🍫 It's National Chocolate Cake Day! 🍰 Are You Ready for the Best Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Ever? 🔥

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

It's National Chocolate Cake Day! Celebrate with a slice of our decadent vegan chocolate cake. 🍰

7518859248_IMG_3203-min.jpg

This chocolate cake is rich, moist and most importantly cruelty-free! It requires only 1 bowl and it's so worth it!

It's perfect to share with and friends and family.

Ingredients

Cake

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup raw cacao powder
  • 1 1/2 cups plant-based milk
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/4 cups applesauce
  • 1/2 cup of brewed coffee
  • 2/3 cup melted coconut oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/3 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoons salt

Frosting

  • 1 cup plant-based milk
  • 2 cups dairy-free dark-chocolate bar, chopped
  • 1/2 cup melted coconut oil
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

7585935152_IMG_3110-min.jpg

7585935152_IMG_3112-min.jpg

Method:

Cake:

1 - Preheat your oven to 350 F/180°C and grease 2 8-inch round cake pans.

2 - Mix together the plant milk and apple cider vinegar and set aside.

3 - In a large mixing bowl or food processor combine the plant milk mixture, applesauce, brewed coffee, coconut oil and vanilla extract. Mix the ingredients together until they become frothy (a few pulses in the food processor should do it and whisking it would take 2 -3 minutes).

giphy.gif

4 - Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt and combine with the ingredients in the food processor in batches. Once all of the dry ingredients have been added mix the mixture until smooth.

5 - Divide the mixture evenly between the two greased cake tins and place in the preheated oven and bake for 25 - 30 minutes.

giphy (1).gif

6 - Remove from the oven and allow the cakes to cool to room temperature and only then carefully remove them from the tins.

Frosting

  1. Heat the milk up in a saucepan or in a microwave for one minute. Then add the chopped chocolate and stir with a spatula until the chocolate has melted completely. Then mix in the oil, cover and leave for 15 minutes.

  2. Beat the mixture with a mixer while slowly adding a cup of the powdered sugar. Then cover the mixture and put in the freezer for 10 minutes to set. Remove and mix again while adding the rest of the powdered sugar.

Assembly

  • Add the bottom layer of the cake onto a flat board and cut off the domed top.
  • Spread a generous layer of the frosting over this layer and add the other layer of cake on top.
  • Cover the top and sides of the cake with the rest of the frosting.

7518859248_IMG_3199-min.jpg

You can be creative and add any toppings to the cake that you like. I topped the cake with some desiccated coconut and chocolate shavings.

What topping do you like on your chocolate cake?

Check out our blog Delicious Plants for more easy, healthy plant based recipes and download our free guide to making vegan pizza! 🍕

We're also on Instagram

Sort:  

Ill give this a try for my husbands birthday. He loves chocolate cake. Thanks

My birthday is coming up in March and I’m definitely having this cake too - but I’m thinking of making it four layers 😂🙈 you know what they say, to big or go home 🤷🏼‍♂️😂 I hope your husband enjoys it! ⭐️

@deliciousplants looks so delicious and love your stop frame videos, I can only imagine you have a camera strapped to your head, I have no idea how this is done!

I'm trying to find out what foods people are addicted to,
to help them with their health journey

Please check out my post and let me know.....
https://steemit.com/vegan/@celestialcow/coffee-chocolate-chili-and-cheese-what-food-are-you-most-addicted-to

celestialcowlong.jpg

Amazing post! ♥ And the cake looks delicious!!

Thank you @veganparadise! 😆 we finished it off within 2 days 🙈 that’s how good it was 🍰

Fresh Raspberries would go perfect with this vegan delight!

That’s exactly what I thought! 😂 I’m was not sure how the raspberries would look in the photos so I decided on chocolate shavings and coconut instead - but I’m definitely going to try the raspberries next time 🍓

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 22:42:29
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 102.10/200.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 44.79% Upvote

I think we might have all this 😐😐

well our milk may be old, but could probably use water? or water blended with peanuts?

I think making a peanut milk would work very well.

Let me know how it turns out ⭐️

Thank you @deliciousplants for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.24% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

I wish I could have one slice right now!! Looks amazing! I thnk I know you from insta btw! Happy to find you here and congrats on the feature on @isshappy top 10 vegans on steemit - post! ;)
Love, Niina

I would gladly give you a slice if I had any left 😂 whenever I make this I always tell myself “Moderation, moderation” but 2 days later I’m left with an empty cake platter 😭😂😂

wow.. yummy i would love one

Hahaha you’re not the first person to tell me that this week 😂😂

chocolate lovers always like chocolate as topping ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48