Ulog No. 25: "Tired"

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Tired from work.


It is still school holiday in South Australia, but the school operates during the 2-week break through Long Day Care for the Early Learning Centre and Vacation Care for Out-of-School-Hours-Care (OSHC - pronounced as "ösh"). Because I am the preschool teacher in ELC, I don't have to work during the school holiday, however, I will still get paid (which is a huge blessing for me so I can help pay our bills). But because the Director of OSHC needed a teacher to relieve her yesterday and today, she requested that I work in OSHC. I agreed a week before Term 2 ended.

So my roster started at 7 in the morning and finished at 2 PM, both yesterday and today. My responsibilities included supervising the children under my care (maximum of 15 children), preparing for their morning snack, maintaining the room, managing children's behaviour, and executing the programs and activities planned by the OSHC director for each day.

On Tuesday, the activity was Arts and Crafts. Today, Wednesday, was "Messy Day". Yes, children were allowed to be messy, but I had to ensure that the carpeted floors would still be maintained clean. OSHC and the library have a shared space.

Children played with shave foam with orbies and baby oil. They enjoyed this sensory activity, but what they did not know was deep inside of me, I was like stressing out because of the mess that they would leave on the carpeted floors. Messy Day also meant they could paint with their hands and feet, as freely as they would want to.

If they were not painting, they could concentrate on coming up with their own creations using hama beads. It was also messy because children would drop heaps of beads on the floor and they could not be bothered picking them up. The only way to clean them up was to vacuum the entire floor.

In the OSHC/Library room, there is a small wardrobe with dress-up clothes in their hangers. The children enjoyed dressing up, pretending that they were walking on a runway and showing off their fashionable dresses and one child would judge and pick for the "Best Dressed" amongst the contestants. After they played, they left behind all the clothes on the floor.

But it was Messy Day, after all.

I was supposed to finish at 2 PM but I ended up leaving just before 3 PM because I had to clean the trays that we used for the Shave Foam activity that we did this morning. I just could not leave it up to the Educator who was rostered from 1:30 till 6 PM (Vacation Care Program is from 7 AM until 6 PM Monday thru Friday, except on public holiday). Because the trays had baby oil, it was hard to get rid of the grease. I spent considerable amount of time cleaning up to help the other Educator, too.

I felt bad that I had to leave the paint pots and brushes for the other Educator to clean. I made sure though that everything was kept organised or left clean and tidy.

As soon as I got home, I devoured a small plate of custard, which in the Philippines, is called "Leche Flan". It is my favourite dessert. I was really hungry, too. I also ate a bowl of "pancit". They were left overs from dinner at my auntie's last night. I guess I was too tired because of the fact that John and I did not leave my auntie's house until 11 PM. We had karaoke last night and I sang my heart out. Before we left our house to go to my auntie's for dinner, I had to cook special fried rice and "tocino" (Filipino version of pickled pork) to bring it over. Then I had to wake up very early this morning, so I really did not have enough sleep at all.

I fell asleep on the couch and woke up 2 hours later. And I really needed that!!!!

rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog inititative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.

The "U" in Ulogs means "You."

The following are some of my Ulog posts since I started #ulogging on 1st June 2018:

Ulog No.
Title
24
Trip to Coffin Bay
23
Port Lincoln Getaway
22
Preparing for our Port Lincoln Trip
21
My Study Room
20
I'm Thankful to God for my Mother-in-law
19
Jude Not, That You be not Judged
18
Sports Day, Sick, Steemit and Saturday Flat Tire

rsz_transparent.png

My recommended witnesses: @pharesim, @curie, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank, @ocd-witness.
You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
rsz_sgg_footers6.png

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

itestify1.jpg


All photos are my own, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit, @steembulls, @terminallyill, @flaminghelpers, and @itestify), #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34