You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tumbleweeds & Crickets

in #ulog6 years ago

I think I understand where you're coming from, but with a slightly different perspective. For me... it was an addiction to the Outrage Industry. That clickbait blight on humanity that masquerades as New, or a public service announcement... That most horrid form of... brainwaste.

It serves to destroy engagement, by ensuring a neverending stream of articles and alerts and daily apocalyptic scaremongering... And one almost feels an obligation, of civic engagement, to "push back the darkness". And each and everyone involved serves only to reinforce the furor.. over Nothing.

Seriously, once I had that terrible realization.. that those sites don't disable their ads during a crisis alert, because those crisis alerts are their most profitable days... and therefore -every- day must be a crisis... It was very difficult to just let go... Just let go and move away from it.

Nowadays, I've unfollowed all but the most precious of friends, banned anything related to politics or scaremongering or really... Anything of "consequence." I only go by cultural or science pages.. a few support groups. And the rest I must ignore... for it is designed to strike at the very roots of behavioural tribalism.

The other thing is that I virtually never posted anything about myself, or my thoughts, because I simply didn't consider them worth posting. Why should anyone listen to me?

Now... well let's just say that I have a VERY STRONG motivation to post. I doubt anyone would believe me, but... still.. for the record, you know? <3

The most important lesson the gods have taught me... is that what you're doing... taking some time to Art/Live... That is exactly what must be done.

Art will save the World.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46