Spreading Joy One Selfie At A Time - Not As Strange As You ThinksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago

30740124401_c22b4c8104_k.jpg

People think of me as the photographer of the team, but the truth is that in many cases Ren has a better eye for what will make a great picture than I do. So many of my best photos happen because she sees something and points it out to me. I couldn't do what I do without her, at least not as well. That said, we do have very different styles as photographers. I love shooting with my Sony A6000. While she does have a professional camera, she rarely uses it. She prefers the camera on her phone.

Selfie0 copy1.jpg

But our photo styles differ by more than equipment. She has one project that she does that would never work for me. It's called Seflies With Strangers. It's pretty much what it sounds like. She will walk up to a complete stranger and ask to take a selfie with them. She always asks for the selfie right away, because, by the time she is done, the person will no longer be a stranger.

Selfie0 copy.jpg

She told me when she started this, that she wanted to make someone feel special for a few moments, to bring a smile to their face, and everyone smiles when you take their picture. Nearly everyone says yes when she asks, and then she will spend the next few moments, (or hours), asking about who they are, what they do, and what their interests are. In short, she learns what it is about this person that makes them special, and in the process reminds them that they are special. Often these people connect with us through our social media pages and become friends. As I said, she has to act quickly if she wants to get a selfie with a stranger.

30729407080_806e0dac03_k.jpg

More than once we've had someone tell us that they were having a rotten day, but that this encounter had turned it around and made things better, which was the whole point. I've gotten used to having our journey interrupted at unexpected moments while Ren pauses to bring a little joy into some strangers life. I accept it because I've learned that the person who enjoys it the most is Ren, and that makes me happy.

Safe Travels
Scott

@dreemsteem

Sort:  

Congratulations, you have been featured in this week's Finder Frog Focus [007#] : Micellany - Ulogs & Gaming [001#] "F3 as the cool kids say".

Keep creating! We're looking forward to your next post.
If you don't appreciate this comment, reply to your post and tag @BuddyUp so we can remove it. If you want to know more about the BuddyUp community on Discord you can read about us in Safe Link Post

Thank you so much for that. This is an honor and we really appreciate it.
Ren

Hi @xcountytravelers!

I am a curator for the You Got Snekked curation project and this is just to let you know that...:

You got SNEKKED! ;)
Expect a certain Snek to come 'round and give you a bite soon ;)

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our 31th curation compilation if you don't mind! If you don't want to be featured, please let us know!

Also, feel welcome to join our community on Discord! -:

https://discord.gg/VWJxTEz

Thank you.

We won't tell Ren, she's afraid of sneks.

Congratulations @xcountytravelers! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you for this!!! :) I'll be adding this into our WW post today introducing you!

and after I read the entries for this week - i'll be announcing the winner of the strongtower vote tomorrow! :)

Thank you so much for the introduction and all of your kind words.
Ren

Thank you so much for
The introduction and all
Of your kind words. Ren

                 - xcountytravelers


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

hahhahaha yay for haikubot @xcountytravelers!!!!! This bot loves @bengy!!! I honestly think that he talks in haiku JUST to get a visit from him! hehehehe

Shhh... I like my robot friends! @haikubot and @trufflepig are my favourite botty friends on Steem!

I am actually loving the @haikubot! It was so awesome to hear my words as a haiku; never thought I was so poetic.
Ren

@trufflepig is the prettiest robot in the world!!!!!!! i love him!!!!!!!!

Oh, now I'm needing to find this pig!

You are so welcome!! We're already having a blast with you two! we can't wait to see all the antics that you get yourselves into! hehehehe

Great, our reputation proceeds us.
Ren

that sounds like a series in the making .. the tagline we use on our newsletter for my legion branch is "You're only a stranger once" .. that is true of your selfies with strangers when you follow them up with chats.

Keep on spreadin' joy.

Most excellent !


Host of Here Comes The News on MSP Waves Radio.

Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Great pics, the Sony a6000 is a great camera and there are actually some selfie sticks that have the load capacity for the a6000 .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85