Ulog #12 - There's Always An Adventure When You Are Wearing White.

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Hey y'all!

I have to tell you about what happened at knit group! There's always something...

Jackie picked me up and handed me her little project basket that had been on my seat. As we chatted she turned a corner, the needle slid out and landed in the little cubby at the bottom of the door panel. I assumed it was a DPN (double pointed needle) and figured I'd fish it out when we arrived at the library where our knit group is held.

As we pulled in I told Jackie what had happened and she replied, "Oh NO! The needle has come off of my cable! That's my 1.5mm Chiagoo!" UH OH!! While she's saying this I'm fishing around trying to find it but instead, I discover there is a little gap at the front of that cubby and the needle is gone! CRAP!

I meekly ask her, "Do you have any tools in the car?" as I'm slowly popping the clips from the bottom of her door panel. I think at this point her desperation to recover the needle (these are quite expensive and she needed it for her project) overpowered her concern for the door panel. "No" she sadly replied and handed me her keychain. LOL!! I tried using the thing-a-ma-bobber on her keychain and it just wasn't cutting it.

Our next move was to go into the library and ask if they had any tools, specifically a screwdriver. The lady had a hard time not laughing when I explained why I needed it. Luckily, she produced a multi-bit screwdriver and I was on my way.

So, here we were in the middle of the parking lot pulling her door panel apart while all of our knit group was driving in. Did I mention I was wearing white? Anyway, it'd been some time since I'd last done this so it took a little while. I was being very careful because as I was working on it she said, "Don't tell my husband we're doing this." Finally, after locating all the screws and swearing profusely under my breath it came off!! We shook that baby all around until the needle finally fell out onto the pavement. I thought she was going to dance! Actually, that would have been fun.

Now the hard part, putting it back together. It's never as easy as taking it apart but we managed just fine. All was good! Well not quite. During this hour the key had been left turned on and the doors were open. It was at this point I couldn't figure out why the window was going up and down so slowly and the lock was trying to work but it wasn't quite doing it. "What the hell? If the wire harness wasn't plugged in properly it just wouldn't work." I suddenly clued in, "THE BATTERY!"

This was going to be good. Yup, "click, click, click". CRAP! "There must be someone in the knit group who has jumper cables." As I'm thinking this Jackie whips out her phone and calls HER HUSBAND! LOL! While she's talking to him she tries it one more time. I almost fell over when it started! That was a close call. Luckily she didn't need to tell her hubby what we had done. WHEW!

We went into the knit group, answered their questions, had a good laugh and enjoyed ourselves. I can't tell you how many times over the years I have mentally thanked my Dad for teaching me basic auto mechanics. I think we'll be laughing about today for some time to come!

My "muggle" friends can't figure out why I hate to miss knit group. Every week is a new adventure. LOL!!

Thought for the day:

Life is a shipwreck but we must not forget to sing in the lifeboats.
-Voltaire

@shadowspub and I have been working on a new project and it's going to be AWESOME!!! Stay tuned....

Until next time friends...

Sort:  

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Oh man I was laughing so hard on this post! Thank you so much for sharing your adventure and my what an adventure you had indeed.

I was half expecting you to be covered in stains and all but the story was better!


This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

LOL!! No....I was very careful. The clothes survived.

haha... yup! Can't tell you how often I see jaws drop when I disappear under the bonnet to check or fix something on my pickup truck. :)

I would freak out if I lose one of my needles, good thing you handled that situation and got it out :) I like your thought of the day, hihi, always sing and always smile. 💚

Thanks!! LOL!

You have the craziest adventures! ...while you wear white! 😁

I'm interested about News flash @artemisnorth.:)When will it be?

Tuesday @2pm edt in the Steemit Ramble!

Wearing white is a risky thing :)
hahah this post was so funny, thanks for the little adventure hahha :)

This story put a smile on face, I love when women can handle problems with vehicles on their own. The white stayed white? Don't tell your friend this, but I doubt her husband could have taken the door apart and retrieved it as well as you two did.

omg! I'm cracking up over here. What a hilarious post, and respect, btw, for taking off the door panel to retrieve the thing. Wearing white. lol!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 20.55% upvote!
I was summoned by @artemisnorth. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45