A day at the museum: Understanding more of our culture and history

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

It has been a while since I posted the first part of my post about our visit to our National Museum with my friend. As I mentioned on the first post, I have hundreds of photos from that one-day visit. Let me share a few more of those photos now.

One of the arts that captured my attention the most is the former Senate hall. The hall soars three stories to the top of the building like a cathedral. The first floor is totally empty where visitors roam around. The second floor is like a mezzanine to the first while the third floor is space. It was first used as the Senate hall in 1949 until 1996 when the Senate transferred to another building in Pasay City. In 1998, the session hall and the entire building was turned over to National Museum. The hall has been restored and retouched as to how it is today.

Except for the front wall which has the entrance, all three other walls of the first floor are full of crisp beautiful paintings.
20190324_114917.jpg

The paintings depict a lot about Filipinos from history - their battle against foreign invaders and the hardships of life in those days.
20190324_115228.jpg

20190324_114842.jpg

Here is the view from the second floor.
20190324_121201.jpg

I was amazed by the paintings. I have actually been wishing that at least one panel of our walls at home will have wall-size painting. I wonder what the painting be and when it will happen... After sating my eyes with the paintings, we moved on to another hall.

The next painting depicts the conflict of tri-people in Mindanao, the southern island of our country. Tri-people refers to the Moro (Muslims), the Lumad (indigenous people) and Christians. History has it that the Moros were intact and has relative control over the island long time ago. The Lumads were also intact and in control of the forest and mountains. Then Spaniards came and convert people (mostly from the northern part) into Christianism. Again, history has it that the coming of Christian settlers has further class divisions that we see until now in that part of the country.
20190324_121830.jpg
This is another amazing work of art. The caption says it is oil on canvass but the canvass looked like a woven cloth to me. You will notice the tassels on the sides and at the bottom. If this was painted on a woven cloth then the artist must be very good and very patient. I can only imagine the challenges with all the small details.

Moving on to another hall, we have 3D artifacts this time.

Beside this glass cube is a TV showing indigenous people using this craft. It never occurred to me what it was until I checked the caption. Guess what it is! Bamboo tobacco container! Yes, that is what this is. At first I thought it is a coin bank, like that bamboo that my elder brother used to make me a coin bank from. The paintings are of synthetic dyes. The set was said to be gift of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) to a Director Barns who I supposed to be Jeremy Barns according to the NCCA website. It was in turn turned over to Ehtnology Division.
20190324_121922.jpg

If you can't read the caption on the following photo, maybe you can guess what are in there. What they are also did not occur to me until I checked the caption. These are tops. Spinning tops, that is. These are made of wood and metal that are painted. The boys my age played spinning tops during my childhood but not something like this. I know the version of spinning tops that have straps and were way smaller than these. As I quote from the caption "The form of these tops is similar to the gasing of Malaysia and Brunei Darussalam... These were bought by the donor from a Manila antique dealer..." I wonder how I can spin these with the big sizes.
20190324_121956.jpg

Now here are native crafts which the one on the right looks familiar to me. That means these are from the northern part of the country because I am from there.
Let's start from the left-most item. It is a basket called ulbong and is made of rattan and bamboo by the Ifugao's (a province and also tribe name in northern Luzon).

The one in the middle is a backpack called bango by the Ifugao's too. It does not look like a backpack upfront. I haven't figured that until I checked the caption. The caption has a photo of the back of the backpack so I was able to imagine the straps. It is made of rattan, bamboo and pine needles. The pine needles are included to protect the backpack and repel water.

The third one is a basket called kayabang by the Ibaloi's or natives of Benguet province. This is used for collecting farm produces. It is carried on the head through a strap and protected at the back.
20190324_122308.jpg

As usual, colors catch my eyes so I did not let this just pass by. It is a mat called tepo from Southern Palawan. It is made of pandan and synthetic dyes. These are traditionally used as sleeping mats and are also used as prayinh mats. Tradition has it that weaving mats like this is exclusively done by women. I guess because of our diligence to details and beauty. 😃
20190324_122411.jpg

Now on to another hall where more 3Ds crafts are. There are a lot in the hall. Let me show you at least three of them.

The title caption of this one says "Eshu" and no description so I had to research. Let me just quote Wikipedia:

Eshu (Yoruba: Èṣù, also known as Echú, Exu or Exú) is an Orisha in the Yoruba religion of the Yoruba people (originating from Yorubaland, an area in and around present-day Nigeria). As the religion has spread around the world, the name of this Orisha has varied in different locations, but the beliefs remain similar.[1]

It is made of gold-cast marble and volcanic cinder. The artist was Agnes Arellano way back in 1997. The Wikipedia descrition mentioned Nigeria so I wonder what inspired the artist to create this craft and worthy for a space in a National Museum. Maybe that's an assignment for me.
20190324_122647.jpg

This next carving is the "Doxology" by Julie Lluch. It is made of terracotta and acrylic. Wait, that's terracotta? It looked like a wood carving. For a moment I stared at it. The woman's lamentation seem real, I thought I felt the pain. It is not just a doxology but an outcry to high heavens. Goosebumps! I moved on...
20190324_122738.jpg

Finally, here is a real wood carving from molave tree by Rey Paz Contreras. The title says Paglalakbay which means journey. I lost my artistic perspective. How does this depicts life's journey? Please help elaborate back to me... 😃
20190324_122753.jpg

That's about it for now for the second installment of our museum visit. Let's see if I can make a third one... 😊

Steem divider 700.jpg

Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Steem divider 700.jpg

Sort:  

Hello there, @macoolette.

Thanks for letting us experiencing a bit of this incredible collection of History and Art of the Philippines. As a Westerner, this is a part of History that is mostly ignored by our Educational System.

I loved the paintings but what I enjoyed the most were the incredible inventions such as the backpack.

Thanks for your article and accompanying photos! 🙌

Hi there @trincowski!

Thanks too fror dropping by! Yes, sometimes it is amusing to discover new things that you never expected to have existed. The arts alone are amazing. Add to that the story behind each of them that provides lesson and insights. Education and fun in one! 😊

Wow, this was a nice post @macoolette. Catching up a bit, just now had the opportunity to read it. Very impressive place and understandable your interest in it. I have no artistic talent, but I do enjoy seeing it and "through your eyes" this was a lot of fun.

The paintings in the Senate Hall look backlit. Is that so? If it is, I wonder how that was done.

Through my eyes... I like that! 😊 How are you, @roleerob?

Yes, the paintings in the old Senate hall are backlit. I did not scrutinize that part in detail but I think the paintings were used as double-walls and the lights are between them and the main wall. Now that you mentioned it, I realized this is one thing that I shoud be more conscious of next time. 😊

Thanks for the confirmation @macoolette. The images in your post reminded me of the "window" in my office, before I retired - an LED backlit picture, which I wrote about in this post, if you want to take a quick look at it.

Just like with our conversation about stained glass earlier, I really like the effect of light passing through vs. just shining on ... My office picture meant a lot to me, as it was of a very special place and the quality was remarkably high. It was like I could almost walk into it and away from the stressful environment there ...

I am doing okay, working steadily on my "tar baby" project - a database to calculate the taxes my family owes for our investment into "digital assets." Maybe when finished, I will write a post about it.

Wonderful arts @macoolette 😉 I can see that we have some similar things like the spinning (we need a rattan knout or something strong but flexible to whip the spinning wood to keep moving😊 Gasing is the same word for it in Indonesia, it's a melanesia traditional play) the tepo is call Tikar Pandan😊 and woman is the best matmaker 😉

If I can look at the last art work from all direction.. I think I know why it tittlef the journey. It's a woman inside the womb or the case or the box.. you can consider the pole that hold it like something we have in the real life, it could be principes, values, process or whatever.. or we just can simply consider it as a swing where we sleep when we're a baby and the carriage which will take us to the our deathbed.. cemetary 😊.. it's just my opinion, but you'd better ask the artist about it😊 because we need to understand the materials he use to make it too😊

Thanks for sharing.. and I like the colour of the wall painting too

Ahhh... It's funny that I didn't even see the woman in the middle. You indeed have keen eyes on artworks. You also did great in analyzing it. 😊 Yeah, the artist may have a different meaning for the wood craft but at least you were able to visualize something while I'm totally blank. 😃

Yap, the colors of the paintings are eye-catchers. 😊

Visiting there must be such an amazing experience i was so drawn in and wanting to see more from the first shot so much colorful and beautiful art, thanks for sharing with us

Colorful. Indeed, that's the keyword. It is the first thing that draws to me to an art and can't get enough looking at it.

Thanks too for dropping by.

always a pleasure to visit ;)

Howdy macoolette! what an amazing place that is! I love museums and I agree that the paintings are the most wonderful. Most of the artwork I don't understand though but what a great place to learn about culture! well done.

Oh well, I am apparently the opposite because I am not too excited about museums. I try to learn and appreciate what's out of my line though. 😊

Oh I understand that they can be boring and not relevant to today but I still find them interesting and you did a great job of showcasing it!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @smeralda and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macoolette
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-day-at-the-museum-understanding-more-of-our-culture-and-history


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #503.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thank you for these very nice insights!

You're welcome.

You got a 34.43% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62