Ulog No. 22: "Preparing for our Port Lincoln Trip"

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)
Wednesday, 11 July

I slept in. I woke up at 10 AM and our suitcases were not packed yet. We were looking at leaving home around 3PM or 4PM the latest so we could get to Port Lincoln before 7PM. As soon as I woke up, I ate rockmelon for breakfast and drank my coffee.

After breakfast, I quickly packed our suitcases. We're only going to be away for a few days, but I made sure we have everything we need. If in case I have forgotten something, we will just have to do a quick visit to the shops. I am also excited about this idea.

Whilst waiting for John, I started writing my Ulog No. 21 post. I did not finish it soon enough because Miki kept on trying to get my attention. She's the younger of my two cats. I gave her lots of attention because I know I'm going to be missing her cuddles and affection. Kimmy, on the other hand, was out and about doing her normal routine of sunbathing on the roof, stalking birds and just being a wild cat that she is.

For lunch, I cooked the leftover spam. By the time we get back from our trip, I don't think the spam will still be all right, so I might as well cook them. I just don't like wasting food. Whilst I was cooking, Kimmy resurfaced so I took that opportunity to let her inside the house and I did not let her out anymore. I fed both of them, even though John said earlier not to feed them anymore because they had already been fed in the morning. But I thought they needed more spoiling since they would not like what was going to happen later on.

It was already 4PM and we had not left yet. At this stage, I already had a shower and was ready to go. All I was doing was killing time by watching a bit of TV, writing my Ulog post and just spending time with my cats. I phoned John and asked where he was and said he'd be home before 6PM.

In the end, we didn't leave the house until 7 PM. John had to do his weekly job of juice rounds around town and then he went to my auntie's house to do a little bit of painting job. He came home at 5:30 PM with Cornish pasty and chicken yiros. He left again to go to the Greek Orthodox Church to light the candles. Lighting the candles at their church is a daily task or responsibility he took upon himself that he may continue what his father did every day when he was still alive.

Meanwhile, I had to find my cats so I could put them in their carriers. They were very perceptive. They knew the sight of the carriers meant that they were going somewhere, that we were going away. Just like what @dynamicgreentk said in his comment,

Kimmy and Miki knew we were leaving and they were not impressed!

Miki hid behind a couch and when I was going to get her, she ran all the way to the dining room and jumped up on one of the chairs. Kimmy was the harder one to put inside the carrier. Before John left to go to the church, I asked him to help me put Kimmy inside. She's very feisty and might hiss at me or scratch me if I tried to do it on my own. She would not dare do it to John, or else she'd get a "telling off."

Once I got them, I immediately put them inside the car and drove off to the vet clinic as they would close at 6PM. I was glad I got there just 10 minutes before 6PM. Otherwise, we would have to postpone going to Port Lincoln until the following day.

I got home, quickly finished writing my Ulog No. 21 and posted it. I ate the Cornish pasty whilst waiting for John to come home from church. I checked all our suitcases if I packed everything that we needed. We were definitely set to go!

John came home and had a quick shower. Obviously we would not be able to arrive just before 7PM at our accommodation.

Whilst John was in the shower, I watched the recent episode of "Younger". I binge watched it last week so now I have to wait for the new episode every week.

"After being mistaken for younger than she really is, a single mother decides to take the chance to reboot her career and her love life as a 26-year old." Source: IMDB

We left the house before 7PM. So I sent our host a message informing her that we were running late and we would not get there until 10 PM. Google Driving calculated that we'd get there at 10:04 PM.

We listened to music and talked the whole trip to Port Lincoln. We were also thankful there weren't any kangaroo on the highway. There were foxes which John easily avoided, or those foxes cleverly dodged us. I love seeing foxes on the road.

We finally arrived at our destination at 9:55 PM (nine minutes earlier than the calculated TOA). We watched Wimbledon until late at night, and were quite disappointed that Roger Federer did not win the Quarterfinal match against the South African player, Kevin Anderson. It was a great match. I would have liked Roger to win another Grand Slam again, but Kevin won in tiebreaker at the end. 13 to 11 in the 5th set.

And that concludes my Wednesday. I will be posting our Port Lincoln trip tomorrow or when I get the chance. Thank you for reading. We are planning to go to Coffin Bay on Friday but we'll see how we go. Bye for now!

rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog inititative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.

The "U" in Ulogs means "You."

The following are some of my Ulog posts since I started #ulogging on 1st June 2018:

Ulog No.
Title
21
My Study Room
20
I'm Thankful to God for my Mother-in-law
19
Jude Not, That You be not Judged
18
Sports Day, Sick, Steemit and Saturday Flat Tire

rsz_transparent.png

Please vote for @cloh76.witness, @steemgigs, @pharesim, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @mahdiyari, @yabapmatt, @blocktrades, @utopian-io, @qurator, @hr1 and @ausbitbank as witnesses to let them know you support their work!
You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
rsz_sgg_footers6.png

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

itestify1.jpg


All photos are my own, unless cited and except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit, @steembulls, @terminallyill, @flaminghelpers, and @itestify), #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

Hey @evlachsblog, Congratulations! Bodzila just upvoted your post with 30.99% power. Keep up the good work!

Delegate your Steem Power to @Bodzila & Earn 80% Weekly returns based on your share. You can cancel delegation of your SP at anytime as the money & power remain in your hands only.

Any queries or required support can be discussed in person. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

Congratulations @evlachsblog! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evlachsblog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40