Forget the Filters and Face Enhancing Just Love Yourself - Ulog#2

in #ulog6 years ago

image.png
Source: Pexels

Since their dawn, traditional social media platforms have always been fueling narcissism. My feeds are filled with selfies and beautiful pics of women showing off their stuff. What strikes me later is that as time passes by these self-projected images get more and fake.

What started off with makeup and enhancing features has now escalated into directly changing how these women actually look ( i say, women, because of most of these culprits are women, but some men are just as guilty)

This I Not A Hate Post, In fact, It's the Exact Opposite

Now don't get me wrong, this is not a post about giving these woman crap about loving themselves too much. It's precisely the opposite, I'm encouraging women to love your natural selves!

Why do you need to make your face seem half the size on pictures to feel beautiful?

Why does your nose need to be smaller? Your Skin smoother or skin colour richer?

Why Are Smart Successful Woman Still Being Victimised By The Media?

Why, Why, WHY, I ask ?? NO, I SCREAM!!! Why does a beautiful, successful kind woman need to subscribe to a particular look to feel more accepted? Why do you feel the need to share only these types of images on social media so you can get more likes from fake people who deep down inside actually don't like you??

I've been in conversations with said smart woman and hear them complaining about features that they hate about themselves. Even worse I have a friend who is a photographer and these are the types of requests he gets on a daily from women (note these are actual requests):

"Can you make my nose smaller and my chin slimmer?"

"Make my eyes bigger and brighter and remove my freckles."

"Change my nose, eye colour, face shape and skin colouring??"

Seriously?? Who are you trying to impress and why?? This explains why some women look entirely different in person than they do on their WhatsApp profile pics!

But It's So Much Easier These Days to Change Your Look

As scary as it is, most women don't need photographers or badass photoshop skills to get the effects as mentioned earlier! Any smartphone camera comes with a beauty-setting these days where you can alter the way your face looks, features include:

  • Face Slimming
  • Skin Contouring
  • Whiten Skin
  • Brighten Eyes
  • Enlarge Eyes
  • Fuller Lips
  • Smaller Nose

Really now ladies?? Is this the effects you are after?

image.png
Source: Pexels

Give Yourself A Break and Love our Flaws

Be old school and slap on a little bit of makeup to feel good, don't paint a portrait on your face. If you want a thinner face, chances are you probably want a healthier looking body - use that selfie and image enhancing time to do some cardio, it will pay off naturally in the long term!

You Really don't need to look like a fake-ass empty person! Learn to love your self, wrinkles and freckles and all! Who cares if you get fewer likes on Instagram from people you don't actually know?

Focus your time on building more meaningful relationships with real people, and increasing your self-worth!! Stop breaking yourself down and develop a better self-image of yourself. Learn to love YOU!

YOU ARE PERFECT!!!

Much Love From Sunny Cape Town, @mimismartypants

Sort:  

Wao! Am glad you nailed it right. A lot of people do things that they feel will make them more accepted which shouldn't be. A lot of people feel imitating or faking or pretending is the key, no wonder they lose sight of who they are easily.

It never ends well.

Thanks @mimismartypants for sharing with us. Well done!

Glad you enjoyed it!! All we gotta do os be ourselves!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly! Couldn't agree more!!

I think it is so much about the love that you feel on yourself. If a person is capable of loving herself/himself, every minute in acceptance, then a there is no need for change. No need for adjustment to "the latest trends in ... face design ..."

For what reason does a person pretend to represent something "better" (in their view) ?

Maybe ... missing the acceptance ... that, what I am is, what I am and that it is the deepest, most loving expression of what I am ... calling myself.

Thank you so much for sharing!!!

Honestly its both sad and unnerving. It's like a vicious cycle - the one' at the top model this behaviour and the ones who envy them are imitating them.

I also feel it boils down to this generation not thinking, not questioning. Just accepting. Ask why is this making me feel this way. How can I change the way i feel and think about myself! Are these feelings placed on anything real or concrete? And most importantly, do these people actually make a difference in my life!!

Yes, this is an important question.

Quote: "Are these feelings placed on anything real or concrete?"

For me this leads to the question whom do I trust more. The world out there, the quality of the people around me ... or do I trust my own judgement/opinion

Agree 100% ... "how can I change the way I feel about myself?
Thus ... love and acceptance and

do I really trust the people around me more than me ... thus value their opinion more than my own ... without even knowing their motivation on telling me this and that ... or if they are maybe so ego driven ...

Maybe some never had the chance to learn about motivation ... ego ... and more that can influence the opinion of others ...

puhhh ... difficult in English ...

an excellent point, not everyone practices self-reflection.

Very good English if English is not your first language. Where are you from and what's your first language?

I'm from Germany and learned English in school.
Consider me more a child of earth ... I don't like separation .... more in love with unity :)

I gathered the German Heritage yes from your story last night! But your English is Excellent! You would never tell its not your home language, you write like a natural!

I don't like separation .... more in love with unity :)

Just like your great Aunt hey :) Have a great Day child of the earth!!

Thank you <3
Yes, like my great aunt :)

There is a poem, more a little story, by Muzahidul Reza that I like very much.

Quote:

"Two friends talked over a term
While travelling by a tram
One: What a life in me!
Full with happiness, luxury, satisfaction
Other: Are you happy?
One: No
Other: What a life in me!
Full with miseries, demand, deprivation
One: Are you sad?
Other: No
The talking ended at the desired stoppage
No one was victorious
Both were in confusion
They left the stoppage separately and lonely."

End quote

Have a great day also @mimismartypants !

Beautiful poem!! I hope i didn't confuse you lol! Have a good day as well!! You have a great day as well!! Almost bedtime for me!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great insight into how we each perpetuate the social 'norms', as aberrant as they actually are!

Thanks to @viking-ventures, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thanks so much for your support! I really appreciate this!! Glad you enjoyed the read!! Here's to making our own norms!!

Awesome article! Such an important message! I didn't know that smartphones were that clever now - but it doesn't do anyone any good at all. :-(
This is beyond narcissism now, but a way to fuel insecurities in everyone.

Im gald you liked it!!

I actually discovered it recently on my huawei as well!! I was trying to take off this setting that automatically makes you look whiter, its been a default setting since i got it!! And then i was like what is this, slimming, eye enhancing thing!! The media is encouraging this bazaar behavior!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Makes you look whiter?! That's amazing! (in the bad way...)
Why aren't people allowed their natural beautiful color? Imagine how dull it would be if everyone was the same color?

Right?? Lol!! I dont want to be a pale face i like my natural mocha colour!!

I also think it stems from aisian culture, since huawei is ab asian brand. Woman are always looking to lighten their skin and spend millions on skin whitening creams there.

Hi @mimismartypants! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @eveningart!

Check out @eveningart blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Woohooo thanks @tipu and @eveningart!! Much appreciated!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow!!!! I can't believe I get to be the first comment on this post! :)

But this was EXCELLENT. I don't have a problem with people who wear makeup - or people who don't wear makeup - or anything in between.

Most people have terrible insecurities. We live in a world where we're constantly compared to a standard that is portrayed all around us. I think the first step (in my opinion) is stop ascribing to those standards. I rarely buy magazines, we haven't had cable pumped into our homes for... 6 years now?, I VERY rarely go to the mall... etc. Once you stop getting forcefed these standards... you're able to start slowly shifting your mindset into what IS natural around you. (slowly... slowly... LOL like i said - it's been 6 years. but i'm 42. Old habits die young) hehehehe

But the more women (like you) stand up for being natural, being comfortable, being secure.... the more other women can see it - be drawn to it - try it - and hopefully love it! :)

One of the things that I think we must be careful of.... making a line that's "right". What's comfortable for you might not be comfortable for everyone.

About 5 years ago, I developed a horrible rash on my face. It became so unbelievably painful and awful - I hated to show my natural face to anyone. It took almost a year to go away (such a humbling experience). After that - it took about another year for me to get comfortable not wearing makeup again. but I braved the outdoors... LOl without makeup - so that my face could clear naturally from scars and discoloration... and all that! it was a process. a difficult one. but i finally did it! I can walk outside without makeup now (though I do prefer a little bit! hehehe)

now... my sister. she's never been able to do that. she would love to not have to wear makeup - but she's not comfortable with the way she looks without it. When she is made up - she has a lot of makeup on! But she looks stunning! Like a model. She has confidence!

without it - she doesn't. I wish she did - but she doesn't.

BUT.... i love her where she is. I don't judge her for feeling the need to wear it. I just live in my comfort zone in front of her. Letting her know that it is an option.

She once told me - I wish I could do that - what you did.

I told her - it was difficult, at times - really embarrassing. But it was worth it.

and all we can do is be patient and loving and gracious with one another in the meantime :)

I really loved this post @mimismartypants! Thanks for opening up such a great discussion!!!! <3 I'm going to drop this in our WW room (you should be posting your posts in there so everyone can enjoy them ! Put them in the graduate room) :) (oh my gosh i just realized how long this comment is hahahaha)

100% @dreemsteem! Thats exactly my message just be the best comfortable version of yourself, makeup or not! Just dont cut off your nose and your cheecks coz you dont lile the way they look!!

Same with my sisters. Some of them cant leave home without a full face of makeup, some dont wear a stitch of it and some are just inbetween! As long as we are all comfortably abd dont put each other down is whats important!

As women we should celebrate our differences not all try and look the same!

yes yes and yes ;)
and we should definitely not look like those dolls up there. (unless we were born that way hehehehehe)

Lol if we born that way?? Mmm imagine giving birth to that (like just it is)!!! I will get some adoption papers ready just in case!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Very well said gurl!! You had nailed it to the core..

I believe that beauty is skin-deep. Physical attributes does not last long while the goodness of your heart is what truly matters. But, they say some people are not contented of what they have or posses. They tend to seek more of what they dont have. Thus, insecurities and self doubt comes in.

As for using makeups, it depends i think. For me, before when I aint working yet I have always aligned to the belief of natural beauty -- no make up at all! Like I woke up like this kind of stuff.. haha.. but, when i started working I kinda turned to them. I only use eyebrow and eye liner and powder. Thats how simple is my makeup! Lol... You see, I am not blessed with body hair. I have little on my eyebrows, arms, legs and even in my armpit! They are in limited edition!! Hahaha.. So back to eyebrows, I have to draw one. If not id be walking with no eyebrows at all.

Bottom line, we should really learn to love ourselves. Accept what we have and what we dont have.

With this, i leave you this song..

Cause all of me
Loves all of you
Love your curves and all your edges
All your perfect imperfections
Give your all to me
I’ll give my all to you
You’re my end and my beginning
Even when I lose I’m winning
'Cause I give you all, all of me
And you give me all, all of you

🎵🎶🎵🎶🎵🎶🎵

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Totes lady!! We all have to practice self live and stop conforming to crazy standards!!

I also looove that song!
images (4).jpeg

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes! Definitely no labels or standards. We all have to outlive our insecurities and power up our confidence.. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Agree 100%. You must love yourself. If you don’t, you MUST learn how to do it. You can start by accepting all your physical imperfections, like wrinkles in your example. Great post 😊

Wrinkles, frekkles, butt dimples the works!! We are all beautiful!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Love the thought here, just being yourself and not trying to confirm to a look! My wife rarely uses make up and I think she looks absolutely stunning!

My oldest daughter is in the age of experimenting with some crazy looking make up (she is 7),i in she looks good without it, so I'm going she grows out of it and realises that she doesn't need it for others to perceive her well.

Lol 7 year olds would experiment with crazy make up. All we can do is encourage them to be comfortable with who they are. Im not totally against makeup though but it always looks nicer when you keep it natural!!

Posted using Partiko Android

absolutely loved this post.... hope you enjoy the boost from this Dreemie! :)

Wow lady!! What in the world did you do? All tjis from dropping the post on discord? And here i thought this post was just getting lost in the blockchain!

Thanks so much!

aghhhhhhh i sent you a DM LOL... the boost should have been more - and i'll try again tomorrow morning ;)

but in the meantime.... hopefully it gets some more eyes on it! this is a really worthy post

i'm on the other side of the world so its bedtime for me (an hour ago! hahahaha but i'm really going this time)

love to you lady!

Night night!! Sleep sweet!! xxx

Will check when i get to my laptop. I try not yo discord on my phone because balance!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62585.78
ETH 3013.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49