Ulog No. 19: "Judge Not, that You be not Judged"

in #ulog6 years ago

ulog19.jpg

Church on Sunday


Since I didn't have a car, I asked my auntie to pick me up from my home so we could go to church together. We were 5 minutes late. Praise and worship had already started. I'd like to think that the church is a judgment-free place. People should not condemn other people just because they did not arrive at church early or even right on time.

I was also glad that I was able to listen to the Pastor's preaching. Usually, I miss out on the sermon because either I am in kids' church (or Sunday school) teaching the children ages 10 and below or I am absent from church. I'm glad my spirit and my soul were nourished by the message.

After the Sunday church service, the morning tea was served. Church members bring a plate every Sunday and we all share the food together whilst we catch up and connect with each other after the service.

My auntie dropped me off at her other house because my husband, John, was working there. Yes, even on Sundays, he still works. I don't want to judge him, at least, he keeps himself busy when they don't have Orthodox service on some Sundays.

orthodox_church.jpg

The Greek Orthodox Christian community does not have a priest here in our town so they request from the Archdiocese to send a priest on a fortnightly basis. So this priest from Port Pirie used to come every other Sunday, however, he's almost 85 years old and so to drive all the way from Port Pirie to come here would be such a tremendous effort from him. He no longer does the fortnightly thing. He announced that he would only come on a monthly basis instead.

The Bronx


My husband helps out at my auntie's investment property and he does some repairs and renovations in the house. John is quite a handy man. A very reliable one! He's better than any tradesman. And I'm saying that not because he's my husband, but I know how he works. He is a perfectionist. He'd rather not do a job if he has the attitude of "that's good enough". He gives his 100% on any job because that's his character, his attitude towards work, and that's one of the many things I love about him.

My auntie's property is situated in a place where it is considered as "The Bronx" of the town. Please pardon my use of this term. But that's how they call it here. I don't want to walk by myself in that area for fear that someone might just attack me.

Call me judgmental, but if you're a woman, would you be flustered and get scared when a scary-looking man who had been drinking, even in broad daylight, suddenly approached you and tried to offer you a plate of food? I would. And I actually did.

My auntie dropped me off at the house. She made sure that John was there before she drove off. I gave her a signal that he was indeed home. The next door neighbour was drinking with another guy, and then all of a sudden, when one of those guys (I don't know them at all - first time I had ever seen them) suddenly crossed the small fence which is the boundary of the two adjoining houses.

I was terrified whilst knocking on the screen door. John already saw me by the window as he was installing the Venetian blinds inside, but he didn't come to the door straight away. It took him maybe a minute before he finally opened the door. Then, the guy next door was already trying to approach me and offering me food. He got a plate on his hands. I said, "No, thank you! I'm good." He said, "Come on, you and the bloke inside can have this food."

My heart was racing. When John opened the door, he went back into the room immediately to resume what he was doing. I locked the screen door behind me. The scary-looking guy was still by the front porch offering the food. So I called on John, "Honey, there's a guy here with food." John told the guy through the window, "It's all good, mate!" And the guy went back to his drinking with his mate.

Was I irrational? I am just not used to being approached like that. Plus he's drunk. I could tell by the way he walked and talked. Even when he went back to his front porch, I was still palpitating. I told John that he should have waited until I was completely inside the house knowing that there were two guys drinking outside the house. I didn't feel safe at all. He said not to worry, that that guy who offered food was actually harmless and wouldn't hurt a fly. That he went to school with my sister-in-law.

Reflection for the Day


There I was who had just been to church and yet the sight of drunk men terrified me. I did not want to be judged for being late to church, yet I easily judged someone because of how he looked. I also felt annoyed at my husband for not making me feel safe. He should have just told me to ask my auntie to drop me off at my mother-in-law's house because that's where we were going anyway. Every Sunday, we have lunch at his mother's house and I should have just gone there instead.

My human nature took over and became judgmental of other people because of their lifestyle, their place, their actions and the lack thereof. I could have chosen a different way to handle the situation and not be scared of the person that approached me. I mean, he was offering food. I should have declined the offer politely and should not have dismissed him like he was a leper. As soon as my husband opened the front door, I hurriedly went inside and locked the screen door. I left the man by the front porch and let my husband talk to him by the window.

I felt like I was very rude. But at that time, I was flustered and did not know what to do but my initial reaction was to protect myself. The truth is there was really nothing to be scared of. My husband could see what's going on so there really was no chance for any person to attack me and get away with that. I felt scared and that was how I reacted.

If you were in my situation, how would you feel? What could you have done differently?


Please leave a comment below if you have any feedback. Thank you for reading! God bless you! Bye for now!

rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog inititative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.

The "U" in Ulogs means "You."

The following are some of my Ulog posts since I started #ulogging on 1st June 2018:

Ulog No.
Title
18
Sports Day, Sick, Steemit and Saturday Flat Tire
17
Course Assignments and Volleyball

rsz_transparent.png

Please vote for @cloh76.witness, @steemgigs, @pharesim, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @mahdiyari, @yabapmatt, @blocktrades, @utopian-io, @qurator, @hr1 and @ausbitbank as witnesses to let them know you support their work!
You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
rsz_sgg_footers6.png

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

itestify1.jpg


All photos are my own, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit, @steembulls, @terminallyill, @flaminghelpers, and @itestify), #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

First of all, if you have any guilt within that you behaved with him rudely, then, remember that God does not give us the spirit of guilt. So, it is your within that became conscious towards the outward look of the drunken man. That too because you are not used to see these kind of people. So, actually, you did not condemn him, nor did you become rude with him. Actually, nothing has happened. You got a bit shocked after seeing a new face. That's it! It happens to me also.

But your post title sounds good. Not to judge anyone because God did not come into this world to judge or condemn. He came only to save.

As a part of the 5 Steps Plan for the #encourageminnows initiative, I have

1. Upvoted your post with 100%
2. Followed you
3. Resteemed your post
4. Commented on your post
5. I also invite you to participate in the giveaway contest where you get a chance to win lifetime upvotes from @SteemBasicIncome. You can win 1 share worth 1 Steem of sponsorship from me. (currently, next giveaway is to be announced)

Even you can participate in the Encourage Minnows Initiative with 5 Steps Plan as below-



Thank you for this reminder, @puregrace. You're right. I should not be feeling guilty at all. I prayed to God though for how I acted towards this person. Jesus did not come to condemn all of us but to save us and redeem us from our sins.

Your initiative #encourageminnows is awesome! May God continue to bless you so that you will be able to inspire and bless others!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evlachsblog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34