DRUNK TEXTING....

in #life6 years ago

Some of you that follow my blog will know that I had a rather unfortunate and ugly ending to my marriage about eight years ago. It was a very emotionally stressful and disruptive time in my life, and it took me a very long time to get over it and move on. In fact, to be frank – I don’t think it is actually something that you ever COMPLETELY recover from…

For those unaware, in short – I was in a physically, emotionally and verbally abusive marriage for eight years (yes, the same length I have been divorced). About midway through my pregnancy I began to work from home as it was just easier. My husband at the time began an affair with one of our regular customers and then when Jude was two months old, he walked out on us, asked for a divorce and moved in with his new lady.

That is pretty much the long and short of it.

Now, those of you that already knew this about me will also know that I am a HUGE advocate for the practice of forgiveness. It was not even six months after our divorce that my ex-husband was approaching me to talk about all the issues he was having with new lady. Did this hurt? Ofcourse it did! – But I am bigger than that. So I helped him.

Months turned into years and he has NEVER ceased verbalising his regret for the choices he made and attempting to “butter me up”. In fact, at one point, I almost considered letting him back into my life… but thankfully I wised up before making what would have been a VERY stupid decision.

These little advances from him literally continued for years and only subsided about a year ago when my current partner put him in his place. After that, he went pretty quiet…

Now, those of you that know me fairly well will know that despite being what I would like to consider quite a positive person, I also have a wicked sense of humour and last night – no ill intended, I had a good little chuckle to myself, because the wheel of life truly does always go full circle.

It does NOT need your help – it knows precisely what it is doing.

After my divorce, my father said to me “mark my words my girl – I give that guy 6 months and he will be begging you to let him back in the door and don’t you dare let him in!” Now That is precisely what happened, and although much time has passed and to be honest, my ex and I have quite an amenable relationship now, for the sake of our son I could not help but have a little karma giggle to myself…

Yes, he drunk texted me for the first time in a while... and it went like this....

20171211_175500.png

and yes,
I did know precisely which song was being referenced...
and this was it...

and for those that either don't know the song, or cannot watch the video... these are the lyrics...

# The Reason - Hoobastank
I'm not a perfect person
There's many thing I wish I didn't do
But I continue learning
I never meant to do those things to you
And so I have to say before I go
That I just want you to know
I've found a reason for me
To change who I used to be
A reason to start over new
And the reason is you
I'm sorry that I hurt you
It's something I must live with everyday
And all the pain I put you through
I wish I could take it all away
And be the one who catches all your tears
That's why I need you to hear
I've found a reason for me
To change who I used to be
A reason to start over new
And the reason is you
And the reason is you
And the reason is you
And the reason is you
I'm not a perfect person
I never meant to do those things to you
And so I have to say before I go
That I just want you to know
I've found a reason for me
To change who I used to be
A reason to start over new
And the reason is you
I've found a reason to show
A side of me you didn't know
A reason for all that I do
And the reason is you

Now, please don't get me wrong... my giggle over this, was not at his expense. It was not a vindictive giggle - it was one of maturity, in looking at how far how we have both come since then.

Despite the fact that I know he will forever regret what he did and yes, that is in fact something he will have to live with for the rest of his life, we do have a civil relationship these days.

He is re-married with a toddler on his hands and I do believe he has in fact learnt from his mistakes and that is wonderful for him (and his new family).

But after EVERYTHING I was put through, still receiving the odd "drunk text" is a wonderfully healing thing when many times we wonder for years on end if we were the one to blame... and you know what they say... " A drunk man tells no lies".

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif


APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Header Image Credit

Sort:  

I can't imagine the pain and sorrow his behavior caused, but your exceptional maturity and forgiveness seems like it has created a more loving relationship for your son and probably served to open his eyes to his juvenile mistakes and all that he lost. It is a nice ending to a tough story that both of you have been able to heal and to grow and to move forward, you with strength and him with humility and hopefully a maturity that will allow him success in his new relationship. This was really inspiring as a practical example for positive behavior in the face of an obvious injustice. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you @drwillwho I really appreciate your very thoughtful response. It is certainly a great thing that my little boy is not exposed to what can be a very ugly thing when two divorced parents do not treat each other in a civil manner.

No one deserves better days more than you @jaynie. And no one deserves to go through these emotional tough times because it will indeed leave a scar whether we've moved on or not.

Just so you know, I am here if u ever need a shoulder to lean on

Thank you xxx

I think we all live two lives...the one that we learn by and the one we live after that. Congrats on making it to the happy after!

Thank you @melida010100 and yes, very well said!

Wow; such a raw an honest post. Thanks for sharing; there is too much superficial crap in this world and this post just cuts though like butter. Glad you son is doing well.

Thank you :) Yes it was a bit of an "honest moment" and as for my little boy... HE ROCKS!!! hehehe thank for stopping by ;)

Great post, thank you for it! It was a wise decision for you not to let him back into your life after 6 months. It does sound like you were the mature one out of the two of you.
He most likely needed to learn his lesson so he can be a better husband (even though it's for his new wife).

Yip. True. At least someone benefited at the end of the day lol

Good to hear that you're okay now.

Indeed ;) Thank you @amarbir

Well if anything you choose to become wise instead of wounded.https://giphy.com/gifs/the-avengers-captain-america-salute-1lk1IcVgqPLkA

hahahaha!!! brilliant Mr. GIFMASTER.... and yes, I would like to believe so. Thank you!

Drunk texting can be dangerous! You can reveal dirty secrets and later on regret it!

But apart from that, it can be very fun for everyone involved!

hahahaha very true!

I am drunk so I will say (quick edit) lovely pot.

And a bit of your satisfaction probably came from the fact he used a Hoobastank song to apologize. I haven't thought about those guys in years!

hahahaha!!! ;)

From your blog/post, an intelligent & strong-willed lady is my perspective, keep your composure and faith through whatever. @jaynie

Thank you very much for the kind words

Your welcome, when I read the post it's just sincere & heartfelt to me, people change their mind, mainly adults.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66938.08
ETH 3100.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74