The Devil Next Door (mini series) : Unreal story that actually happened

in #tv4 years ago

This series is a mere 5 hours long and goes into great detail about the trial of John Demjanjuk in the mid 80's. Don't know who that is? Well neither did I until a few days ago and I was actually alive when the trial was going on - so don't feel bad.

80993537_devilnextdoor23boxshot_na_en_01.jpg
source

I suppose a big part of whether or not you would enjoy this series would depend pretty heavily on whether or not you are interested in the following things:

  • Are you are interested in World War 2 history?
  • Are you interested in courtroom dramas?
  • Do you enjoy factual shows based on real people and events?
  • Do you enjoy an "unsolved mystery"

I would say if you can answer yes to at least 2 of those, there is a good chance that The Devil Next Door would appeal to you.

The series focuses on a big story, that I am disappointed in myself for not knowing about already, surrounding a Ukrainian immigrant living in Cleveland, Ohio. John Demjanjuk had worked at a Ford manufacturing plant for many years, had a family, was involved in his community and had never caused any problems during his life in the USA. Everyone thought he was just this harmless pensioner until some documents were discovered in Soviet archives.

thumbnail.jpg
source

Now all of a sudden this harmless, law-abiding neighbor has to answer to the FBI and the international community because they are stating that he is not John Demjanjuk at all, instead, he is "Ivan the Terrible," a ruthless member of Nazi Germany's executioners at one of their most efficient concentration camps in Poland.

Obviously John claims complete innocence as he faces his citizenship being revoked and also extradition to Israel where he will face a criminal trial for war crimes that if found guilty will certainly result in his death. The film focuses primarily on the trial in Israel because since that was such a high-profile event at the time and every aspect of it was televised (and consequently, why I am disappointed that i have zero recollection of this event despite being alive then.)

It is clear that the footage is genuine because a lot of it has those blemishes that was so consistent with VHS and Betamax cassettes that you would have to be alive during the 80's to be familiar with (someone adjust the tracking!)

It is an unusual trial because at no point during any of it does John give even an inkling of indication that he actually is this Ivan.

johndemjanjuktrialisraeldevilnextdoor.jpg
source

Throughout the entire thing we see a lot of people getting really emotional on both sides of the fence, especially those who were touched by the Holocaust in some way or another. Of course there are also a bunch of idiots that come out of the woodwork (in the USA portion) to screw up John's suburban neighborhood such as the KKK and also the early stages of over-the-top SJW's. I find this part of the film to be embarrassing because the SJW's are jumping the gun on his guilt (hadn't gone to trial yet) and the KKK are there to protect him because if he is Ivan he must hate Jews just like they do.

It had been 40 years since World War 2 and very few witnesses were still alive from these camps that Ivan / John was meant to have been an overseer at. The trial, therefore seemed to be a little lopsided in their presentation of evidence because the people who were called as witnesses were overcome (reasonably so) with emotion and all seemed to simply presume that John was Ivan the Terrible despite the fact that there was very small amounts of evidence to suggest that he actually was.

John remains "stone-faced" and agreeable during testimony against and for him and was even smiling and polite to everyone that he encounters during his 7 years of forced vacation in Jerusalem.


from the official Netflix channel

The makers of this series don't pick sides and don't paint anyone in a favorable light. They are truly neutral presenters of the facts that currently exist - you know, like how journalists are supposed to be - and that is what makes this so watchable.

They aren't trying to convince the audience of anything and by the end of it all viewers have to digest what they have seen and make their own choices. This is nice and also extremely unusual in today's time where almost anything we watch, including and perhaps especially on Netflix, has some sort of agenda in their programming.

I sat down last night at 11pm to watch one episode and then got to bed after. I ended up watching all of them and didn't get to bed until nearly 4am. When this happens, i am dealing with something that for me at least, is definitely worth watching.

My overall rating?


photodune6774981recommendedgrungeredstampxs643x272.jpg

Sort:  

This one peaked my interest.
I haven't watched it yet but will now for sure!

(someone adjust the tracking!)

Haha! Thank god that is not a thing anymore.
I guess we have different knobs to turn now. :)

Love the review.

tracking used to drive me and everyone else nuts. I remember how in awe i was when a friend of mine had a high-end VCR that had "auto tracking!" we were thinking it was like magic....

how does it know where to stop the knob?

Yes auto tracking!
Even that took a good 5 seconds to hone in.
I don't think kids these days have the patience. :)

I watch this mini series too, but I don't think that the makers aren't taking any side. For me they are keeping side of Demjanjuk. I agree that his trial in Israel is presented in detail, the viewer could make own judgment.
The last part when Demjanjuk is send to Munich for another trial is totally different, in this part the makers suggest that a lot of Germans where involved in Holocaust, and 65 years after war their sons judge Ukrainian guard from Sobibor or Treblinka

I can see how someone would get that impression. I kind of liked the way they were a bit sympathetic to John because what if he actually isn't Ivan? It hasn't been truly determined that he was. When the make the connection that he "wasn't Ivan, but was in the SS" it does seem reasonable that he would be in some sort of trouble but I also identify with what his grandson says about him being a soldier... and he either had to do what he was told or he himself would be killed. It certainly is difficult to imagine being in that position...

hmmm might need to add this to my list! thanks for the rec

I think you'll enjoy it. If anyone simply wanted a fast forward, each of the episodes recaps what happened in previous episodes to a certain degree. I suppose someone could skip a few, I found it captivating though...I never stay up until 4am unless i am horribly drunk so i think that speaks volumes for the entertainment value. (I was not drunk when watching this)

Hmmn this didn't seem interesting at first, but the more I read, the better it became...not sure I will check it out though, but if I do come across it, I wont think twice...

Netflix has seemed to focus quite a lot on WW2 stuff in the past year, there is another one where they have colorized the old footage and i'm gonna check that out next

Very interesting. I don't think I knew about this at the time. I do think I heard about it later. The only two news events that I can really remember were the Challenger explosion and the first Gulf war. The second one only because my dad got us up and made us watch the news because "history was happening". Having not seen it I would have to think that if this was the guy his darkness and hatred for minorities would have been obvious on some level to those around him. Especially living in a larger city. You'd think if he was running he would find some middle class predominately white town in the middle of no where. We will probably never know though.

I'd take it with a grain of salt, but this just showed up on my news feed:

https://news.yahoo.com/devil-next-door-doesnt-tell-172200020.html

Perfect I am interested in this type of thing and will be watching it for sure. Thanks for the write up. You have similar tastes and interests to me so I find this handy lol.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79