Photography | Aloe Duckeri (Ep1)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Photography | Aloe Duckeri (Ep1)


Aloe Duckeri


flower_seq_4.jpg

Sequence: 4 - November 26, 2018


Recently we had a few days of rain in my local area and my garden absolutely loved it. The new plants that I put in last month have been growing well and had a good growth spurt after the rain, especially the daisies. Unfortunately, I haven't actually seen any daisies just yet, so the variety remains a mystery at this stage but you can be sure that I am waiting eagerly for the first flower to bloom so that I can identify it properly.

Anyhoo, the plant I've featured in my photos today is one that grows abundantly in my front garden. It's called Aloe Duckeri and it grows so well in fact that last winter I must have pulled up at least half of them and it hardly even made a dent in the patch.

When I was out watering last week, I noticed a couple of new flower shoots growing from one of the Aloe plants, so of course, I took some photos. Later, when trying to write a post to go with them, I found that I couldn't find any decent photos for comparison and therefore it was really hard to choose the correct variety.


flower_seq_1.jpg

Sequence: 1 - November 16, 2018


Now, trying to identify plants from only a written description seems ludicrous to me, like 'looking for a needle in a haystack' and to be fair, guessing was outta the question, especially since I was planning to include the information in a post.

In the end, I settled on a site called Dave's Garden, where I found several images of the whole plant including the leaves and flowers. The only problem was they only photographed one flower and due to slight differences, it was hard to be 100% sure. Having said that, this is where the written description becomes so helpful with detailed descriptions of various features. In this case, it was the description of the leaf markings that confirmed my choice.


flower_seq_2.jpg

Sequence: 2 - November 20, 2018


The confusion (and frustration) of the whole event brought an idea to mind. Those elusive photos that made my research so difficult, were the same photos that I had the ability to provide and hence, add to the knowledge base.

Recorded on the blockchain forever...!

This post will be the first of a series, containing four sets of images showing the various stages as the flower develops. The dates (taken) have been included underneath each set to document the time intervals between each different stage. The next post will include some information about ALOE DUCKERI along with a further four images.


flower_seq_3.jpg

Sequence: 3 - November 22, 2018


If you are knowlegable about plants/flowers, please feel free to comment with any advice or helpful information. (especially if you KNOW I've picked the wrong variety!!!)

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really appreciate your time.

Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All images and text are my own work unless otherwise noted.

Follow the links below to see more gardening posts.

Blossom of Blackthorn (Prunus Spinosa)
Red Leaf Photinia (Photinia Robusta fraseri)
Purple Yellow Centred Daisies / Salvia 'Hot Lips'
Dianella Tasmanica Tasred
Cistus x Laxus
Calla Lily

Line

To make your own steemitboard footer, check out this post by @arcange

Line

Imgur

Line

Imgur

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking!

Sort:  

I am not into plants that much, I must admit. Nice macro photos, though!

PS: I've found your post because @roleerob featured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Thank you for your comment @trincowski, I'm glad you liked the photo - as a beginner, I've been trying to learn all the different settings on my camera but the macro photos are difficult since I'm only using a general lens and they are often slightly out of focus which tends to wash out all those finer details that we love about macro.

Also, thank you for mentioning @roleerob, he is doing some great things for Steemit and I am humbled by his comments about me from his entry.

I think you've made the right chosen @alphaccino.art, you must wait for a year to see whether that aloe duckeri will grow up to a meter long, I mean the leaves. but who knows that you have the dwarf one?

thanks for sharing and I really like to read this article. I saw other similar flower like this, but nothing really close to the picture you have here but Aloe Duckerie, though I'm not an expert but from your information and the picture (well... you should show us the leaves next time), so we can learn together about this plant.

I found your post through @roleerob entry post in the pay it forward contest this week.

Thanks for your reply @cicisaja - and yes, I also thought I needed some photos of the leaves esp. since I had mentioned the markings. For my next post, I will try and capture a photo of the whole plant which I will be able to use for the thumbnail image.

Also, you mentioned that they should grow 1 metre tall, I have some older ones that have been growing for some time but they are very close to the ground, sometimes with a short stem but it only grows about 1 - 2 cms high. Do you think it could be a dwarf? If I have time, I will drop into my local library to see if they have any 'Aloe' books that I can refer to for confirmation.

thanks for sharing and I really like to read this article

Thank you so much for your kind words, it makes me really happy to hear that you enjoy seeing my photos and reading my article, this inspires me to keep learning and sharing.

Very nice @alphaccino.art. Great job on the pictures and I love the write up to go with them.

I have to admit I had a bit of a blonde moment (I am blonde btw) Think why would you be planting succulents in the winter. Well duh it's not winter there. The way my brain works sometimes LOL. Keep up the great work.

You were featured in week 34 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @roleerob.

Thank you so much, I'm glad you liked the photos. I'm only new to photography (well maybe new to owning a good camera is more truthful) but being able to share my photos on steemit has been so motivating. To receive such wonderful feedback and interest in my photography has been very rewarding.

There are some very sincere, admirable people on Steemit, doing some really wonderful things, who provide me with daily inspiration to go that extra mile... @roleerob and @pifc would be some of these people.

Thanks again for your comment, I wish you a wonderful day, full of smiles :)

Unfortunately, I'm not very knowledgeable about plants and flowers. I do enjoy pottering around in my little garden during the summer months, but that's about as far as it goes.

Your post, though, is fascinating and the pictures are great. Maybe, if I spend some time reading through your gardening posts I will grow my knowledge base. I then may 'smile' more and leave people wondering what I'm thinking about. I know that happens to my hubby. He looks over at me, when I'm in Steemit, and comments, "You're smiling again!"

Thank you, @roleerob, for introducing me to @alphaccino.art's work. :D

Thank you @juliamulcahy - It was a similar reason why I started posting about my garden. I was fast losing my green thumb after moving to a different city and climate zone. Losing all of my potted plants and my beloved Fuchsia's to frost year after year, nearly made me give up on gardening altogether.

So, to make things a little easier (and successful) for myself, I started taking note of the plants that are already thriving in my local area and try to adopt them in my garden (I also like to grow from cuttings that I collect when I'm out walking).

And then, me being me, I can't be just satisfied with growing the plant, I have to know, I have to find out what it is and especially how to care for it. Thankfully, Steemit gives me a wonderful platform where I can share all of that.

And yes, you should never underestimate a well-timed smile. Is your hubby on Steemit too, if so, then he would know that it's just an innocent smile ;)

Hehehe, no, he's not on steemit - yet! The good thing is he quite likes to see me smile. I think he just sees it as one of my quirks, when it's directed at a screen.

I love how you are using steemit to reignite a passion and make it more purposeful. I wonder, do you have any posts that show how to take cuttings and then grow them? I'd find that not only fascinating, but also very useful.

There are some beautiful plants and flowers I notice on my walks, and I'd love to have them in my garden, but I wouldn't have the first clue how to go about it. :)

Thank you @juliamulcahy, that is a wonderful idea for a future post... I may have to refer to some gardening books to ensure I use the correct terminology but I may learn something along the way, so it's a win / win in my eyes. An interesting fact, my grandmother's (potted) garden was almost entirely grown from cuttings that she had collected in the same way, and she had many, many pots.

Ooh goody! Glad you like the idea as it’s a win/ win for me too. Looking forward to reading your future post and learning too. 😁

@alphaccino.art, For sure this is one of the beautiful aspect of nature and sometimes nature always going to surprise us through it's creations. And this flower and plant is reflecting as born like an miracle and in my opinion watching it live will be more amazing aspect.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

This is very true and unfortunately, most of us lead such busy lives that we forget to take notice of these things. This has definitely made my mornings feel like Christmas because after waking, I find that I can't wait to see how much my flower has grown. Thank you @chireerocks for your beautiful words, I also wish you the best of days.

Welcome and thank you so much. Have a great time ahead. 🙂

Why thank you very much @astrophoto.kevin, I'm really glad you enjoyed them. If you're interested, keep an eye out for my follow up post which should be published in a week or so, depending on how fast the flower changes from day to day. Thanks for your comment

You're welcome :-)
I will keep an eye on it :-)

Hi, @alphaccino.art!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alphaccino.art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Good evening (here) @alphaccino.art, working to do my small part in support of the great @pifc community, I am writing to let you know I have selected your post as an entry into their weekly contest.

I hope will find encouragement in learning this, to continue all you are clearly doing to add value to our Steem blockchain. Please follow the entry link above to find my supporting comments, to the PIFC Community, for the consideration of your efforts here.

All the best to you @alphaccino.art, for a better tomorrow!

Thank you so much @roleerob, I really appreciate your support. It makes me happy to know that others enjoy what I'm doing and your supporting comments are so kind, thank you again :) - Anything for a better tomorrow, I say!

My pleasure @alphaccino.art. You are creating very nice content and you are very close to "minnowhood" and the coveted slider for your upvoting! 👍

Keep up the great work!


P.S. If my reference to how close you are is unclear, my post here has all of that covered, for your reference.

That is a great post @roleerob, I especially wanted to thank you for the security information as I was unaware of the uses for the various key, I have now followed your suggestions and you also prompted me to print out one more hard copy, just for good measure ;)

Up before 🌄 (here) @alphaccino.art and very pleased to read this …

”I especially wanted to thank you for the security information as I was unaware of the uses for the various key ...“

… as that is the reason I put so much into those complimentary posts – to help others avoid what I had been through.

I definitely was “in here” way too long, before stumbling on to this issue myself. Fortunately, I did not get burned by it.

Have a great day “on the other side of the world!” 😊 👍

Yes, thank you @roleerob - it was very informative, easy to understand and follow. It can be quite overwhelming when you first join Steemit, there is a lot to take in especially if, like me, you're new to blockchain and financial investments. But as they say, things often come to you when you are ready to receive them and I feel that I had a better understanding of the system so when I read your post it really helped me to, not only understand what actions to take but also the reasons why I should. Sometimes it's 'the why' that helps you make sense of everything else.

Wishing you a wonderful day too :)

Yes, @alphaccino.art ...

"Sometimes it's 'the why' that helps you make sense of everything else."

... agreed. I am an engineer and I like to understand how things work. From my perspective, the Steem blockchain was brilliantly conceived. There is a lot to it, as it really is somewhat of its own "virtual world."

Don't know how I might be of further help, but please don't hesitate to ask. I'll be happy to do what I can, as helping you or anyone else helps build the value of our blockchain.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 136 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54