On The Road To Nomad - Day 6 (5/23/18) Missouri through Iowa to South Dakota

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Can you believe it's been 6 days already? Last night just as we were getting ready to pack it in for the night Julia looks up at the ceiling in the kitchen of our trailer and her eyes get all wide while her mouth opens in a little O of surprise. I look up and see about 150 flying bugs, WTF! They were either very large gnats or very small mosquitos. Whatever they were they needed to go away and they needed to go away NOW! I guess now is a good time to review the Dirt Devil Quick Lite Plus. For sucking up small flying bugs I give the Dirt Devil a 5 star rating. For vacuuming dirt and shit off of your floors, meh.

We left the beautiful but bug infested Lewis and Clark State Park and set off for our next stop at the KOA in North Sioux City South Dakota.

We kept passing these Lewis and Clark signs to denote the Lewis and Clark Historical Trail


Here I thought these guys were explorers and it turns out all they did was stand around pointing at shit all day.


The drive itself was relatively uneventful (which is just how we like it) and we passed into Iowa shortly after noon.

IMG_0352.jpg



At one point during our drive across a portion of Americas Heartland I felt something down by my foot and looked down and saw that this had apparantly fallen out of our laptop bag.
IMG_0181.jpg



So I say "Why is there a mouse down by my foot?" @juliabreheny says "WHAT?" in a very alarmed voice, to which I replied "Why is there a mouse down by my foot?" By this point I could tell she was just about to jump out of the truck which was moving at about 65 MPH down the highway so I quickly made it a point to tell her it was a computer mouse. Our son Nick just sat in the back seat laughing his ass off.


Shortly after 2:00 p.m. we passed into South Dakota which meant we were only 5 minutes from our final destination for the day.


IMG_0361.jpg



We unhooked the trailer and set up then headed back into Iowa to hit the Fareway grocery store. This was a really cool place and I'm sure my wife @juliabreheny will have some nice things to say about it in her post.

Tomorrow we will be staying at another KOA (even though we prefer the State Parks) in Kennebec, South Dakota.

Miles travelled = 252 miles

I hope you are enjoying reading about our adventures as much as we are enjoying having them. If there's something you would like to see in these posts feel free to leave a comment and I'll do my best to make it happen.

For our prior day adventures check out my previous days posts:
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5

Lewis and Clark Historical Trail sign image courtesy of worldofsigns.com

Sort:  

The next time he says there is a mouse by his foot right after we stop for gas out in the middle of nowhere in the midwest may be the last day I am here on earth as yes, I was ready to jump out of the truck.

Sorry babe, From this moment on we will call them PC pointer movement devices. "Hey, why is there a PC pointer movement device by my foot?"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49