Coffee ☕ Chocolate 🍫 Chili 🌶 and Cheese 🧀 ........ What food are you most addicted to?

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit,

I recently joined this platform and really thankful to all those that welcomed me. I wanted to know more about my new friends here, so I can write more effective posts for you. If you comment on this post please let me know what your food addictions are.

I’ve always been a food lover and I regularly take pictures for my own visual food diary.

I hope you like my photos, the chocolates are my own creation and I will be sharing how to make my homemade healthy vegan delicacies soon!

4food@celestialcow.jpg

Coffee, Chili, Chocolate and Cheese, my addictions.....

I’ve always loved spicy food. As a kid when I’d hang out at my Bangladeshi friend’s house, she would give me the spiciest fish curry. It was so hot that I couldn't feel my lips after eating it. To be honest after that, I always felt food wasn’t tasty unless there was chili inside it.

I also considered myself a chocolate monster, as a small child it was kinder eggs, then as a teenager I moved onto all the major confectionery bars, into adulthood I'd only buy organic or ethical brands. At one point about 4 years ago I was having a few cubes of Green and Blacks for breakfast before heading to my restaurant job and making myself that daily addiction, coffee.

Cheese, well that’s another thing altogether! I worked in an artisan cheese shop for 3 years and part of the job description was to regularly taste test the quality of all 130 cheeses that were available. It was this job that really sparked up my passion for cheese that was more than just grating it on pasta and pizza. I actually became very snobby, eating only farmhouse cheeses and never brought anything mass produced.

urwotueat.jpg

Becoming vegan didn't happen over night for me. One day about 3 years ago I just decided to cut down on my milk and cheese slowly, until eventually I just stopped bothering and noticed I was saving a lot of money by doing so.
Everything takes time, I cut sugar out completely but had to substitute it with natural sugars. This is how I started making my own vegan chocolates, they ended up replacing the coffee that I didn't want to consume anymore because it was making me tired and irritable.
Even the chili was having a negative effect, who would of thought that it can give you a fiery temper? Although it sort of seems obvious, we don't often connect these things and yet is widely known about in Ayurveda, a Indian medicinal food practice.

ayurveda.jpg

You might be thinking that I have no fun but actually It's not all about the sensations of our taste buds and the buzz we get from stimulants. I want to be stable, calm and able to function especially under pressure without constant mood swings, sugar crashes and burn outs. That's not all, there are also a whole bunch of health reasons for giving these up, which I am going to go into more detail in another post.

Is it just me or do a lot of addictive foods begin with the letter C? maybe its because they are a curse? :)
Thanks for reading! let me know your thoughts on this and what food and drinks you are addicted to.
celestialcowlong.jpg

Learn more about celestial cow by checking out my intro....
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@celestialcow/hi-steemit-i-m-celestial-cow-fully-plant-powered-food-anarchist-and-diet-revolutionist-excited-to-be-here

Sort:  

Coffee for me. I also do the no sugar thing. Maybe someday I'll be vegan. It's mainly just dinners I have problems with.

Chocolate is probably the only thing that I struggle to go past. Like you, what I eat has changed since giving up refined sugar. I prefer dark chocolate now and I always prefer milk before. I find I crave more fresh foods as well since letting go of junk food.

I also like cheese. Have you tried vegan cheeses and if so how have you found them?

Hi @ life-relearnt, thanks for your comment. I only ate vegan cheese once at pizza express restaurant, I couldn't tell the difference, melted mozzarella all tastes the same. I rarely eat out but this was a family occasion. I prefer to keep my food as pure as possible, i'm not always quite sure what are in the vegan cheeses, like I stopped buying coconut and other nut milks because they contained ingredients to keep them long lasting and sometime sugar too. I started making my own nuts milk but that can get quite expensive and time consuming. Oat milk is very simple and cheap to make but tbh I rarely need milk unless I have some homemade granola (can't do that atm because I don't have a working oven).
Still I think vegan cheese is great for those who need to transition!
Its good to hear that you are craving more fresh foods. Ive read veganism is on the rise in Australia but my memory of being there was it was quite expensive to buy fresh food or anything for that matter, people would go to mcdonalds because it was a cheaper option. I remember bananas costing a arm and a leg in WA compared to processed foods and actually bananas are grown in that region, so local people aren't able to afford healthy food! There was a great initiative in Melbourne where people could get vegetarian food for whatever they wanted to donate, I ate there a lot (this is when I was still a meat eater!)

That's an awesome post!!! I think I've always been addicted to something. I was addicted to chocolate and sweet flavours in my entire life. Especially before I was diagnosed with diabetes. Since I don't sugar anymore, I switched to other things. I eat lots of fruits, which is great, but I always need to have something as a snack. Right now, I'm addicted to dehydrated green peas which I can buy in one of my favourite vegan restaurants close to my apartment. At least it's healthy, so I don't mind :)

I've never heard of dehydrated green peas! sounds like an interesting snack. Fruits are a great snack, I eat clementines all day atm, its orange season here in Catalunya, so can'y get enough.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 01:17:44
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.10/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Bonjour!!J'adore beaucoup chocolate!!!
C'est vrai !!!

I'm definitely addicted to cheese. I've been trying to cut back on my sugar intake for health reasons as well. Great post!

I'm addicted to coffee, sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds.

I think I am addicted to chillies too! 🌶 I have hot sauce with almost everything 😂

Btw, I love the food photos. Have you come across @photocontests yet? Mondays is food photography.

Also, @choogirl is another vegan who likes to travel.

Thanks! I'm following @choogirl now! I've checked the contest out, how do you enter, is it automatic? can't seem to work it out!

Just tag to whichever photo you're entering, so for food, foodphotography. You do need to tag on the day in order to be eligible, so for food it's Mondays. You can still tag on other days and you'll get the XP reward programme part that he does, but it won't go into the contest.

Hope that makes sense

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62872.85
ETH 3031.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92