Magnetic!

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

DDH_9949.jpg

After I made the photo from the post below: https://steemit.com/monomad/@lightcaptured/377-seconds-of-eternity-2018-10-6-23-28-35, along with few more, of course, we had to quickly head to our next stop for that night, a small guest house in the Northwestern part of Iceland. Unfortunately, we couldn't stay any longer at Hvitserkur since our next place to rest for the night was more than 30 kilometers away, mostly on small gravel roads and we couldn't contact the guest house over the phone to warn them we're running late. So we were in a hurry!


On our way there, we conducted a long bur fruitful, LMAO, discussion about what that giant rock looks like. In my imagination it was only one thing - the head of a giant Viking, partially hiding his face under the water, a huge petrified guard, protecting the beautiful saturated green valleys and mountains of Iceland from invaders coming out of the Atlantic Ocean. See for yourself below, I cannot be wrong, can I? :) His eyes, looking at you and all...

DDH_9840.jpg

Did I mention I almost lost my life there? The shore at that place there is quite high and steep, moreover I had to climb it in complete darkness with my more than 10 kilograms backpack full with expensive photo equipment and holding my heavy tripod in my left hand. Of course, my headlight was forgotten in the trunk of the car, waiting for me along with my friends on the top. I was losing balance at least five times, and I had to grab whichever big stone I could just to avoid falling down. It was an unforgettable experience, indeed! Anyways, it is obvious I survived that night :) My knees were shaking long after I got to the top and entered the warm inside of the car with my friends waiting for me.

Later, after several minutes of driving, I had to jump on the brakes!

Quite unexpectedly, we saw the magical Aurora Borealis! At first it was hard to notice it but as the night was getting thicker and even darker, if that was possible at all, the Aurora was getting stronger and more playful ;)

DDH_9858.jpg


DDH_9849.jpg

By the way, those two pictures above, I'm sharing for the very first time here for my fellow Steemians! :) I hope you enjoy them :)

Unfortunately, we could not afford to spend too much time enjoying the Northern Lights, we had to hurry to our guest house.

Once we checked in, it wasn't flawless in case you wonder, we had a quick snack, and of course, we decided to go out for the night and make as many photos as possible until we freeze or fall asleep :) It was the end of August, as I mentioned, but at 3 AM it was minus 4 degrees Celsius! Pretty refreshing, no? :)))


Few photos I've made that night:

DDH_9909.jpg

(Impression, the only passing vehicle that night, a truck and I'm happy I managed to mix its lights with the Aurora)


DDH_9938.jpg

(At the Atlantic Ocean)


DDH_9932.jpg

(What would be a great journey with no proper selfie of us the three, touching the Heavens? :P)

Thank you!

Copyright: Damian Hadjiyvanov, Light Captured
If you want to use any of my visuals, please drop me a message, I'm at Discord: lightcaptured#2698


SteemitBannerLightCaptured400px.jpg

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest, curated by @itchyfeetdonica. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Much appreciated, @steemitworldmap!

Steem on! :)

Hello @lightcaptured, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Much appreciated, @creativecrypto!

I'm looking forward to that too ;)

Steem on!

Happy you managed that climb in the dark, my friend! It seems it is a common thing among people like us.

I had similar climbing n the dark experience. The possibility of rolling down as few as fifteen meters did also scare me on that occasion. So far I have only experienced falling from about one meter or less during a test climbing and I landed on my side. But I can tell you I did feel the slow-motionness of it. It also did not help much. No serious damage, anyway.

I plan visiting a place maybe next summer but with the help of people who can actually climb, and equip me properly, and help.

Good luck and health, and see you around!

Thank you, Manol ;)
Lesson learnt, indeed :D
I think your plan is great, we have to be prepared as much as possible ;)

Steem on! :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lightcaptured
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=magnetic


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @rimicane and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Much appreciated, dear friends!

Steem on!


SteemitBannerLightCaptured400px.jpg

Dear @lightcaptured,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Such an honor another of my stories being included, @archisteem!
You make me proud!

We just love the lights and the adventure :) Please do more of them and thanks @lightcaptured :)

@adyorka, it was you who gave me that last push so I find the time to share that story ;) Thank you and have a great new week :)

Wow oh wow, what beautiful images! Those last 2 shots are just magical in every way. I’ve never seen the Northern Lights, but its on my list, I hope I get to someday soon. Thanks for sharing. :)

Thank you so much, @lilyraabe! My photo travel was totally worthy and I wish you tick that item from your list sooner. You won't forget seeing, and feeling the Aurora :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

You got a 2.05% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @lightcaptured!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99