Reminder that "Superheroes" Trial by Comics ends September 13th!

It’s just after noon here in the Twin Cities and it’s been a busy day already. Two stops at local game stores to pick up the last cards for my new Magic: The Gathering Commander deck […there’s a MTG post coming soon, wether you like it or not]. I’m starting my Steemit post right before breaking ground on almost 10,000 new photos shot in LA and Palm Springs. I can’t wait to get in to some of these new images. These trips are getting longer and harder to survive, but that feeling of having a few days off, then opening folders and re-visiting the shoots is so therapeutic. 

I’ve got my next few days of posts lined up, including some photography, Magic: The Gathering and art curation concerns, but for tonight, I wanted to take this opportunity remind all of you, the deadline for this week’s Trial by Comics contest is this coming Wednesday, September 13th at 5:00UTC 12:00a.m. This week’s theme is superheroes! There’s already been some incredible submissions but I’d be remised to not making one last reminded for those that were considering entering and losing track of the days as the deadline approaches. 

I decided to share another old sketch I did that would fall in line with this week’s #trialbycomics theme. I’ve prattled on about my undying love and adoration for Todd McFarlane and Greg Capullo and how much they’ve both inspired me to create comics. Around 2009, McFarlane, Capullo and Robert Kirkman collaborated on a title called Haunt, about two brothers. One was a failed priest and the other was the spirit of a recently deceased special ops agent […hard for McFarlane to diverge from that theme I guess].

The Comic Geek Speak podcast held a contest around 2011 and I entered it with my own rendition of Haunt. Freddie Williams II was the guest just, and my entry ended up being selected. You can still listen to the interview from "CGS: Episode 728" from their archives. This was one of the first projects I inked digitally with a Wacom Intuos. It was the perfect project to learn new digital art skills.

Thanks for reading and get those #trailbycomics entries sent in before the deadline. For more art and comics, photography, and thoughts on life, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. Love it. Followed...

Indeed an interesting post. Loved reading it. Upvoted and following u. Do review my post as well and provide your feedback if possible. It can change the life u lead. https://steemit.com/philosophy/@nainaztengra/how-to-cultivate-awareness

Already in this contest, and I will try to participate in the following contests. Keep it up and thanks for the follow! I followed you back.

that's a badass design. you should definitely figure out a way to participate on the next contest haha I know you're spearheading them, so in theory you can't but... there's always a way!

Great hosting! I'll hope to find time to participate again soon.

Please help me share the information about all the other art contests, challenges and collaborations on Steemit!

See Steemit Art Guide - Complete List of Challenges, Contests and Collaborations

Art Guide.png

And thanks for this wonderful event!

I am more of a photographer but i can also draw. I want to show people my drawing of superman, and see the reaction so that i know if i am good at drawing or not... i hope im not late for the challenge
https://steemit.com/trialbycomics/@vvinca/dali-entry-3-for-trial-by-comics-superhero-contesty

MacFarlane and Greg Capullo are two of my all-time favorites. There was just something about that style and Image Comics in the 90's... you do very good work - I've enjoyed it in my short time here.

Dear lord, good luck judging this, just went down and was browsing the hashtag, so many great entries, interpretations of the word Superhero itself. I know it isn't done yet, but congrats on throwing this contest in particular versus others I've seen on Steemit. I think process pics should be a requirement now and also all drawings just so everyones posts will be fuller plus, c'mon, process pics rule. I wonder if there should be separate contests for things drawn within the time frame of the contest versus drawings people had done already... cause I would have just submitted a drawing I had done for this one but I wanted to do something new, f.u. Irma for draining my time, but at least I'm alive with electricity so I better stop typing now and be appreciative.

Edit: I just noticed 5:00UTC is an hour from now, woohoo different time zones! Off to the literal drawing board.

Thanks for the info. :-)

Here's my recent post. Comments, suggestions, upvotes & resteem will highly appreciated. Thank you!

https://steemit.com/poetry/@athenabree08/appreciate-life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57