Tumbleweeds & Crickets

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

TheDalles21.jpg


Time Keeps On Slippin'...

It's the strangest feeling, really; to be simultaneously aware of the swift passage of time while also having no idea where it went.

My last post was more than a week ago. In it, I explained a bit about why it had been a week since I'd posted anything. Seems I'm making a habit of that.

Somehow the days just keep passing. When I wake – as I review the dozen or so forever-running 'to-do' lists in my head – I consider the possibility of finding a few moments to draft a post. Each night, as I crawl into bed, I half-heartedly regret my failure to do so.

Before I know it, those days of silence stack against each-other, like bricks in a wall...or flapjacks on a plate – grown cold and unappealing.


TheDalles59.jpg


The Shiny New Thing

When I first joined this platform, I experienced an intoxicating creative revival – a triggering of inspiration that had long been laying dormant – a renewed sense of purpose and belonging.

I'd already broken my social media habit, having realized its exceptionally negative effect on my emotional well-being. I'd become hyper-aware of just how anxiety-inducing it was, just to log on to FB. (I know I've mentioned this before, but it bears repeating.)

What I'd noticed, more than anything, was how inadequate I felt – increasingly incapable of 'keeping up' with the endless flow of information – the ceaseless barrage of details about the daily goings on of thousands of lives. I felt lost beneath it all – starved for breath that didn't carry with it the obligation to say and do and share something interesting and worthwhile.

As dramatic as it sounds – it really did feel as though I was choking on obligation – shut up by the pressure to speak louder – immobilized by all the subtle and not-so-subtle demands...to keep growing my following, maintain my reputation and increase my influence.

I just couldn't do it anymore.

Rather than erasing myself entirely, I simply stopped engaging. It was surprisingly easy – like hopping out of a skipping rope without disrupting its rhythm. The hungry machine just kept on moving – no one even noticed I'd gone.


TheDalles41.jpg


Obligation Creeps In

I can't say precisely when it happened. I imagine it was a slow creep – a dulling of that alluring luster – an unconscious stumble, back into those well-worn ruts – as excitement gave way to ennui.

Somehow this place; my brilliant escape from the burdensome weight of expectation, became yet another stone in the sack – one more line on that endless to-do list – each day of silence adding a stitch in the quilt of regret that drapes so heavily across my shoulders.

I suppose it's indicative of my personality – a symptom of the deeply entrenched, impossible to live up to standards I've always held myself to. Somehow, the combination of my own internal pressures, coupled with all the external reminders of my failure to measure up, effects a kind of paralysis in me.

It's a conundrum; I sincerely care about and want to know what my friends are up to – I want to read posts and comment and recognize others for their significant efforts. And yet – it's the accumulation of all those notifications – the impressive consistency in other people's ability to post daily, if not several times per day – in contrast with my cold stack of pancakes...that I'm finding difficult to endure.

My blog could be a lively wellspring full of vibrant imagery and philosophical musings. Instead, it's become something of an arid desert – all tumbleweeds and crickets.


TheDalles76.jpg


And The Truth Shall Set Me Free?

Perhaps this rather verbose confession will ease things somewhat. Something about... acknowledging the elephant, in hopes it'll kindly excuse itself from its unwelcome perch on my exhausted chest.

I still believe in this place – my gratitude for this platform and the incredible people it's led me to is as strong as ever. I just have to find a more balanced way to maintain my connection, lest I reach that point of overwhelm that results in my disappearance – just as I did with FB and Insta and all the rest.

I care too much about the communities I'm part of here. I won't be vanishing any time soon. But I might not be as active as I could be...at least not while I'm in the process of restructuring my off-chain life.


TheDalles47.jpg


Spending Time With Myself

In general, I'm trying to limit my interaction with technology – to trade screen-time for me time. As it is, I have projects on my desk that require I spend many hours each day working on my laptop. In those few, precious moments away from my work, the last thing I want to do is...well...this.

I forgive myself for that. I'm learning how to take care of me first – to pick up my guitar and not feel guilty about playing for an hour or two, even if it means I neglect things on those glaring to-do lists.

Perhaps I'm not sharing as much as I have in the past, yet it feels important to allow my life to be uncharacteristically quiet and unobserved – at least for a little while longer.

Thank you for being such lovely people – for your patient forgiveness of my inconsistency – for not abandoning me and my tumbleweeds.

Smilingly,
xo • Zippy


TheDalles862.jpg


raindrop-promo-thin.jpg

DP-promo-stella.jpg

Sort:  

Quite unexpected — THANK YOU! 🙌🏼

It's kind of funny that I'm very much preoccupied with working on developing my first game right now and I feel a bit like I'm skipping out on STEEM for that when I don't have time to post. I guess it's just different perspective, ultimately it's time I'm spending creating something for the community, but I guess it kind of relates. Anyway, much love hippy lady.

Isn’t it interesting? I’m in a similar boat; so much of what occupies my time of late is Steem Monsters related. So...I’m working for the platform, but I’m less present/connected to it than I’d like to be. While I’m actually grateful to be as ‘busy’ as I am (I fare better, generally, when I’ve got a lot to focus on and deadlines to meet), I also know that finding balance is crucial. 🌿 Glad to have you in my corner, good sir Clay. 🤗💜

I think I understand where you're coming from, but with a slightly different perspective. For me... it was an addiction to the Outrage Industry. That clickbait blight on humanity that masquerades as New, or a public service announcement... That most horrid form of... brainwaste.

It serves to destroy engagement, by ensuring a neverending stream of articles and alerts and daily apocalyptic scaremongering... And one almost feels an obligation, of civic engagement, to "push back the darkness". And each and everyone involved serves only to reinforce the furor.. over Nothing.

Seriously, once I had that terrible realization.. that those sites don't disable their ads during a crisis alert, because those crisis alerts are their most profitable days... and therefore -every- day must be a crisis... It was very difficult to just let go... Just let go and move away from it.

Nowadays, I've unfollowed all but the most precious of friends, banned anything related to politics or scaremongering or really... Anything of "consequence." I only go by cultural or science pages.. a few support groups. And the rest I must ignore... for it is designed to strike at the very roots of behavioural tribalism.

The other thing is that I virtually never posted anything about myself, or my thoughts, because I simply didn't consider them worth posting. Why should anyone listen to me?

Now... well let's just say that I have a VERY STRONG motivation to post. I doubt anyone would believe me, but... still.. for the record, you know? <3

The most important lesson the gods have taught me... is that what you're doing... taking some time to Art/Live... That is exactly what must be done.

Art will save the World.

In those few, precious moments away from my work, the last thing I want to do is...well...this.

I can so relate to that. Still though, in the silence of your absence I missed you and said words of hope and we'll being in my head. I also understand the sense of time being not poured out of a bottle but more like a torrent waiting to be downloaded in a flash. If Amy advice I might have, see @jaynie and practice life with a sense of gratefulness. Live it. Live it well.

"Broken your social media habit" is a potent phrase. Not a lot of people realize that it's an addiction, and one that justifies and idolizes narcissism. When I deleted my Facebook account permanently, I had a small identity crisis (seriously) when my girlfriend-now-fiancé pointed out that I no longer existed anywhere on her account. I was gone.

Now, 7 months down the road I'm feeling much more calm and confident about my decision, as I watch Facebook specifically backpedal on many of the decisions they've made. Having time to get out and experience the world is worth so much more than having somewhere to post about it.

Good read.

Cheers!

~ Mako

I have been struggling with that whole balance thing since I joined here over a year ago lol
You have to take care of you first. Don't feel bad about that one bit.
Steemit, Discord, and your friends will all be here to give you hugs and cookies whenever you get a chance to swing by.
Hugs and Love ❤️

That was yet another wonderful read @zipporah, you have a way of making words dance to emotional tunes :-) And such delightful exercises in verbal wizardry are easily sufficient to keep us dazzled for a whole, maybe even two whole weeks, so you go right ahead and spend some quality me-time.

In fact I insist you do that. It's not your quantity that enchants us, it's your quality. Anything worthwhile takes time, effort, care and love; so set aside enough of those for yourself. We'll be here waiting with open arms until you return. <3 :-)

Hi @zipporah!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.909 which ranks you at #1125 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 1131).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #45.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

This seems like an excellent step to take. I actually never had the first stone. But I'm totally feeling the stones now, and even though I don't even post that frequently I still want to scale back my interactions more. For the moment I'm still okay but I know I will probably soon follow in restricting my technology. That sounds like some great disconnecting relaxation time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63