Searching an alternative platform for Steemit? An Introduction to Busy.orgsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

I was trying to introduce busy.org to my fellow friend (who is the one introduced me to Steemit at the first place), @cklai and found that I need a proper introduction for him too. So, I end up writing an introductory post which can be read not only by him but also other new users as well.


Busy.org is an Open-Source social network and communication platform that extends itself to a variety of rich features and functionality including free digital payments and a marketplace for goods and services.

Link: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dhruv123/what-is-busy-org-introduction-to-new-members

Here are the introduction of the features available on Busy.org.

image.png

This is the page interface you will see once SteemConnect log you in the site. On your left, you can see a lot of familiar tabs from Steemit.com.

  • My Profile – to access your main profile
  • Feed – to show news feed of the users you followed
  • News – to show news depending on your choice just like in Steemit, regardless of who you followed (with trending, new, active, hot and promoted as options)
  • Replies – the replies you got for your posts and comments (just like in Steemit)
  • Wallet – the same wallet that shows the amount of SP and SBD you have, but in a more amazing way
  • Trending topics – tags that are trending and you can click view more to choose

The middle will be the same feature as Steemit with posts by different users. While the right side of the page will be some suggestion for you to follow (which I found kind of irrelevant and I would prefer to be my favourite list of users)

image.png

This is how your wallet looks like. Isn’t it looks better? It also shows the market price of Steem and Steem Dollar at the side.

image.png

This is how your main profile looks like. A more sleek design than Steemit, no doubt. Then you can even see your voting power available at the left corner with your joined date too!

image.png

On the top right corner, there is a setting icon that you can click at. There you can go into setting which I going to explain next.

image.png

Here you are in the setting page. Here you can enable your voting slider with a default amount of vote percent you preferred. Language and display of NSFW posts also available for you to customize.
Another important feature is that you can actually bookmark other posts! This is not available in Steemit. You can browse your bookmark posts by clicking the ‘Bookmark’ option on the left.

image.png

Oh ya, how to bookmark right? Just click the 3 dots at the top right corner of each post. A dropdown with ‘Save post’ and a Star is what you click to bookmark.

image.png

How to post on busy.org? Just click on the pencil icon situated at the side of your avatar on the top right corner. Then, you will get into this posting page which you can fill in the Title, Topics (which is for the tags you want to use), the content and also the options for reward.

image.png

One more thing, in busy.org, by hovering to the number beside the upvote icon, you can see who upvoted you and with how much $$ contributed to your post! From there, you know who are your biggest supporter. I know each upvote is hard earned right here, and I appreciate every one of it, even if it’s a minimal amount.

image.png

Lastly, when you want to upvote, a slider will pop up for you to choose. Besides, the amount of worth for your vote will also be displayed. After confirming the weightage, then only you click confirm with the tick there (top right corner on top of the slider).


Here are some add on research that I done on busy.org.

@webcoop highlighted the change of login into busy.org requires active key and not posting key, which makes the risk higher.
Link: https://steemit.com/busy/@webcoop/what-have-you-done-busy-org

However, this was modified and provided with more clarity with the improved login interface that was written by @gregory.latinier on what kind of function are we authorizing busy.org. Besides that, from the blog post, I also know that SteemConnect has a dashboard that can revoke the authorization to any Authorized app like busy.org, esteem app, utopian.io and so on. This is convenient and an assurance for the users.
Link: https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@gregory.latinier/design-of-the-authorize-page-and-add-revoke-tokens

Another amazing feature that we cannot find on Steemit.com is the voting slider which was developed by @sekhmet. It was awesome as I can control how much I want to commit in an upvote and not getting my voting power down too much. Currently @sekhmet is working on other amazing features for busy.org which I am looking forward to.
Link: https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@sekhmet/my-busy-org-october-report-voting-slider-avatar-lightbox-and-a-lot-more

Since I am quite new to use busy.org, I just realized that they just launched their upvoting bot last month and how the bot works is wonderful.

To get an upvote from the bot, here are some criteria:

  1. To post via busy.org
  2. Use the tag “busy” (not necessary to be primary one)
  3. Need a minimum follower numbers with accumulated 500SP
  4. A full 100% upvote requires 12Millions SP accumulated voting power (equivalent to 25 whales)
  5. The bot will upvote once per 12 hours for every user so 2 upvotes/day/user
  6. When the bot run out of power, the ratio will be increase relatively

Basically, it is all about influence.

Influence=More quality followers=Higher Upvote

This information was orginally posted by @busy.org, if you want to read more details, please click the link below.

Link: https://steemit.com/busy/@busy.org/introducing-busy-org-the-bot-that-rewards-your-influence


Well, I think that is all for the basic introduction for the newcomers to use busy.org. Hope this helps, and I also look forward for more amazing features in the future.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

能发一篇汉语版的嘛?英语不好。

哇,可以。哈哈,但就当成是翻译utopian篇 :P

i want busy.org
but I do not have time .. Can I post a post on steemit and busy.org right? I mean the same content but I posted 2 places ..

when u posted on busy.org, it already linked with steeemit and posted there as well. Is like a mirror, what you did in busy.org will reflect on steemit or the other way round.

How do you get @qurator attention?

I think you just need to register with them to be the member (there are different tiers of membership with different power of vote). You can lookup at the bottom of most of their post.

Nice article bro, but somehow I prefer steemit. I like things original. :D I've used busy before though

Haha, no hard feeling bro. I also use here and there. No particular favourite, as long as I can get my stuff posted.

True, I go to busy when Steemit was down last time. :D

haha, I see. I think I am the same too!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Thanks for sharing. this post definitely need to resteem.

haha, most welcome! write for u one leh :P

Hahaha, without your support. My account could still stay frozen

haha, just need a push right there :) you brought me in one leh.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Great post thanks for the clarification on how to use busy. Org, I'm glad there's other options to use. be well
#steemitbloggers

Thanks @krazypoet :) happy to help.

Hey @kimzwarch I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Cool, thanks for the generous gift. Voted for your Witness as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48