Quality sweets at the Complex

in #travelfeed4 years ago (edited)

After my Skywalk challenge, I decided to take a different route on my way back to the hotel in Singapore. I was not sure of the streets that I got into but I was ready for the adventure.

At the end of a short street which I later learned to be Keong Saik Road, this entrance of the Chinatown complex came into view when I got into a curve.

The smell of durian was already strong even when I was still far away. I got curious of what it has to offer aside from durian so I got in. I felt that the durian smell got all over me.

By the entrance is the 101 Fruits stand where I thought I saw only durians. By the time I got near, there were many customers trying to take their picks and I tried to squeeze to the front to have a good view. Indeed there were only durians.

To the right of the fruit stand is a candy stand with different sweets made from different fruits.

I turned right and wanted to get further into the complex. However, I was greeted by displays of watches and mobile phone accessories which I was not interested of. There could be more and different products inside but it was getting late at around seven in the evening.Though it was still bright in Singapore at seven in the evening, getting lost in a market complex is not something that I want to take.

I turned around and that was when I realized there seem to be a way to get further inside through the fruit stand.

A new set of customers were then in front of the fruit stand. With how busy the store crew was in weighing durians, I can say that the customers wee indeed buying even if I don't understand what they were saying. It was like a frenzy that customers squeeze into each other to get their pick.

I wonder what is so enticing with durian. I tried it in our country in Davao City but did not have the guts to keep going because I immediately felt the hot temperature it brings to the body. I started sweating.

I passed by the busy fruit stand and turned right to a glass shelf display of durians. This time the fruits were peeled and in plastic containers ready for eating.

To the left of the display shelf is a dining area with trash bins right beside each table. A few were there eating durian. That explains the pungent smell even from the outside of the complex.

Across the glass shelf is a candy stand which actually made me amused like a kid. There were so many candies in cute containers that I am sure will attract children to try when they see those.

When one of the store crew noticed me (I guess I was smiling at what was in front of me), she motioned to the price tag. One Singaporean dollar for 100 grams of candies. It was the more that I got excited. One is to a hundred. The big gap of the ratio created a convincing invitation in my head that it was low cost. Psychology of selling got me.

I checked the other displayed candies and noticed that there were packed into a bigger bag and there were those that were just poured into the table display. The price tag was the same though.

Above the candy display is this tarpaulin talking about Taiwan. So these are not products of Singapore? It made me curious to look up for ma shu and guo dong.

Ma Shu: Chinese translation of Japanese mochi which means sticky rice ball

Guo Dong: gelatin dessert

The store clerk kept motioning to me. She was convincing me to buy as she was actually holding the weighing pan to my front. I started to grab handfull of candies and put them on the weighing pan waiting in front of me. I tried to grab as different flavors as I can: tea, taro, peanut, mango and more...

With many options on display, I felt like grabbing them, throwing them on the air while catching each. Yes, that was how kiddie I was.

I was thinking of buying 500 grams in all. When I tried to ask by motioning how heavy those that I already put on the pan, she motioned that I put more. That's cool. As if she knows how many I wanted to buy. I stopped and motion her to put the pan on the scale. The reading hit 700 grams so I grabbed a handful to reduce the weight. She stopped me and said, "seven dollars all."

"No, just five." I said. She shook her head.

I am not sure if it is Chinese belief that it is bad if customer returns what they already took or if they just want to have more sales. I just know that they do not like their merchandises being returned. I am still the customer though. I insisted and shook my head too.

"No. Just five." I spoke firmer this time. I was ready to walk away if she insists. I guess she took the hint and nodded. "There, you should listen to your customer," I thought and started removing candies from the pan.

It was starting to get dark when I got out of the complex. I turned right from facing the street where I came from and came to a crossing with the New Bridge Road. I walked for few minutes to my right and saw this sign. Ah, this is where my dinner will be.

I went to my hotel room to leave the candies and got back along Smith Street where I enjoyed a fine street dinner. That was one cool and happy tummy way to end the day after the Skywalk challenge and sweet shopping of candies.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Steem divider 700.jpg


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures!
I agree that it is difficult to resist buying sweets after seeing them :-)))
I especially liked the last photo.

Thank you very much for dropping by my post!

The first reason why I wanted to buy was because they were cute! 😄 Then my curiosity of how they tasted... They were good! I actually just ate a few and brought the rest home to my family. They liked the different flavors. That was when I realized, I should have bought more. 😊

It’s good that you managed to get them home :-)))

@macoolette

Thank you for joining the #MarketFriday challenge! You really did a great job navigating the streets of Singapore and taking us through the different markets. I would have been tempted to buy a bag of those candies also at that price! When going through these markets, I am always tempted to pay in local money as I don't always keep up with the exchange rates.

You did a wonderful job of documenting and showing the fun you had. I know most people cannot tolerate the smell of durian, but love the taste! I hope you had a wonderful time and look forward to more markets from you.

As a note: Don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery, art galleries, or even a Christmas Market, wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Don't forget to use the hashtag #MarketFriday and @dswigle.

Please leave the link to your post here so it can easily be found by others. Make them available here, so we have them in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much!! ❤

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

20191130_115441.jpg


Except for the peddlers in Cambodia who accepted our Philippine peso, I don't remember any establishment in other countries that accepted other currencies than their local ones. In all other countries that I've been to, I had to buy for their local currency before my flight. Like you, that would save me from keeping up with the exchange rates. 😊

Thank you very much for dropping by my post! 😊

Almost everywhere I go, American Dollars are the preferred payment, however, I usually get local because they almost never give you a good exchange rate.

Cambodia accepted the peso? Wow.

That's amusing when other countries prefer US dollar as payment but yes, I would also prefer paying in local currency. I'd rather buy the local currency one time than to keep thinking about exchange rate every time I pay for something.

Yap, the peddlers in front of Angkor Watt accepted our peso. My friend and I were actually surprised when one of the kid peddlers said so. When adult peddlers joined, they confirmed that it is okay for them. That was cool.

I know!! LOL I thought it to be quite amusing!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #711.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team and got an upvote from @blocktrades to support your work. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of the Haveyoubeenhere community:


Thank you very much @steemitworldmap, @livinguktaiwan and @blocktrades! 😊💖😊

Durians seems to be quite popular over there as in Thailand do you eat it also ?

I once tried to bear the smell and had some of it but that was it. I do not want to try again because it is so warm in the body. How about you? You eat them?

I honestly don't like the smell either but i do eat them and not when they are ripe i like them half ripe they have a better taste like eating a cashew nut.

Half ripe? Won't it taste bland if it's half ripe? Maybe I should order for half ripe ones and give it a try. 😊

I suppose everyone has a different taste but try it a little over half ripe but not soft and then let me know. Sorry for the late reply been so busy with Christmas parties.

Wishing you and family a lovely joyful Christmas my dear friend 🎅 🎄 🎅

Everyone is busy these days so no apologies needed. I hope you had a blessed Christmas and prosperous new year! 🌞🎉💥🎊💥🎉🌞

Thank you my friend had a great Christmas and looking forward to a great New Year and i hope yours was just as great. Enjoy my friend and have a awesome New Year 🙂

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macoolette
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=quality-sweets-at-the-complex


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

🎁 Hi @macoolette! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7500 comments. Your next target is to reach 8000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78