Our Southern Paradise Ulog 43

in #ulog6 years ago

Paradise on a Mountain



Last year, we moved from one mountain to another. I still think I live in Paradise - but our Southern Paradise has a special place in my heart. We lived there for ten years, and it was so beautiful. We could see the ocean from Mexico, all the way to Riverside County. On clear days, you could see Catalina, San Clemente Island - and even see the San Diego skyline.

We would wake up to the sound of wild turkey mommas clucking and chirping to their teeny babies, or deer chewing the fallen acorns. (maybe you and Bobby want to clean up all THOSE acorns @saffisara? hehehe) Occasionally, we would see a mountain lion scampering through the woods (no, I was never scared!) or a skunk coming up to our back porch to steal the cat food (yes! I was always scared to get sprayed! hahahaa)

My family still lives there - so when I got to go back last week, I took some pictures! Hope you enjoy :)


Loving the stillness







My little dollie doodle







Isn't it interesting?


Here the woodpeckers peck all these holes into the trees, and then the squirrels come along and hide all their acorns in the tree! Doesn't it look amazing?






A friendly visitor







Silhouette of a Stalker!






That's the end of the peek of my Southern Paradise! Hope you enjoyed coming along with me!


Amazing banner created by @liberty-minded


Sort:  

Absolutely divine! Peaceful and beautiful. And you moved!

so so peaceful and beautiful! :) We have been on top of THIS mountain for a year now :) so the pictures that you've seen this year - they were all from up here. The pics there - that was from our visit a few weeks ago back to so cal :)

What a Paradies @dreemsteem! I love it all!!!!!

Doesn't the tree with the woodpeckers look like a piece of swiss cheese? :) Poor tree, but I love woodpeckers equally ... oh my ...
xx

hehehehe yes - but the tree is still ok! :) surprisingly - its ALL the trees and they survive! :)

in the future and if my job goes side by side with this i intend to live in a mountain too!

it's a beautiful life, for sure!!!! :) I hope you get to enjoy it!!!

I have been waiting your posts on these... 😍

Aww.. those beautiful hair locks caught my eye! Love it!

The tree holes simply tells us that its not that bad, they are actually meant for something.. in that case, acorn storage!! Hahaha really cool..

I bet it is pretty cool to have unexpected animal visitors anytime. The boys would totally dig it!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I actually had more! Hehehehe but...I decided to only post a few 😍 I'll send some more in DM to you ♥️

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yesssss please.. i would love to see more of it.. id like to see a glimpse of your world..

Posted using Partiko Android

ok - i will try to send some tomorrow - remind me in DM ;)

Okay.. when I get home Ill DM you.. ill be travelling back home tomorrow.. im literally at the mountain right now! Hahaha almost 6 hours of travel to get to this venue.. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehehhehee yes it is 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehehhehee yes it is 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Our deer will usually approach, and allow me to approach, pretty closely.

No skunks on the porch yet, but we do currently have a yellow jacket nest on our front porch, which we'll have to deal with soon.

No mountain lions yet, but they are moving back into our area, but we have so much cover in the woods that we're unlikely to see them. We had them where we lived in Southern California when I was a kid, but I never saw one in the wild until I moved to Florida.

And I've posted a couple videos recently of wild turkeys taking over our back yard, with reinforcements from the woods, which were beyond cool. I love wildlife, and I love that the wildlife here are generally willing to allow themselves to be seen. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

hehehehehe yes i love wildlife too!

the only bad part about living where i did - is the turkeys used to poop on our steps. and then people would track it in. ughhhhhhh i hated scrubbing that carpet LOLOL

Yeah, especially with the numbers I've seen of late, our porch would have been swimming in Turkey poop.

Happily they stayed out in the tall grass, and then made their way back into the woods. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

I had less problem with the turkeys.... more problem with the people who couldn't figure out how to NOT track the poop in the house. sheesh. hahahahahahahahaha

Yeah, I'm guessing Lolo would be the main one tracking it in on our place, but I could easily be wrong. ;-)

hehehehehe you'd be surprised who tracks it. (50 year old men with massive maintenance boots. ughhhhhhhhh)

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Is that your shadow behind the animal in the peekaboo picture??? The stalker!??

hahahaha what?!?!?! i don't see a shadow LOL

hi scuzzyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy <3

Very nice pictures. I enjoy occasionally being out and about in nature, but I also get such bad allergies that I frequently don't make time to do so, lol.

gahhhhh! I used to get SUCH bad allergies . it was the most miserable time until I got steroid shots. that's the only thing that would alleviate it!

so glad I dont get them any more!!! nothing works for yours???

I can deal with them, the main reason I don't deal with more proactively is because they hit me in very sudden and short bursts. I'll be sneezing like crazy for a full fifteen minutes, and then I'm fine for like an hour. If I was more diligent taking allergy medicine I probably wouldn't need to deal with it at all, but that costs money and the vast majority of the time I just don't have much of an issue.

Basically, yeah I could probably get rid of them. It just hasn't become enough of a persistent inconvenience yet for me to set aside the time to do so.

ohhhhhhhhhhh yeah - mine were .... hell on earth.

just.... the worst. and every year i had to convince the doctor (the SAME doctor) that nothing else worked except for the steroid shot

so i had to kinda go through 4 weeks of "trying" other things first. that was soooooooooo. fun.

Congratulations @dreemsteem! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65