Cone Flower - Echinacea

in #homesteading7 years ago

0606161814 (2).jpg

Echinacea Is a powerful flower that I use for immune boosting and cold or flu onset. I make teas, usually mixing the echinacea with other herbs and honey, since, while not disgusting, the taste is a little bitter. It is a member of the daisy family, which we all know holds a lot of weight in the medicinal plant genre. Like most powerhouses in the medicinal plant arena there is very little information that can be substantiated through sources. While there is some information out there, there are no echinacea lobbyists. So on the .gov site NCCIH, all they really tell you are warnings and no real information. While things like blueberries (which have a substantial lobby with the USDA),

"...in 1996, the USDA was given the sole authority to start a checkoff program for any commodity it wants — so we now have checkoff programs for mushrooms, watermelon, blueberries, and sorghum, among several others."

seem to get the spotlight in the medicinal arena, other medicinal plants get the side kick since the medical industrial complex uses extracts from these plants to sell you modified pills to subdue symptoms of disease. The medicinal value of many herbs is being suppressed so that you are convinced to buy prescriptions that are specifically made to generate income through dependency. The current system states that use of "traditional" medicine from plants is used by under-developed countries and cultures. They have instituted an approach to finding the actual properties of the plants and isolate the specific part then mass produce it mostly synthetically. It is a hard read but give a glance through this article put out by the US National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health .

"Medicinal plants have, however, not been “designed” to cure human diseases or alleviating their symptoms and undesired antagonistic effects are equally realistic. Re-engineer botanical drugs by designing extracts driven by therapy success could be a way forward toward “more intelligent mixtures”

0606161813 (2).jpg

Anyway, back on topic. Echinacea is a top notch medicinal plant! I use it to boost immunity. I also use it if im just feeling crappy and nothing else is working. There is not much in the way of scientific study for this plant, but throughout the ages it has been used notably for:

acid indigestion
attention deficit-hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
chronic fatigue syndrome
colds
diphtheria
dizziness
flu    
genital herpes
gum disease
immune boosting
malaria
migraine
pain
rattlesnake bite
rheumatism
septicemia - bloodstream infection
streptococcus infection
syphilis
tonsillitis
typhoid
urinary tract infection
vaginal yeast infection

I do not use it as a regular part of my day, though in the fall I use it as a tea preparing for the new flu season. I figure that if I can preemptively boost my system and add as much nutritional value as I can, I will be less likely to get the flu, and if I do, it will pass quick.

Echinacea is a powerhouse. In fact there are many warnings, if you buy it from a store, not to take if you have auto-immune diseases. This is due to the fact that auto-immune disease is a situation where the body's immune system is in overdrive. It is so active that it starts to attack itself. So, if I had an auto-immune disease, I would not take it since it would more than likely exacerbate the issue.

IMG_20170701_184254 (2).jpg

We, here in the Ozarks, have a special species of the cone flower family. It is called the Yellow Cone Flower. I find that the YCF is far more potent than the purple. The taste is far more bitter and the effects can actually be felt. I harvest in the early summer before it quits flowering. The only place I have found it, will remain a secret, is on a lonely dirt road in the middle of nowhere! I always harvest according to the 1/3 rule, and for the past two years since I have found it, it has increased in volume!

0608161404 (2).jpg

0906161211 (2).jpg

I have tried to dig out a root system and re-plant. Bad idea. Use seed.

I always do a substantial amount of research before I consume anything.

Well please up-vote and follow if you like my content. I will continue to post similar articles on plants, homegrown foods, gardening and homesteading ideas. Again thanks for dropping in. Remember that this is not medical advice nor do I prescribe anything to anyone. This post is for educational purposes only. Your body is your temple, treat it well. Have a great garden!

#medicinalplants


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

Nice post we have had good luck dividing cone flowers in the spring on our farm. Seeds are a great way to start and spread coneflower on your homestead too. We also found the seeds do not store well for us.

I think the seeds are a minimum of one year store, this is what I have heard from the old timers. So after collection what ever seed I have left over in FEB gets tossed around the homestead. I had zero luck with pulling them out of the ground here, probably because the rock and clay it grows in here.

Thanks for sharing this info @derekfreeman

  • I would like to start growing and harvesting these.
    • Is that pic of the seed head what you harvest to make the tea with?
      • What about the stem and leaves? no?
      • Is there a best time to harvest? While growing or wait until it dries out maybe after it frosts in the fall/winter...?
  • I've seen those YCFs in the wild, maybe in our CRP.
    • Didn't realize what I was looking at.
      • Thanks for that tip!

Thanks in advance for your help!

First, where are you located?

There are many ways to get seed. I prefer the wild variety, it tends to have a more hardy propagation system. The flower also tends to produce more beneficial components. I would say, first they need to be stratified before you attempt to grow.

Harvesting, I have found to be best at the peak of the flowering period which is in mid-summer. I use all parts of the plant including the root. I make tea with it. I have not yet done a tincture or oil.

Remember that the YCF is not the Black-Eyed-Susan. It is a cone flower. The Black-Eyed-Susan is a relative, but not on the level of the YCF. When I am unsure of the variety of a specific plant, I first verify, through at minimum four sources, at least one in person. Though the Black-Eyed-Susan is not a toxic plant, I would consider it a waste of time if I were looking for echinacea.

I take the plant while in full bloom, hang dry it and when it is done, crush it and add to my supply. I store my dried herbs in Mason jars. Hope that helped you!

tremendous help! Thank you @derekfreeman
ThumbsUp.jpeg
Emoji Source

  • I'm in north central Missouri almost into Iowa (15 miles).
    • I hadn't even thought of the root with this.
      Other herbs yes, not echinacea...
      :shrug: not sure why I always assumed it was mainly the flower part...
      • We have black-eyed susans too. But, I'm 99% sure I know the YCF you mention. Grows ohhhhh 3-4 foot tall around here maybe a bit more...
        I will check with the local extension office for verification...
  • So with ready access to the YCF, you wouldn't bother with the pretty coneflowers I plan on putting in my garden?

Found this link on MO Dept. of Conservation

SMH haha their quote...

Missouri coneflowers are threatened by harvest for the medicinal herb market. Although coneflowers are easily cultivated, illegal and unethical root digging continues despite decades of studies failing to prove that echinacea supplements are medicinally effective.

I would disagree with their statement.

  • It has in fact been proven by centuries of normal folk using it...
    • Why would they continue to use it if it didn't work?

HA! Awesome that you are fairly close, I am in North central AR, just south of Branson. For medicinal use, I stick to the YCF. Though they are all great! Remember that when something works, they hide or dismiss the real information. Like I said there is no lobby for the Cone Flower, or Yarrow or Mullein. Which all grow all over the place here wild. Each of these plants has awesome super powers!

Great to find new friends here!

I work on 65 hwy so must be almost due north of you.

  • We try to make Branson once a year...
    • Caught my first Taneycomo trout last October. (barely a keeper)
      • My wife's and my immune system thank you for all the info!

65 in Harrison that's where i get my feed.

Would you know if the YCF is echinacea augustifolia? If so, I did try to grow it here, but it never took. I've had better luck with the purpurea.

paradoxa, it is native to the ozarks and crappy soil lol. I can send you a few seeds if you want to try, i need to go dust the roadside with them here soon.

I'd love to try them here! Are there any seeds from New England you'd like to try? We could swap.

what kind of herbs do you grow?

Plants to grow crop 2018.jpg

This is a list of the things I will be growing this year. It is NOT a list of all I have in the gardens. I've not made that list. I guess I should....

You know I replied to myself, lol but its here.

I will send you the tea as well, Ill mix in the flower heads. Ill give you enough to plant and make tea.

nasturtium, do you have this. @powellx5 made a post about it. I would do that! if not it says you have the paprika! that would be awesome too. if your not wanting to share addresses here that's fine with me I'll email you mine. I'm at [email protected]

Yes, I have Hungarian paprika direct from Hungary. It is not the sweet, but the strong savory type.

.Hungarian paprika crop July 2017.jpg

The nasturtiums are just different varieties you can get from a seed company, nothing special

Either one, you decide. Awesome though!

I've harvested some from roadside and have it hanging, drying.

  • Not a lot of info available through google on this. Can you clarify one question? Do you keep the root separate? Some sites talked about using it a bit different. Also what about the stem? You've already said you use the whole plant, but please clarify if you mix everything together.

Thanks in advance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62068.40
ETH 2417.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56