ULOG: 31 Catching up... Foraging herbs, New Phone, Hay & Wildlife

in #ulog6 years ago

It's been a couple of days since I've ulogged, so I have some catching up to do...

Foraging herbs July 29, 2018

I read this post by @derekfreeman 5 months ago. I never realized these yellow coneflowers were a powerful echinacea herb. We have it growing roadside in quite a few places. I've been watching and waiting. Finally decided it was time to harvest some.

IMG_20180729_131507278.jpgIMG_20180729_131501667.jpg

I still have a bit of cleaning to do on the roots, but it is hanging and drying as we speak.

BTW, there's a new curation group for @naturalmedicine.
You should check them out if you're at all interested in that type stuff...

New phone July 31, 2018

My new phone showed up today.

IMG_20180731_182812667_HDR.jpgIMG_20180731_183614129.jpg

It's a Motorola Z3 Play. I bought it through Amazon, so it has all their apps + Alexa. I traded the wife a speaker with Alexa built in for her JBL speaker. These phones use what they call Moto Mods. They magnetically connect to the back of the phone. I also ordered the Hasselblad camera with 10x mechanical zoom, but it isn't here yet. (obvioiusly or the wildlife pictures would be better haha).

Here's what the mod connectors look like...
IMG_20180731_184026508.jpg

It is a pretty cool idea. We would also like to get the gamepad and Polaroid picture printer mods.

Today, I got to use it for the first time. Here's some random first day notes about it...

  • It's a bit bigger than my old Droid Turbo 2 phone.
  • It's a bit heavy with the speaker connected.
    • I don't think it would work too well with regular pants. I wear cargo pants, so there is plenty of room...
  • The camera has a digital 8x zoom, compared to 4x on my old phone.
  • The water plant where I work is pretty noisy. I've never been able to hear the computer or my phone.
    • I can hear this with the JBL speaker! That's great! I listened to the Classic Rock station from Amazon music all day. I did watch a couple of YouTube's also. That was really nice!
  • I installed @Actifit tonight, so be on the lookout for my posts from that...
  • I really like the new USB connector. It's oval shaped, so there is no upside down like with the micro-USB cords.
  • The power button is on the left. That will take some getting used to.
  • The fingerprint unlock does not work when wearing latex gloves, or if you've been working in the garden and your hands are dirty...
  • My chess game seems to be about the same. I'm averaging about 1050 rating right now. Swinging from 1000 to 1100.

Conclusion I'm very happy with it!

Hay August 1, 2018

We have a drought going, so they opened up the CRP for haying. It looks like the neighbor got about 50 big bales.
IMG_20180801_171403976.jpg

Wildlife August 1, 2018

I just read where California is starting to like the idea of reusing water. That means making drinking water out of wastewater. And before you go YUK!, remember the water you are drinking has probably passed through the body of an animal at some point in our billions of years...

Anyway, this little feller was getting him a drink from my wastewater lagoon.
IMG_20180801_140247347.jpg
At least it was from the 3rd cell. That means it's been in the lagoon probably 6 months or a year and is the cleanest wastewater I have. It is ready to be discharged to the creek.

Trixie our lil mutt was raised by cats.
Her and our old tomcat are pretty good buddies.
Here they are on an excursion south of the garden.
They reminded me of one of those movies where the animals go on an adventure...
IMG_20180801_200530170.jpg

I bet they have to do a lot of editing, because sometimes animals do funny things like...
IMG_20180801_200544965.jpg

I hope your days have been wonderful, too

look.gif

Check out the easiest 14.3 Steem I ever made!


My post about it...

look.gif

Dustsweeper Footer 2 use this one.png
Meaning you can't
waste your vote

look.gif

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
veteran-60.jpg


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Nice! New phones are the best. I say that because I usually only get one after destroying my old one! And when you are addicted to your phone....it’s amazing to get a working one back.

I was OK with my old phone, but Motorola engineers may not be that smart... Creating a phone with a non-replaceable battery... Or they may ber very smart when you look at it from a business standpoint. If their goal was to make sure everyone buys a new phone every so often, it worked! haha

congrats on your new phone. Looking forward to your Actifit reports :)

Thanks man!

  • Actifit is a cool initiative.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-02T04:34:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 215.20/200.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64