Upcycling Pallets • What I Can Do With Just A Few (pallets) • Repurposing Pallets & Growin' w/ @grow-pro

in #upcycling6 years ago

upcycle-pallets-with-grow-pro.jpg

Waste little and use what you have available.

Two simple things that have helped me to do a lot with a little over the years. I try to find purpose, utility, and use in things before chucking them in the trash. I'd rather bring new purpose by misusing objects than to discard them. There is great value in junk - we just have to try to see it in different ways.

From trash to treasure

If you have junk - you might have everything you need and not even know it! I'll show you some examples of how I seek out ways to use the junk that sits around. This is a second year Plant House, as we call it, that I rebuilt again. I took it down last year and almost tossed it out. I needed some space for more tomato plants, so I rebuilt it again this year. I'll drop a bunch of images below for you to see some other examples of my "Upcycling Shenanigans".

secure-the-plants_grow-pro.png

A QUICK REMINDER BEFORE I BEGIN:

RECYCLE / UPCYCLE / REUSE / REPURPOSE

I use things that I source directly from my own property and things that I acquire while helping others. The saying holds true: "One man's trash and another man's treasure"

Old pallets, barrels & drums, buckets, appliances, scrap materials (*see how @aunt-deb put an old refrigerator to good use here!). I reuse coffee cans and carryout food containers to sprout seeds, make shakers for soil amendments and I don't need to - I like to. I also use professional equipment, but if it has a use, I'm using it - regardless if I bought it or found it next to a dumpster. Of course, common sense is required when reusing these things for growing food.

reuse-your-head.png

How to Identify a Pallet:


IMPORTANT NOTE: DO NOT use wooden pallets that have been treated chemically - they will leach toxins into your soil. USE ONLY HT / HEAT-TREATED wooden pallets, that are clean, when using them in or around your growing environment. This goes for plastics and many other materials that may be toxic. Use your head and also refer to the ISPM 15 before reusing wood products and packaging.

quoted content above from this post by @grow-pro


🌱to💰- Growing Money In Your Yard Series • {part 4.1} • Setting Yourself Up to Grow Money

only-steemit.png

Solar Panel Pallets - Cost: $0 - Second year being repurposed

grow-pro_pallets-for-platns.png

MATERIALS USED:
• Pallets (x4)
• Handful of screws
• leftover burlap from wrapping plants
• old tarps (my parents were discarding these, so i brought them home)

It protects our tomato seedlings from harsh weather and wind

protecting-the-plants_grow-pro.png

We get some serious wind here and in the past week have gotten nearly 7 inches of rain! It was pretty brutal for the plants, even with the protected space.

It is even fun for the kids! They are learning to see purpose in things by using creativity, imagination and resourcefulness to repurpose them to achieve a greater utility/function.

Time well spent! My children love to observe things and I can already see the result of these sort of projects and how they are attuned to 'seeing' this way. Not everyone has the desire to see things for what they could be, but rather only see them for what they are. It's not always about what it is - it is sometimes about what it CAN be!

gnome-says-seuss-_-grow-pro.png

Another example of some 'real utility' is how a few scrap pallets turned into workspace for me

plant-workbenches-from-pallets_grow-pro.png

Workbenches that I use all year around!


When these are not holding plants, they are holding grilling tools, yard tools, and sometimes even a garden gnome or two.

plant-workbench-from-pallets-by-gro-pro.png

Here is a little compilation of some other things I have built with pallets:

grow-pro-upscrapping-2018.jpg

@grow-pro is a proud supporter of The PAL / MSP

Sort:  

You got a 17.81% upvote from @th3voter thanks to: @grow-bot!


kitten fighting :)
Image Source cloudinary.com


This post has upvoted from @th3voter !For more information, click here!

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to our bot, 100% of earnings paid out to delegators. To do so, click below:
30SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP, 10000SP,
Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.

CONGRATULATIONS!
Your post is featured in my FRIDAY DIY DAY- CURATION 12 post!

Thanks10 for that, @goldendawne.

keep up the wonderful curation efforts! More goodies for me to resteem!! ✌️😎

I just made my 4 of my own little pallet garden boxes. Check out my last few posts! I'll be making more to fill up my patio, but hard to find the pallets without large space between the boards. Wish me luck!

I see that! Nicely done, @doctorspence. When I made my plant box, I used pond liner / rubber to line the inside and keep water in and light out. 😉 I also disassemble pallet wood and use the pieces, like in the plant tables in the post. They were made from pallets I used a sawzall to dismantle. It takes a great deal of time to do, so maybe a roll of pond liner will be easier for your plant boxes.

You got a 9.71% upvote from @proffit courtesy of @jackmiller!
Send at least 0.01 SBD/STEEM to get upvote , Send 1 SBD/STEEM to get upvote + resteem

you are very creative to produce unused items for the functioning of mini plantation. I salute you. disangat menginfirasikan me to be more creative and can memamfaatkan objects wasted in the neighborhood residence.

Guau that is amazing work I hope some day building a hometree with pallets, but the time is a problem.
best regard

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

In the fight of Humans vs Bots, @megabot defended you with 10.27% upvote courtesy of @jackmiller!

Support @Megabot by delegating SP to the bot and get a part of 98% of @Megabot's profit.

Direct delegation links : 10 SP || 50 SP || 100 SP || 500 SP || 1000 SP || Any other amount of SP

Join our discord group here.

Thank You !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43