Writers Block Poetry Contest Week 2: Suspension (Hammock-style)

in #twbpoetrycontest6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit! This is my entry for The Writers’ Block Poetry Contest: Week 2

WRITING PROMPT: Write a poem inspired by James Wright’s poem “Lying in a Hammock at William Duffy’s Farm in Pine Island, Minnesota”.


This is my first submission to one of these contests and it seemed befitting since I was in my very own living room hammock writing it.

When it's cold in Colorado, it's so nice to be able to relax in my Eno Deluxe Double Nest and still be able to stay warm, while I'm in my "thinks-zone."

I wanted to say thank you to @thewritersblock, @gmuxx and @anomadsoul for hosting this contest and getting me inspired to share some of my personal expression!


Suspension Hammock Style by Jakob A Martinez.jpg

Ta-da...

And now, my poem.

707932.png

Suspension (Hammock-style)

Suspended in time
On a cold day where star crossed lovers
Eclipse under a blood blue super moon
In a chorus of light flickers
Embers ignite under pressure
Of stubborn lungs whose trapped air explodes
Lightly swinging, aware of what only Atlas knows.

Jakob A. Martinez


YOU MAY BE INTERESTED IN MY POSTS:


intuitivejakob steemit malos10 gif art.gif

GIF by @malos10

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

rockymountainsteem.png

InServiceToOthers_PurpleZodiac.jpg
InServiceToOthers.gifintuitivejakob smartcash.png
doubleblackstar.jpg

Sort:  

I like this! I think the double-entendre of "suspended" [in time] here is wonderful, considering you were in a hammock. I also like the phrase "blood blue" to describe the partially-eclipsed moon, with penumbra! I also LOVE the synesthesia invoked by "chorus of light flickers." Such a wonderful image painted with so few words! Bravo! 😊

Your interpretation again planted a scenery of the beauty depicted in the word plays. Quite insightful of you.

I felt the imagery @intuitivejakob portrayed too. Well-done @thekittygirl ..do follow back. Thanks

Thank you so much for the kind observations, @thekittygirl. I am honored. 💘

Quite interesting post. I am moved by your word plays. Keep writing.

Do follow back. Thanks

Hello @mrbreeziewrites, thank you for that! Happy you enjoyed my writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43