • 1/4 cup chopped kalamata olives
  • 3 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning blend
  • 1 teaspoon fennel seeds
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (optional)

Cook your grains according to package directions.  Make sure not to overcook as they will get cooked further in the peppers.  Set aside for later.

If you like softer peppers, boil them in water for about 10 minutes to slightly soften before baking.  You may need to do this in batches if you do not have a really large pot.  Make sure to flip at 5 minutes to allow all sides to get cooked.  Drain off the water and set upright in the baking dish while you prepare the filling.

Place the onions and garlic in a large pan over medium heat.  Cook 5-7 minutes or until starting to soften, using a tablespoon of water as needed to prevent sticking.  Add in your zucchini and cook for another 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add in the remainder of the ingredients (tempeh through the spices) and the cooked grains, turn the heat down to low and cook for 10 minutes.  Remove heat and let cool slightly before stuffing your peppers.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.  Fill your peppers with the stuffing, cover and bake for 45 minutes to an hour.  Let cool slightly before serving.  Enjoy!



Make sure to check out the latest #makeithealthy magazine from @woman-onthe-wing https://steemit.com/makeithealthy/@woman-onthe-wing/the-make-it-healthy-project-magazine-issue-4

Sort:  

I love stuffed bell peppers. Yum! Never tried Kamut before, though. I added it to my to-search-for food list.

Everything is better stuffed full of goodies. 😋 The Kamut is similar to farro or maybe wheat berries. Great texture.

Oh wow girl! Thanks for pimpin' out my contests first of all- you rock ;)

These look so good! I hear you about the appetite.. have you noticed I just seem to be all on food lately lol so, I really appreciate this post as now I am contemplating how I can kind of make this without the bell peppers since there were none at the market this week (the horror!)

You rock! Thanks for being such an incredible inspiration to the vegan/p-b community <3

I'm happy to help share the message! The more people encouraged to join, the better. I may have to do this stuffing in mushrooms, too. Or zucchini boats...or tomatoes... ;)

Love peppers. SPicy but so good, delicious and healthy like garlic. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

These peppers are quite sweet! Though I did throw in a bit of crushed red pepper to bring a little heat to the stuffing. 😋

You really really know how to make me drool haha!! Love your stuffed peppers!!

I'm happy to elicit that response any time. I'll have to come up with something extra special for your birthday challenge. You're right in the middle of my family's birthday season, so you'd fit right in with us!

I love stuffed peppers. Silly me for not realizing I could boil the peppers for a few minutes so they would be softer, wow. Wonderful veggies and grains great combo!

I really enjoy them more when I do the quick boil. I like fresh peppers in salads or as a snack, but for stuffed peppers I prefer them nice and soft. Glad I could share the idea with you!

I LOVE stuffed peppers! You have inspired me to get creative in the kitchen with some peppers! I don't have all the ingredients you have so it will certainly be different but hopefully still equally delicious! Thanx for the inspiration! 😍

That's the beautiful thing about cooking--just use whatever you have and I'm sure it will come out delicious! I seem to adjust a few things every time I make a recipe based on what's fresh or what my pantry holds. I hope you enjoy your creation!

Wow that looks soo good. Damn I just keep on finding all these delicious posts and I'm finishing my breakfast. I need to eat my lunch soon :D

Hahaha, always happens around here! I am about to make my rounds in a bit to check out what's cooking on Steemit...🤣

Haha, I need to start making dinner soon. Feels like all I do is eating and cooking :D

Such a fan of stuffed peppers, they are fantastic, great Idea with the tempeh. Are you seasoning this before you are adding?

You know, I didn't think to season the peppers before I stuffed them. I just had all of the flavors in the actual stuffing. Good call for next time! I always season my stuffed shrooms, so I don't know why I didn't do that for these. 😀

These look amazing! I get excited everytime I see your vegan Wednesday post. Stuffed peppers was one of my favorite things growing up and to see how you do it keeps me running towards my ultimate goal. Thank you so much

Yay! So glad you like this one, too! It's always fun to take a recipe that I grew up with and see how I can make it fit my current lifestyle. These definitely hit the spot! :)

Oh my! I see you made extra! 🤤🤤🤗🤤🤗🤤 Well I am not asking you to send me a couple...just saying!
They look delicious!

Haha, I'll have to make some again soon--these went fast! I also didn't want to stay chained to the computer with the weather so nice over the weekend, so this post was a little late in coming. ;) Thank you my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54804.17
ETH 2344.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37