Its Chowda, say it right!

in #vegan6 years ago

I have been wanting to have a chowder for a few months now. Natasha and I went out for dinner to Sova Vegan butcher here in Dublin (which we recommend fully), they have a chowder on the menu for a starter, which is gorgeous, but I felt I needed to make a more "fishy" one.

So I set to work modifying one of my old fish chowder recipes. The result was quite unexpectedly fishy. Natasha was not the biggest fan of the shrimp but everyone else devoured it! It doesn't take too long to make if you have some shop bought Vegan shrimp. If you are making your own there are a some really good recipes available. I may even have to do one up myself and perhaps some calamari? Please let me know in the comments

Ingredients

  • 600 G diced peeled white potatoes,
  • 3 medium carrots diced,
  • 1 Pack of Vegan shrimp (I used the 3 coconut tree brand) if you can't get a pre-made one there are many recipes available online,
  • 1 tbsp plain flour,
  • 200g young green jack fruit drained, cored and De-seeded (one can), Leave some large chunks and break some up into strands.
  • 600 ml water,
  • 50g of re-hydrated seaweed salad,
  • 4 tbsp Veg oyster sauce ( Vegan stir fry sauce is pretty much the same),
  • 500 ml plant milk (I have used unsweetened Soya but any would also work),
  • 200 ml plant cream (Oat cream or hemp cream would work very well) if you don't have you can leave out,
  • large pinch of pink salt (Coarse ground sea salt will work too),
  • 1 tbsp coarse ground pepper,
  • 1/2 medium red onion finely diced,
  • 4 scallions (for garnish)

Method:

  1. Add some neutral oil (sunflower or peanut) to a large pan and heat,
  2. Add onion and allow to soften (2 - 3 min)
  3. Add 1 tbsp plain flour
  4. Add diced carrot and cook for 5 min stirring occasionally
  5. Add potatoes and cook for a further 5 min,
  6. Add Seaweed Salad,

  7. Boil 600 ml of water and mix in the 4 tbsp of veg oyster sauce,
  8. Add in salt and pepper, chop half of the shrimp and leave half whole and add to the pot.

  9. Bring to the boil, reduce heat and simmer for 5 min,
  10. Add plant milk and allow to simmer on a low heat for 3 - 4 min.
  11. Add plant cream, If you don't have plant cream omit and add 600 ml of plant milk instead simmer for 1 min.
  12. Serve in a bowl with some crispy garlic bread and a pint of black (Stout) or a glass of white wine.


  13. If you are not a fan of shrimp for whatever reason, you can omit completely and use double the amount of jack fruit, just soak half of it in a salt water / liquid smoke mix and you'll get a wonderful white and smoked fish flavour. Enjoy!


    LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?

    Sort:  

    Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

    Thanks for following the rules.

    DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

    Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

    Upvote this comment!
    Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
    Join the dropahead Curation Trail
    to maximize your curation rewards!
    Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
    Proxy vote dropahead Witness
    with SteemConnect
    Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
    12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
    Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

    News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

    Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

    According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 86%.

    Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "You learn to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence


    (1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

    - Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
    - Order and coherence
    - Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
    - Images source and their usage license

    That's great, thanks a million.

    This looks so freaking good!!! I know what I will be making this weekend!

    Oh yes, this is fantastic. I have had very many omni comments on this dish when served to them. Hope your enjoying the feed. 😉

    Do let me know how you get on with it too if you do try it our @jenniferferris

    I am definitely enjoying the feed... I will get back to you after i make it, I am sure I will have rave reviews!

    Excellent stuff Jennifer, looking forward to seeing how you get on.

    To be honest, I always thought that vegan seafood products needed to be more prolific in stores just because I had never heard of them. Then I realized all the different vegan seafood options at most Asian markets. For people that are not into shrimp texture or flavor, there are loads of other fishy vegan options. I had no clue either for the first few years I was vegan. I think this recipe is a home run, and I need to think of an excuse to make it.

    For sure, I loved sea food, but most of it is filthy. Bar the ethical aspects of suffocating your food. The poor creatures live their entire lives in our waste! Micro plastics heavily polluting every drop of water on the planet!

    Asian markets are a Vegans treasure trove! Thanks for checking it out.

    Excellent instructions, brother. Thanks for sharing

    Glad to hear that, I always try to make them as easy as possible to follow.

    Yummyyyy!!! This looks soooo yummy! I can even feel the smell and taste of it! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe :) I'll definitely make it. I'Ll just simply skip the vegan shrimp, because I don't like these meat and fish substitutes. They are processed food, too, so not really healthy for me. But they are perfect substitutes for people who miss the taste of meat and fish, and they can stick to their plant-based diet easilier this way :)

    It is true they are a processed product, still far better than actual shrimp or prawn. Those industries are really destroying other ecosystems near to them. If you are making your own then you are good to go. You can use konjac and wheat gluten as a base. I can't remember the full list off my head but there are some great recipes for them online.

    Thanks for checking it out. 😉

    That looks amazing my friend :) Think my hubby miss seafood a little bit. I've never been a huge fan of fish or other seafood.
    Maybe I should try this some time and see if we both like it.

    Oh, what you can do is to only use a small amount of the seaweed salad in your portion and then add more for hubby's portion. You wouldn't have such a fishy flavor and he could be in fishy heaven!

    Plus the seaweed is a great source of Iodine for us Vegans.

    Ohh that sounds like a great idea :)
    Yeah I really need to eat more seaweed :)

    Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Moonunit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

    If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
    Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

    I should look for vegan seafood, I'd never seen it until now :)

    Asian markets are your best bet. The brand I have got a good few times is three coconut tree. I think they are delish. My OH doesn't like them as they are too real. 😋😋

    No problemo, If I can help at all just shout.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.23
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.029
    BTC 66505.48
    ETH 3595.60
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.90