VALLEY OF THE GODS - A visual tour + Selection Game

in #utah7 years ago (edited)

One of my favorite places in South East Utah is called "Valley of the Gods" and these are some of the shots I did last March while I stayed there for about a week.

Optional Text

ABOUT VALLEY OF THE GODS
It's not too far from Monument Valley (you will actually see monument valley in a couple of my shots) but it's a more simple place with just one nice dirt road loop and some places to pull over to camp and no houses, no utilities or facilities at all. It was part of the former Bears Ears but not sure if it's in the new National Monument (I really hope not for it's own sake). The truth is that it's a sturdy hardy place that is doing A OK and pretty much untouched for hundreds of years now and should just go on being it's own unique little-known place. In fact the worst thing is probably to make it a park as we see the negative impact that usually has (I love me some national parks but I just want this to remain untouched from crowds and government... that's part of it's appeal). I took my airstream down for a week and just worked on pictures during the day on my computer and took pictures at sunrise and sunset, I was in a little camping spot that I even had a tiny bit of cell phone for business. Truth is i hesitate sharing this post because I like that there's never anyone there when I go... but you are all my friends and there is certainly plenty of it to go around. Drive the loop take in the sites. Like i said it's a hardy place with some cool formations and one little road.

ABOUT THE SELECTION GAME
I want you to see the pictures but I want to be a meaningful and constructive experience. So we're going to play KEEP 2 | KILL 3

Your chance to say which ones you'd consider for my Best 100 of 2017 and which ones you wouldn't feel free to say why. I've added the pictures below to make conversation easier.

Optional Text

Optional Text

Optional Text

Optional Text

Optional Text

Optional Text

Optional Text

Optional Text

Optional Text

Maybe... Maybe KEEP 3

Playing the game and sharing your thoughts actually has a great ability to give a lot of insight to those that see the posts.

PREVIOUS GAMES
GAME 1 - Bryce Canyon
GAME 2 - Mt Timpanogos
GAME 3 - Forrest and Autumn
GAME 4 - Native Ruins
GAME 5 - Moon over Formation
GAME 6 - West Mountain Utah Lake views

Sort:  

Kill, cool layers but the other layer one was better

kill there is something about the shadow that I really like and that really distracts me too

Keep. Those layers are awesome and I love blue!

Keep, it is interesting with the roads winding through the mountains

KEEP! I love the warm tones in this, and the degraded colors of the sky.

Kill, feels a bit cut off on the right side

Kill, I agree with @sjarvie5 feels cut off.

Cool framing. Keep if there's a third option.

cool! Sounds like a plan

Oh yes, definitely keeping this one!

yes, this one is cool!

Keep

If you're open to suggestion how does it look with half the sky cropped?

yeah that would actually be a great suggestion. And yes on these types of posts the expectation is yes on suggestions.

Keep! This is amazing!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 19:37:10
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 413.24/800.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 69
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44