Making the paradigm shift from scarcity to prosperity

in #ungrip7 years ago (edited)

This is a tough one to work through as we all have been raised within the scarcity model and are very accustomed to how it works.  Let me work through a thought experiment to help people visualize what life would be like under a prosperity model as it will look very different than what we are used to.

Scarcity Model

This model functions on the premise that resources are scarce and that everything be assigned a dollar value so that decisions can be made to best utilize those scarce resources.  As such, even people have values based on skill, ability, training, education, etc.  Most people work for money and how much they get paid depends on supply and demand.  In the northern areas, natural gas, oil and coal are used and because people have to pay others to mine it, it too becomes scarce as people have to trade time for money in order to trade money for heat.  There may be lots of coal, but there is a finite amount of time and it is our time that ends up being the scarce resource in our lives.  Now we are competing against others for the scarce number of jobs and as a result there is always a large percentage of people who cannot compete and end up in poverty.  Of those that do have jobs, the system is designed to siphon away energy as the greedy found ways to do that without most people noticing or rebelling.  Inflation, taxation, debt, usury and other tools are all used so that the uber rich can live off the poor.


Loblaws is a major distributor of food in Canada and has just admitted to price fixing bread over the last 14 years.  They are a middle man and their greed could only happen within a scarcity model.  Image copyright of Loblaw Companies Limited.

It all works because we only have a limited amount of time on this planet and as a result we end up trading it in exchange for paying others to provide for our needs.  It takes about 40 years to pay off these people and by the time we get there, we are tired, broke, injured or even dead.  

Prosperity Model

It has been my experience that it actually takes about 3-5 years to establish the basic infrastructure to live off the land and provide for all our needs.  By dedicating 3-5 years, we have noticed that 100% of our effort goes towards our infrastructure and the amount of time to maintain that infrastructure is a fraction of the time we spent working jobs.  Yes, it does require that we do a lot of work, but it is a small fraction of the 40+ years in the other model.  When the infrastructure is established, we end up working about 4 hours a day on average to maintain our gardens, live stock, buildings and land.  That leaves at least 4-6 hours a day for other activities.  Winter time has more spare time, spring, summer and fall less.  But it all works out.

Suddenly we are confronted with lots of time on our hands and we were not sure what to do with it all.  This is especially true during the winter when we are in rest mode along with the rest of nature.  Two hours of work is all that is required to keep us warm and well fed during the winter.  

What to do with all that time?  Help others!

I'm going to suggest that the way to address poverty, infirmed, elderly, young or other dependents is to make sure our communities are functioning in a prosperity model first.  By being proactive, we ensure that those who are willing and able have their needs met with little effort.  Yes, it is hard work, but it is not long, labourous, time consuming work.  With all the extra time, people are now free to invest in it how they please.  Art, music and other creative venues are suddenly open to explore.  But serving others opens up as we suddenly have an abundance of time to help.  Because most of our community is experiencing this abundance, it is easy for groups of people to trade off helping those that need full time care.  

People often ask me how I get everything done because it seems like I've accomplished so much.  I was able to do that because I live in a prosperity model and I have the time to do this work.  I'm not a slave to the job where I have to put in 8 - 10 hours a day just to pay the bills.  I have one bill - Internet & phone.  It does not take much to pay that off.  No mortgage, line of credit, credit cards, power bill, gas bill, water bill, etc all do not exist in my life.  As a result, I spend hours each day helping people all over the world.  Most people don't see it because it is done in the background or in private.  But the work is getting done and I am able to do that because I have an abundance of time.

Now, imagine if we get a billion people off the grid and living in a model of prosperity instead of scarcity.  I estimate that I have approximately 1500 spare hours a year.  If a billion people were living in this model, that would mean there is now 1.5 TRILLION hours per year available to help people.  Do you think the scarcity model can compete against that?  No way.  That is why governments around the world are working hard to make sure people stay on the grid.  

I suspect that the state and corporate empires realize that the moment we decide to start giving our time away because our needs have been met, that would be the end of their empires.  They cannot compete against 1.5 TRILLION hours of free labour.  It would crash the labour market and destroy their empires.  That is why they work hard to keep people busy.  When they accomplish that, time becomes scarce and they can maintain a labour rate for that time.  But they too fall pray to supply and demand.  When the supply of labour grows well beyond what the demand for labour is, their system crashes.  

When we move off the grid and start living on the land, the amount of time we spend to provide for our needs plummets.  Why?  Because we are taking the middle men out of the equation.  We are bridging the gap between producer and consumer.  The middle man gets cut out and the prices plummet.  This should point out how much money these blood sucking, time consuming, greedy monsters really to take from you and I.  I would estimate that it is the equivalent of at least 1.5 TRILLION hours for that one billion I talked about before.  Multiply that times 7 and you will get a good idea on how much time they steal from people.  Imagine what we could create with 10.5 TRILLION hours each year.  Now we are talking about prosperity.  

To get disconnected from the grid requires that we completely change our relationships and it will be a big shift.  But if we want to live in a model of prosperity for all people, it is something we must entertain.  When we get there, the 10.5 TRILLION hours could then be put to work to find even more efficient ways to reduce our time obligations for providing our needs, which in turn then frees up even more time to help others and find even more ways to be productive and prosperous for all life on this planet.  

The state and corporate empire is NOT interested in this as there is zero profit or control in this paradigm shift.  So they will resist with their last dying breath.  Then we will see freedom on this planet.  This is what I see and I know we can do it.  

Just to be clear, I quite my slave job when I was 39.  I work hard but retirement from slave work has been good to me.  

Sort:  

I quit my slave job over 20 years ago and have never looked back. We need another 2 years to become completely self-sufficient. It is starting to look really good to me. We don't really have too much of a slow down period as we are growing for three seasons and trying to work out the fourth. But we are suppling food for four families. How different the world would be if more folks were off grid and self-sufficient.

My friend, people like you are changing the world and in no time we will see how different the world would be as a result of more folks being off grid and being self-sufficient. You are a leader by example and I have no doubt that you are influencing many to do the same. I walk side-by-side with you in solidarity as we work to influence others to take that leap of faith! <3 Much respect to you my friend.

Many thanks, my friend, @wwf. I just try to walk the path. Sometimes it is rocky...

There are 3 Amish farms within about a mile from where I live. It seems that they pay taxes, but because they don't use electricity, and very rarely motor vehicles, they don't have the drain on their resources. Also I believe they get a religious exemption from NY state. They don't send their children to public school, but to their own schools that they built. They see no use for an education beyond the 8th grade. What they learn is completely practical (how to farm, build, basic math, etc). When this system comes crashing down in the west, they will be able to go on as if nothing happened.

I'm sitting on 70 acres that is an estate still in my grandmother's name. She passed in 1979 without a will. Dad is still here and I help out with the chores such as splitting wood, etc...

I agree. The Amish will do well when the system crashes because that have little or no dependency on it at all. Something I've been advocating for over 10 years myself. It is a hard sell to convince people, but it is starting to get easier and easier as things in the fictional world start to deteriorate and the violence escalates.

70 acres is a lot of land, more than enough to support a family. Bravo to you. I hope you recognize the value of what you have there. :) <3 Peace to you and thank you for writing and participating.

I do, but I foresee a possibility of being run off this property if I can't keep up with the taxes should my father pass. My dad gets special exemption because he's on the enhanced star program that reduces taxes for seniors. I started collecting my pension about 2 years ago but won't qualify for the enhanced star program until I'm 65. We farm a small percentage of this property and the rest is wild. We can our own vegetables and also chop our own wood.

The fence around this property has been encroached on a bit by the neighbors according to my father. Because he's only part heir (without the will) he can only claim 6 years back taxes if he lets the property go for taxes. He's mentioned wanting to leave here for years because he feels trapped. It's not my say what happens here. For all I know, our days are numbered anyway so I just take it one day at a time.

I pray that my work will provide a remedy for you one day. I'm working on that very issue. I pray a solution that I can support presents itself to me soon.

I refuse to do this process because it depends on the feudal courts. But it might appeal to you. I share as my spirit moved me to share. Do with it as you wish.

https://www.sapling.com/8696537/method-obtain-allodial-title-property

You are 100% responsible and accountable for your own actions or inaction.

Here's a pic from 1940:

Screen Shot 2018-01-17 at 6.53.40 PM.png

That's my aunt June (my fathers older sister) on the left and one of the North sisters on the right (cousins). Dad was a child back then.

Screen Shot 2018-01-17 at 6.56.15 PM.png

As the house appeared a couple of years back. The deed dates to March 7, 1863. My family name is Manwaring and the road is named after us because my ancestors have been farming this area for over 2 centuries.

Thanks for your suggestions!

Just know that I've not tested that process. So I have no idea if it works or not. Do your research. Wonderful pictures. I love them. Thank you for sharing.

The deed is just paper though, is it not? I know it can help in disputes, but I think the deal we have with governments in the west is about to change drastically. I could end up with title, even to a government or allodial title without government only to have nobody recognize the paper it is written on.

Technically, since my father had 6 brothers and one sister and all but one had several children, they are all heirs to this property as well. But nobody has contested the situation in our family. Many are now out of state. Settling it in the standard way of becoming a legally recognized serf is probably pointless.

The land is there, the deer aren't charged rent either. So it's simply a matter of existing and surviving. It really doesn't matter to me what the papers say except that one day they could see me kicked out if some arbitrary authority decrees it so. My father unfortunately said he "always wanted a place of his own". I said that "You're here what more do you want?", but he's caught up in state logic.

I agree with what you wrote. It is just a piece of paper and I too feel the relationships are going to change drastically as well. It is only a tool to help with current situations, but you are the best to judge what you need. Your thought process sounds reasonable to me.

I still have a job, but it's one I participate in with joy as I work at a successful family owned plant nursery and landscaping business. I also help a local artist sell art in exchange for using his car, and work on a small CSA farm in exchange for a small cottage to live in. I have student loan debt, so I still work, but I Am certainly moving more towards this model. It feel good to reorient priorities and create abundance and value in non-monetary ways. It's hard because the place I live could transform into a landscape that pushes out low income living and small farms, but I know for as many rich people as there are buying winter homes they use once a year, there are many farming communities creating alternative opportunities as well. The coming years will certainly play a pivotal role in the future of this planet and how we as a society choose to live. Because something's gotta change. Shift happens.

Bravo. Your 'job' is not a 'job' then, but rather you fulfilling your role as a steward and getting compensated directly for the work as well, which you can then use to set yourself up at the same time. Brilliant. I have many friends who work for the oil field and they feel guilty. I tell them that if they take the energy of the beast and use it to establish themselves off grid and setup themselves up as stewards of Mother Earth, then they are using the tail of the beast to beat up the beast. But if they use that energy to buy big houses, big trucks, lots of toys, etc, then they are a part of the beast and a part of the problem. Kudo's to you for doing your part. Sounds very exciting! I see the shift happening every day!

Great Job @wwf it is really hard work to achieve a sustainable life off the grid but its definitely worth it. Just being out in nature and learn all the different plants, flowers and animal is just amazing. Maybe you wanna checkt out @mynaturebody she writes about our life on the island.

Thank you. I did check out @mynaturebody's blog. Looks nice. Are you guys homesteading at all? If so, then contact @pennsif as he is keeping track of all the homesteaders and off gridders on steemit. He has a list of them all and you can get on the list. I hope it draws more people to your blogs.

Yes, nature has so much for us to learn as we explore natural law. Thank you for writing and sharing. I do appreciate it. Peace to you.

I truly look forward to the day where my family is off grid. This past summer we had appraisals for solar panels and a heat pump but we just cant afford it with a mortgage, car payments, two kids and other bills on one income. It's a hope we have though :)
Every year I am able to create more garden space to grow food, my goal is to grow enough to have all year as well as more to share! We went splits on meat birds with Lyndsay last year and hope to raise some on our own this coming year, even if it's just the extra cockerals that our egg birds hatch out. I have my heart set on goats for milk too :)
All little steps. It would be amazing if we can get to a place where my husband doesn't have to work at a job he loathes to be able to support us. Maybe in 10 years when we are 39 :)

It is great to have somebody that you can learn from and share. We have friends that did that as well. They are now raising their own chickens and turkeys! The more people are independent, the better! Once you get all your food taken care of, then the money you save could go towards the next tool or infrastructure. Slowly over time you can get it all in place and flip the switch! Bravo. I look forward to hearing more about your journey!

Gaining maximum profit from utilizing minimum resources is basically the best business and have to much carefully utilize the resources.nice post keep it up sr I really getting much information from your post.keep it up.

My dream is to live like you off the land off the grid, I'm tired of struggling to make ends meet I love your post it is very interesting and so informative you live the good life! I take my hat off to you!!

My dream is that people like yourself can live off the land and off the grid as well. It pains me to witness people struggle to make ends meet. I am grateful that you are working towards building a healthy and meaningful relationship with Mother Earth and Creator, having faith that your needs can be met directly instead of through fictional constructs. Bravo! <3

Thank you so much! I love in a disability apartment right now but my husband is going to come into 17 acres one day and our dream is to live like you and also I want to be away from civilization as much we can, for now I plant many vegetables and herbs every spring and that has to be enough for now, thank you for responding my dream will one day be a reality!! Have a beautiful night😊😊

Man this is inspirational. I feel a bit trapped almost by my situation, but I bet if I researched enough and learned enough I could do this. It seems like a pretty awesome way to live, and working corporate jobs wears on me sometimes.

It is a lot of work and requires a leap of faith my friend. It is not easy, but freedom never is. <3 My whole blog is about this process that my wife and I took. I'm working hard to share all that we have learned through the process.

I'm really hoping to find some time to dive into your blog, because all I see is stuff I want to learn about, definitely picking up gardening in spring! I'm currently working foremost on my spiritual freedom, and secondly on financial freedom, right now I don't think a move like this would be very possible with my circumstances, but I can start planning now

I've dumped the equivalent of three books onto this blog in the last 3 1/2 months. Enjoy!

You are preaching to the choir

I'm with you about disconnecting from the grid, but my wife is not ;-(
And I have no land either. I do grow salad in house with hydroponic, at least something.

Btw, or is that wheel barrow miniature or you have some monster sized products there! ;-)
Good job!

Beside disconnecting from 'grocery shop based vegetables', that are soaked with chemicals that extends shelf life is also so important for our health!

Sorry to hear that your wife has no enthusiasm or interest in off grid living. She may come around. I just pray that it does not take a disaster. Land is always an issue. I wrote a post a few weeks back with strategies for getting access to land. There are always ways around the land constraint.

The wheel barrow is a normal sized tool, so they were monster zucchinis. We did well last summer. Hope to repeat it again this year.

The industrial system does not produce food for people, but rather they offer industrial products. It is not worthy to even call 'food'. One of the challenges is to teach people the difference between real food and industrial products passed off as 'food'. Thank you for writing and sharing. Great to see you here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56949.15
ETH 2401.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33