The Old Dog Presents: Tree Tuesday, Does it Hurt? 10 Steem in Prizes!

in #treetuesday6 years ago (edited)

We've all seen gnarly looking trees or trees with some type of growth on them. This tree though, took the term "gnarly growth" to a new extreme!


I saw this particular specimen last October when @lellabird60 and I visited the Barolo wine area in Northern Italy.


I wasn't exaggerating was I? That's one massive growth!


Here are a couple of more views of the same tree. Do you find it ugly, interesting or beautiful?

This Massive Growth is Known as a Burr or Burl


Although considered by many to be unsightly, burls do not generally cause harm to the tree. It is assumed that they are formed because of some form of stress which could be caused by any of the following:

  • fungi
  • bacteria
  • viruses
  • insect activity
  • animal activity
  • weather
  • human damage


Whatever the explanation for this particular Burl it is, without a doubt, the biggest one I have ever seen!

The Value of Burls


Way back when I worked as a furniture designer and cabinet maker the most expensive and beautiful wood that we used was burled. 

The British nature writer once referred to Burls as "like pearls in oysters". Just as a grain of sand in an oyster causes a valuable pearl to be formed so some type of stress within the tree causes a valuable burl to be formed!

Look at the Beautiful Patterns That These Burls Produce!



Above are some examples of what the wood looks like inside of a burl. Rare and precious!  Image Credit



Here's a jewellery/music box made with burled wood! So beautiful and precious! Photo from pixabay.com

Have You Seen a Tree With a Burl or Something Made From Burled Wood? 


If you have I'd like to see them and there are 10 Steem in rewards up for grabs!


Let's have some fun. Here are the rules for this contest:


  • Submit a picture of a burl on a tree or something made with burled wood. You can make a post using the tag #burled and I'll try to visit it but the photo must also be included in the comments below!
  • IMPORTANT: There must be a person in the photo (you or a friend) and the person must be holding a "sign" with the Steem logo (hand drawn or otherwise).
  • You can submit entries up until this post "expires" in 7 days


I really look forward to seeing burled trees and wood from your area of the world!


I hope that you enjoyed this article: "Tree Tuesday, Does it Hurt? 10 Steem Prize!"



Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

For the love of God I should enter. LOL On a more serious note. I was scammed Friday. They took 663.843 SBD and 21.641 token. They also spammed my comments and used up my bandwidth so my upvote is worthless. I have written two blogs on it. You can read all about it. I am sorry I cannot give you an upvote now but will when I get my power back. Thanks @kus-knee Blessings - Troy.

Wow I'm really sorry to read this. I'll try my best to help you earn it back. This post is important for security.

Yes, that's a burl. No logo or person though :(

@kus-knee I did the tree fingers to represent the steem logo in one of my burled tree photos in my blogpost.

Thank you so much my dear friend. I have gone through so many emotions from this - tears anger, depression etc. I will probably write more blogs on it to keep it alive and educate others so they are not scammed. Blessings my friend @kus-knee - Troy

God damn these scammers, let them lose more than they have stolen and let them learn a lesson. KARMA.

Hi i found this Ceiba tree in an important avenue of the city of Maracaibo. The formation of Burr or Burl is giant... I was surprised
IMG_20180307_165158.jpg

IMG_20180307_165231_1.jpg

https://steemit.com/treetuesday/@netcy/the-old-dog-presents-tree-tuesday-does-it-hurt-burl-is-giant

Wow that's a great example!

Awesome buddy!

here is my entry wow, great contest :)
https://steemit.com/treetuesday/@vee2180/tree-tuesday-kus-knee

I love your burl wood , I bought this little pots in Marocco on a market and the pattern in the wood is really cool , I don’t know from what kind of tree it is made of.

Very beautiful! Thanks so much for sending this to me!!!!

thank you :)

You are very welcome, glad I can join :)

Hi, here is my entry @kus-knee. Thanks for giving me a chance to be a part of this contest.

20180308_083614.jpg

20180308_083703.jpg

Good job and cute little girl!

Thank you so much @kus-knee. She is my daughter. Clicked these pictures in the morning on the way to her school. For that we need to leave early. She liked it. Thanks for your support.

I think you meant "Barolo wine" and not "Borolo". I took this pic bellow into the Hyde Park - London two months ago, and I did a post. It's so very interesting to know about that. For me it is not important to participate the contest, and I refuse to receive any reward for this photo. There isn't better or worst in my opinion, but distinct things, and all should receive for it. Unfortunately Steemit has become the social network of contests, witnesses, and bots. );

Very cool picture and thanks for the Barolo heads up. I fixed it!

Thank you...for nothing. (;

Thanks to you, I now know the name of these bizarre outgrowths on the trees. This is a birch cap. My grandmother kept a lot of vases and candy mats made of wood)

I have to share these photos with you. I know there are more of them than the conditions of the contest allow. So I do not take part in the competition, I just share photos with you)

1B0wQW4J6kw.jpg

dN76SyYxmTY.jpg

gBeAppUiiog.jpg

RG47c5ubtGM.jpg

photo147297.jpg

d3573zaxHAA.jpg

p_8Aq-2fuZQ.jpg

Really lovely photos and memories. Thanks. I wish that you would put a Steemit sign to make it official!

Oh, sorry, I did not read these rules. These are old photographs. But I will make signs next time!

I know that you are the master of photo shop and so you can "fix" one and enter it!

I thought the tree was pregnant,...... so thanks for this clear informative post.

Haha good one!

I live up in the mountain , and I guess its burl hunting time. 😁😁😁

Oh yes!!!
I love burly.
that is really quite an AMAZING tree.
Haven't seen anything quite that dramatic....seriously!!!
Here is a waddy nob for you @kus-knee!!

That's a beauty!!!!!!! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31