Mission & Vision of Vegans of Steemit, and who are our Vegan Witnesses?

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-276259_Fotor.jpg
source

Dear all,

It’s been just a little over 2 weeks now that I’ve created the Vegans of Steemit discord channel, and we’re already 87 members big at the time of writing!

To be honest, I did not expect so many people to join that quickly, and I certainly didn’t think that there was such a huge vegan and vegetarian community on Steemit. It’s truly heartwarming to find so many like minded people. We can chat about anything really, but we all know that we have one thing in common, which that we don’t want animals to suffer, and we want to preserve our health and the environment.

Now, I know I just said “like minded”, but that is not always true.


I’ve already witnessed our first little “désaccord” or disagreement about what the vegan lifestyle is about in our chat. Nothing serious, but when that many people come together, chances are not everyone agrees with everybody on each topic. On a positive note, it opens room for dialogue.

This little incident made me realize that it was time to state my vision and mission for this invaluable discord group, as I envision it.

Vision of Vegans of Steemit


My first goal was to get lots of vegans and also vegetarians together to exchange ideas, recipes, and to support each other on Steemit. I do, however, have ulterior motives.

The vision of this group, is to create a more compassionate and sustainable society free of animal cruelty.

This is my utopian dream. A world in which no poor souls will be killed for food, in a sustainable society which will shift towards plant-based diets.

Nobody can change the world alone and overnight. That’s why we need each other to bring our resources, projects and knowledge together, to work towards that same goal.

Mission of Vegans of Steemit


The mission is the “how” of the vision. My idea, when creating vegans of Steemit, was to bring vegans, vegetarians and omnis who are considering/struggling to become vegan together, with the goal to help each other.

I know that the name “Vegans of Steemit” itself suggests that it should be a purely vegan group, but how much could we achieve if we close ourselves off from the rest of the world? How would we spread our knowledge, and help others adopt our lifestyle?

I imagine a community in which experienced vegans can help omnis and newly-turned-vegans get their act together, overcome their bad habits, and to exchange plant-based recipes to make their transition smooth. Nobody was born a perfect vegan, and everyone gets there differently. Some take longer and go through stages, such as slowly giving up different kinds of meat, then fish and eventually dairy etc.Others are able to do it overnight. Some may consider leaving animal products behind, but still need a little push and support. A general chat where people can ask questions and share information is the perfect breeding ground to grow the vegan community.

On a personal level, I believe that it is my primary role to open the minds and eyes of meat eaters around me. I personally post more about animal rights. Through my articles, I try to wake the interest of meat eaters, without alienating them or insulting them. I believe that the key to convince someone to join your way of thinking is to show them the positive sides of doing so, not by pointing out their bad behavior.

Like @teamsteem mentioned not so long ago, “everyone is a vegan at heart, they just don’t know it yet”.

It was true for me, and I believe it to be true for a lot of people. Vegans of Steemit has therefore a leadership role, and our most important task is to help people see the truth of the food industry in order to fight it, with Steemit as our battle field.

Vegan witnesses on Steemit


This brings me to my last point, which is to choose our allies well. As soon as the channel was created, fellow vegan and Steemit witness @teamsteem joined us and shared his optimism about the power of a vegan group on Steemit. He also informed me that there is more than one vegan witness on the platform, who would be happy to support our community.

Since every Steemit user can vote for up to 30 witnesses, I believe that it can be of enormous help to our vegan community to have witnesses who share our values and principles, and who have good intentions for the platform.

For those who are not familiar with what each witness does and who they are, here’s a brief introduction of the vegan witnesses on Steemit, in their own words:

@teamsteem (Guillaume Cardinal)

  • 34 years old
  • Vegan for 3 years +
  • Vegetarian for 5 years prior
  • Active daily on Steem since May 2016
  • Witness since September 2016
  • The best place to know what I do as a witness is here

I've experience suffering and I've experienced its opposite. The last thing I want is to inflict suffering or deprive someone of his/her capacity to enjoy life.

Favorite quotes:

"Most people share the moral intuition that the infliction of suffering and death on a sentient being require some sort of justification and pleasure isn't a good justification but that's the only justification we have for eating them, wearing them and using them in most context." - Gary Francione

"The most ethical diet just so happens to be the most environmentally sound diet and just so happens to be the healthiest." – Dr. Michael Greger

@dragosroua

  • kept my witness node running smoothly, with no missed blocks
  • Updated my price feed twice, first time for 200% and second time for 300%, following a broader attempt of witnesses to normalize the SBD price, which, at the moment of writing this, is trading at almost $8
  • Kept my SBD APR at 1%
  • Kept the account registration fee at $1 (I use a script called steem witness toolbox, available for free on Github, for publishing the feed price and adjusting a few blockchain props)
  • Kept the block size at 65,536
  • Updated steem.supply with a minor release, mostly related to the way rewards are displayed, trying to adapt to the new SBD highs.

@ura-soul:

11 Year Vegan, creator of http://steemocean.com/

I aim to nurture life and make decisions that result in us feeling good and that are both compassionate and wise. I have 35 years experience of computing, a degree in Applied Computing and over 15 years of professional experience in the field. I have used social networks with the intent of healing, balancing, learning and evolving for 10 years - starting at tribe.net! I have been involved in designing a social network startup and also run my own social network at ureka.org. I now also run steemocean.com, which is a new platform to support Steemians as they learn about each other and it is intended to provide data that helps us make better decisions when voting and acting on the blockchain. Steem ocean has already been used to identify vote scams and those who could be said to be abusing the system.

As an artist, musician, designer and general guide towards balance, I am connected with a variety of high profile people both indirectly and directly who I am gradually on-boarding to Steem. I am also in the process of working to produce high quality educational videos that explain the mechanics of Steem/Steemit to improve the general understanding of what Steem is. Additionally, I have designs in mind for an entirely new UI for Steem that is intended to increase levels of balance in the ecosystem and I may also integrate a Smart Media Token into my existing platform at Ureka when the time is right. I have new ideas and requests from others almost every day regarding Steem, so everything might change quickly.. So stay tuned!

@krnel

I am on the Steem blockchain in order to share information about various topics to help change the world for the better. Specifically, I focus on moral truth and psychology/consciousness to understand ourselves better and how we can live better through moral principles. I am also here because I am rewarded for the content I put out.

As a Witness, what I offer is not technical improvements or apps for the blockchain, but informative quality knowledge. I want people to learn about meaningful information that can affect the quality of their lives, to change the current condition of the world through empowering information.

I want to change things in the world, and Steem is the platform through which I wanted to try to do that by spreading quality information. Quality information will raise the quality of our consciousness, our thinking, and as a result the overall quality of the world as well. Moral knowledge is the most important to do this.

My goal is to help change the world for the better. I want to use Steemit to do it. I appreciate all the support for the specific work I put out in that effort, and will also appreciate your support as a witness for the Steem blockchain. I want to take the new model of the blockchain changing the world, and keep going into changing ourselves so that we can change the world for the better.”

  • SteemKURE (Kindred United To Reward Excellence) Curation Network
    consulting community members to help with their projects, such as @steempowertwins, @officialfuzzy, @steemnews.online and @steemtrail
  • Trying to educate the community on issues going on in Steemit as well as regular society (check my blog page for raising awareness on self-knowledge)
  • And now I'm running a witness node to provide reliable block production as a dependable and trustworthy individual.

I will leave you guys with this information for now, and I hope that most members of our discord channel will agree with this vision and mission. Of course I’m always happy about any type of feedback you may have and look forward to your comments below!

Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Cool, I didn't know @dragosroua was vegan too, ha! I've had him as a witness for a long time, @teamsteem too ;) @ura-soul has my vote now too. Thanks for including me :)

Thanks for being awesome examples guys! @krnel @teamsteem @ura-soul, I mean I might be a biased vegan and all ;) But I think ya'll are pretty great! Thanks for making Steemit a plant-based haven <3 I have seen so much growth in the vegan movement just since I joined and started my own little contest not even a year ago! I think that Steemit is going to be a huge revolution in how people view the world and their lives by having an alternate opportunity presented to them. I feel this very strongly about veganism here as well. I get a lot of questions and interests from (non) vegans wanting to know what the fuss is all about (and when you give 'em kick ass recipes to sub their norm for, I can't see why we can't make a big splash!) I'll update my witnesses to make sure you are all on there! Thanks again! Andddd of course, thank you @evecab for this great post and for starting the DC channel! <3 Wooo! Vegans <3

thanks for your passion and support!

We're stronger together :) Happy to be on the same team :) Have a great weekend!

Great, thanks - I didn't know you and @dragosroua were vegan - I am glad to know. I have voted for you and him too :)

I'm happy to be part of this with you guys!

I have found the vegans of Steemit discord channel a fantastic resource! I have learned so much since i have joined. The posts are such high quality information that I almost exclusively read only posts from the group. I have only been vegan for a little over 6 months and a vegetarian for about a year and I have found so many resources already from this group. Thank you for creating such a great group, and having your utopian dream!

Plus were just so fine too LOL.

You're welcome @jenniferferris! I'm glad that you like it and find it useful =) Thanks for the nice words!!!

Great guys with vision and on a mission, I have had encounter with teamsteem he is a great guy, but for the vegan thing, I think I still love my fried chicken, can't resist it sight.

I have such a big problem with my decision about going vegetarian/vegan...For each pro I find a con and vice versa..I mean - I clearly feel that consuming carbs makes me tired afterwards because of the whole insulin spike story we all know...+ all those paleo / keto arguments which talk about fat/protein heavy diet just make a lot of sense to me.

On the other side there's the environmental imprint aspect (especially with beef), animals being treated poorly etc etc etc...I just really can't decide. My sis started eating vegetarian several months ago, my 2 flatmates are both vegan and a brand new vegetarian....even my last 2 almost girlfriends were both vegetarian :D...wtf just thinking about it now, I guess these are all the signs what my decision should be ...but Im still a pussy

a balanced vegetable diet doesn't make me tired after eating, it's the opposite. eating meat results in tiredness due to the density of the matter and the higher level of energy needed to digest it..
lions lay unable to move much after eating... gazelles not so much.

Yepp you're right that when it comes to energy after eating, vegetables are the winner compared to the meat exactly because of the reason you've said. But you can't just pick one example I guess...what about scrambled eggs vs oats/pasta? Eggs usually make me go on for several hours whereas pasta makes me hungry and tired after one hour...as I've said, there are pros and cons to both for me

And to your lion vs gazelle comparison ... srry but I find these examples from animal world invalid....I mean..and lion is 10 times stronger than koala...does that mean that being carnivor makes you 10 times stronger? No...the same goes with not being able to move after eating with lion/gazelle....hope you get my point
I think that why lions don't really move much after eating meat is that they basically stuff themselves as much as possible cuz otherwise the meat they killed would rot. So I think it's the amout of food they consume what makes them tired, not the type of it. Gazelle can get its grass whenever it wants so no need to eat the family portion for the week on one sitting. Hope u get my point.

EDIT: But I really am happy that whole vege/vegan movement is gaining momentum cuz it's good for the planet for sure. So I'm out of here, don't want to spam you here. Just wanted to share my current situation of indecision.

what about scrambled eggs vs oats/pasta? Eggs usually make me go on for several hours whereas pasta makes me hungry and tired after one hour

Wholefoods are key and pasta is not a wholefood. If we eat natural food sources (and listen to our body's needs), as has evolved to work with our GI tract and body systems, typically things will balance out ok.

I think it's the amout of food they consume what makes them tired, not the type of it

I am speaking from my own experience and that of every other human I have known, relative to this topic - eating meat results in sluggishness since the body has to work hard to digest it. Sure, the amount eaten is relevant, but the density of the matter applies in all cases. The GI tract of a lion is MUCH shorter than of a herbivore, which means that the herbivore can potentially hold a lot of weight of material for longer, yet their muscles continue to have access to an abundance of energy.

hi @matkodurko, you are not spamming no worries =) We are having an interesting dialogue, that's important! I was just going to say that in the morning oats get me going a lot longer, without needing a snack at 10am (usually that's what I do), so try it and let us know =). With regards to energy, carbs are important. Most my friends are athletes and vegan, so they do need carbs, but of course every meal should be balanced and have protein, carbs, healthy fats and fiber. You can easily get those as a vegan. Let me know if you want to discuss more =) You're welcome in the discord btw

Yepp I've been eating oats almost daily during my "bodybuilding year" :D I've always mixed them with some protein powder and water/milk and just drank on my way to University. And almost never made it through the lecture without an urgent need for coffee. These days I usually have eggs with vegetables and I get my first coffe in the afternon. But I guess, this stuff is sooo complex and there are so many other aspects.

E.g. In the meantime I started working and my work is much more interesting than University classes used to be. So that might keep me going...I also don't eat that much as I used to during my "bodybuilding carreer" :D So it might be that my body is just not as tired of digesting the food all the time...

Dunno, I need to think it all through once again...Also, Im wondering how my flatmate who just turned vegetarian will feel in couple of weeks...

Anyway, best of luck to u all, moral ground is for sure on your side :)

Hey @matkodurko, just catching up on this dialogue here and wanted to give my two cents (or whatever my vote is worth right now I guess ;) )

I used to have a serious lethargy problem before I went vegan. My doctors said it was this and that, gave me like 100 different excuses and prescriptions but honestly nothing worked. I switched to vegetarian and then I got weaker! I couldn't figure out what was going on! (I was compensating with a lot of eggs)

Finally on my own I cut out all meats/animal products AND gluten/wheats... between the two of those eliminations, POOF, energy was backing me up!

Could it be a diet that could change my life I wondered? Obviously the doctors weren't in support of this but I am now wellll into this diet and I tell you, I still see improvement constantly by eating a well rounded, balanced diet with tons of fruits and veg (avoiding the fast-food vegan options or highly processed/sugars options)

Also a good intermittent fast can fuel your body with a ton of energy, might want to look into that as well :)

Best of luck either way! I'm happy to see you out here, looking for ways to become healthier! I think that's awesome :)

Have a great weekend!

I hope this helps. I could write forever on this but if you have any questions feel free to get in touch with me. I ended up getting a raw food nutritionist degree because I was SO fascinated by the art of healing through food.

There's been quite a boom regarding intermittent fasting in the last couple of years...it makes all the sense in the world really, haven't tried it yet simply because I'm a pussy, constantly training and telling myself that I need the food....but I'm really 100% sure it works...I guess fasting is something all the diets agree on, that it's good for us...it has been part of almost any culture through human history.

Oh, and Im glad you got rid of you problems at the first place!

Message me over in Discord if you want to talk about how to go about it. I know how you feel. If you knew me, you'd know I am the world's biggest advocate for eating haha I LOVE FOOD SO MUCH, it's my ultimate passion in life and almost everything I ever do surrounds it SO if I can do it, literally anyone can! It's all about the benefits at the end that get me through! =D Good luck to you either way! I wish you health <3

Awesome @evecab I like that you are going for the utopian dream! Aim high girl!

I have to edit my utopian dream: it's to get FT to give up meat buaaahhhh Thanks so much for the support FT, very much appreciated!!!! =)

you should stick to your previous utopian dream, that one is more realistic.

;)

I love our vegan community :) And of course every one who is vegan courious should join and get support on how to transition.

For someone who is still a little noob in this witness thing. How do I wote? :D

I'm so glad you like it @nicoleslife =). To vote, you just need to clock on the little menu on the upper right side of your blog page, and you will find "vote for witness" in the drop down menu =)

Oh thank you darling :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Great vision for the group!

thank you @fruitarianism =). I'm glad to have you in our group!

Admirable ambitions and vision @evecab. I may well stop by the room soon when I'm not so snowed under with work. There's room for another vegetarian maybe? ;-)

of course there is @raj808, anytime!!! I didn't know you were vegetarian, that's great!!! See you in our group I hope =)

What's a witness?🤔 I'm new to steemit so its the first time I'm hearing of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83