I can recall... SYMBOLS of TRIUMPH and CHANGE - #Ulog entry No. 23

in #ulog6 years ago

SYMBOLS.jpg

I battle every day with my subconscious, my mind and my heart. I want so MUCH for all of them to agree with one another, but the reality is that they seldom do. It is like a constant battle of “state”.

I can recall many fragments which made one whole. - jaynie

I can recall as a young girl, how much I loved ballet – but eventually, the pressure that was being put on me because I was good – put me off and so, I started to bunk lessons. At the age of 8 or 9 I would muck about after school and then conveniently walk myself to my ballet hall to be collected “after ballet” by my dad – who was essentially ALWAYS late and I was pretty much always the only kid left floating around the parking lot… I suppose as I look back at it now, it was fair substitution for me wasting his money on lessons I was no longer attending lol…. Anyhow, my point being that something that was once a passion of mine became a chore and so I started to disregard it. I hated being shouted at rather than encouraged. When I started that, I truly loved it and I didn’t have a single doubt that I wasn’t good! Had I simply been encouraged instead of having DEMANDS and pressure thrown in my direction then perhaps I would STILL be doing ballet to this day… heaven knows, I still prance around my house like a ballerina every single day!!!!!

I can recall attending church with my gran (my fathers mother) and honestly, I always preferred attending the “adult” services. I HATED Sunday School! The kids were obnoxious, mean and always made me feel unworthy – whereas the adult services somehow seemed like they had a point of some kind in my mind. I never read my bible as a kid (oops) and I was repeatedly ridiculed for not knowing the answers to questions in Sunday school… and you know, all I could think at the time was “this isn’t school, I don’t have to know this sh!t” hahahaha. My point? Those seemingly inconsequential voices of other children who said things to me like “well you should read your bible more often” are the SOLE reason I will no longer even WALK into a church. Even at THAT age, the unentitled judgement passed sowed its long term seed… and so, bar a few instances (which have resulted much the same) I have never again attended a church unless it was purely a praise and worship session which is nothing more than singing. I wonder how things may have differed if I had not been belittled to such an extent…

I can recall wanting to be a musician, or singer…. Or both! I started piano lessons as a kid and I loved it. I was never very good at reading music… yes, I could do it – but it was boring to me and so my knowledge for it never really amounted to anything much. However, I had several friends who were in higher grades to me who played piano and I could listen to what they played and then play it. I didn’t need any sheets of paper filled with notes… I only needed my ears and I could play whatever they could – but believe it or not, this too – got me into trouble! I was scolded for that gift. Punished and made to do more “written” musical homework. WTF?!!!!! My dad bought a piano for me but oddly in my mind as a young girl, he placed it not in our home but rather at his new girlfriends home around the corner. Every afternoon I would have to walk around the block to go and practice my piano tunes on my piano, in someone elses house. Needless to say, that relationship did not last forever and “said” piano eventually was mine again – in my own space and it moved with me everywhere from there. I would sit for HOURS after college playing on it and making up tunes – it was my greatest love and passion… and the healthiest escape I have ever had.
Sadly I had to say goodbye to my piano when I eventually bought my first property at the age of 21. My dad insisted that I sell it to pay the transfer fees which back then were around the 7-8k mark if I am not mistaken. Yes, I was ecstatic to own my own place at that age, but I have been sadder for a lot longer to have lost a passion at my disposal that “chances are” – I may never have again. Goodness, it has been so long since I REALLY sat in front of a piano that I honestly cannot remember ANYTHING I used to play… and no, chop sticks doesn’t count.

I am rambling…

There are so many internal conflicts I deal with. Some laughable and some – not so much! But when and how do I heal? Yes, I am a far cry from where I was when I was passing out in the gutters of Muizenberg and begging for money at Cape Town station so we could buy more drugs – but I am hurt and I know this – so I am using the only weapon I have and know is constructive for me moving forward and that… is my keyboard – and your ears and eyes.

I often sit and contemplate “all this stuff” that is “my life” and for the most part I think I have succeeded in getting through the worst of it and I take great heed of all the tough times, because they play a pivotal role in who I am today! And whilst I will say that “this person” which I have become is GOOD – she is definitely broken. It is the acceptance of those broken yet still beautiful wings that counts though.

I wrote a post a long time back called DRUNK TEXTING which was an illustration of what I have had to deal with since my husband of 8 years walked out on me. The other night, again - I got a text from my ex asking if we “could be lovers”. This is the same man that wanted absolutely NOTHING to do with me 8 years ago - The same man that walked out on our marriage and stated categorically that he is “happy without me”. The same man that now has his third wife and fourth child. Honestly, I never responded to that text and did notice that after not getting any response from me, the “request” was then reverted to an emoti flower…. But as my kneejerk dominates, I screenshot that long before he changed it. Why? I don’t know…. Maybe so that I can go back and convince the person he BROKE into a thousand pieces that she wasn’t all that bad…

Do YOU ever think about all the things you did to me? DO YOU? Do you remember the day you punched me in the face and then pretended that you were grabbing dog food and that it was all an accident? Do you remember giving me two black eyes and then DEMANDING that I come out of the bedroom to greet your fncking parents who sat there and did/said nothing? Do you remember the day you punched me and cracked my ribs and then walked out? I still called YOU after that, to take me to a hospital and you told me to “get fncked” so I drove myself to get Xrays. Do you remember when you stuck a fork in my side at your sisters house and told me to shut up and sit down or Ill pay for it. Do you remember when you lied to customers and complete strangers and told them that I abused our new born child? Do you remember any of this?

I can recall being passionate about marriage – but now, not so much… is that understandable?

I look back on all this and “these” passions that once held a flame so high… yet somehow seem to be nothing but burnt embers these days… and I cannot help but pose the question why more people aren’t patient, compassionate and embracing of one another and their roads travelled. I know I am – or at least I do TRY to be. I may not get it right every time or all the time, but I am acutely aware of these things.

All ANY of us wants in this life is to love and be loved. To be appreciated and embraced for the individuals that we are – because we ARE all individuals and we ARE all BEAUTIFUL and deserving of love!

Ok, ok…. ramble done!

……

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE @STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers

Interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?


Oh, and if you wanna meet the
wannabe photographer in me...

Sort:  

@jaynie WOW. You have been through a lot. What's more, you were able to write that. It takes a really strong person to be able to do that. Hats off to you. It seems that many of us creative types go through a lot of hard times in life ...like it's a requirement or something. I am nowhere near ready to write about my life, and I am getting older - maybe I will never be ready. This past year I have been watching documentaries about many of the musicians I love, Jaco Pastorius, Amy Winehouse, Jimi Hendrix (even Janice Joplin -not a huge fan though). They all had these struggles, things that happened "to" them, out of their control before they hurt themselves ...out of being in pain. Again, hats off to you, I may NEVER be strong enough to do that. Steem on!! :-)

It seems that many of us creative types go through a lot of hard times in life ...like it's a requirement or something.

SOOOOOOOO true @melbookermusic!

And thank you for your kind words. Sometimes I throw caution to the wind and just express myself. But I wont lie.... as I woke this morning and recalled what I had written I absolutely cringed!!! and wanted to make it all go away!!! I felt humiliated, exposed and just plain stupid for speaking my mind... but then I told my mind to shut up and just let it be!!!!!

I was honestly SCARED to even come and look at the comments here. Thankfully when I did there was nothing that made me feel like total sh!t lol (what a relief!!! haha)

As for your expression - each in our own time and even if that time NEVER comes in terms of writing about it - there will ALWAYS be other forms of release and healing which will present themselves.

Thank you again xxx

Oh my, I think you deserve better than a man that come and go just like weather without any loyalty. That’s pretty scary for any woman out there, especially with kids. I admire how strong you are @jaynie!

Thank you @kimzwarch - I really do appreciate that.

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @jaynie! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Muy buena la pequeña reseña que haces de tu juventud @jaynie

Muchas gracias querido

your interest in ballet, music, and buying a property at 21???? wow... i didn't do any of those.

I am sure you have (or will do) plenty of others love xx

Jaynie...never, ever doubt that you ARE loved...by all your bloggies (us) and many others, but also especially by your God. He is just as disappointed at the actions of those kids in Sunday School and the way they treated you as you are. He doesn't force Himself on anybody, but PLEASE do not confuse organized religion and the failings of people with God, and never doubt his love for you.

You are a talented and beautiful person, Jaynie. I have ZERO doubt that if you just let God into your life a bit more, that you'll feel better about everything.

Praying for you today, sister. Things WILL improve!

Thank you so much for that @mepatriot and yes, God IS in my life - but I don't need a church in order to feel his presence. That is one thing I have learnt again and again. I am truly blessed - and often - and I know where that comes from!

Again, thank you!!! Much love xxxxxxx

All of those experiences have done anything but break you! They have helped form that kind, passionate, lovable, intelligent woman that you are!

@jaynie....I just want to quietly give you a big hug and say thank you, thank you more than you could ever know. I appreciate & admire your courage to let it out and express yourself and by doing so not only showing the way but also giving that silent permission as you always seem to do for others like myself. I am not ready to allow my pain out as it still feels so very raw but I hope one day to be able to say F*&%K it and let it rip <333 :) I mean it with every bit of my being when I say Thank you for Being YOU!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63122.79
ETH 3119.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86