You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Devil Next Door (mini series) : Unreal story that actually happened

in #tv5 years ago

I watch this mini series too, but I don't think that the makers aren't taking any side. For me they are keeping side of Demjanjuk. I agree that his trial in Israel is presented in detail, the viewer could make own judgment.
The last part when Demjanjuk is send to Munich for another trial is totally different, in this part the makers suggest that a lot of Germans where involved in Holocaust, and 65 years after war their sons judge Ukrainian guard from Sobibor or Treblinka

Sort:  

I can see how someone would get that impression. I kind of liked the way they were a bit sympathetic to John because what if he actually isn't Ivan? It hasn't been truly determined that he was. When the make the connection that he "wasn't Ivan, but was in the SS" it does seem reasonable that he would be in some sort of trouble but I also identify with what his grandson says about him being a soldier... and he either had to do what he was told or he himself would be killed. It certainly is difficult to imagine being in that position...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75