Duomo Di Milano - Exploring Milan #1

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

MAJESTIC DUOMO DI MILANO


Duomo Di Milano is the most impressive Gothic structure at Piazza del Duomo located in the main city square of Milan, Italy’s fashion and fiscal capital.


1 (17).jpg


Its the fifth largest Christian church in the world. It is surrounded by shops, boutiques and little cafes and is accessible easily at the center of the city. Milan being the fashion capital, one can find some of the best brands and stores like Prada, Dolce Gabbana, and one of the worlds oldest shopping mall the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II.
Whether you are here for fashion, or museum tour or just for a walk, you cannot miss this structure standing tall and in the heart of the city.
The Gothic cathedral took nearly six centuries to complete Covering 109,641 square feet.


3 (21).jpg


During my time in Milan, I have spent many hours marveling at the Duomo, sitting there looking at the most incredible view, every angle is simply breathtaking, watching street performances, shopping around (more like window shopping) and eating gelatos.
I have visited The Duomo approximately seven times during my stay and every time I have tried taking pictures, but nothing could capture its marvelous beauty.


11 (12).jpg


IMG_20170106_114212.jpg


STREET PERFORMANCES AT PIAZZA DEL DUOMO



7 (16).jpg


Mark Twain wrote in The Innocents Abroad Source


What a wonder it is! So grand, so solemn, so vast! And yet so delicate, so airy, so graceful! A very world of solid weight, and yet it seems in the soft moonlight only a fairy delusion of frost-work that might vanish with a breath! How sharply its pinnacled angles and its wilderness of spires were cut against the sky, and how richly their shadows fell upon its snowy roof! It was a vision! — a miracle! — an anthem sung in stone, a poem wrought in marble!
Howsoever you look at the great cathedral, it is noble, it is beautiful! Wherever you stand in Milan or within seven miles of Milan, it is visible and when it is visible, no other object can chain your whole attention.

I cant think of better words to describe it.


5 (20).jpg


9 (11).jpg


The construction of the Duomo di Milano initiated in 1386 on the site of the ancient basilicas of Santa Tecla and Santa Maria Maggiore, which were then demolished at a later date. Dedicated to Maria Nascente, the cathedral was commissioned by Gian Galeazzo Visconti and had a dual purpose: the plan was to replace the sites of worship in the heart of Milan with an imposing edifice and it was also intended to celebrate the Visconti Signoria and its ambitious expansion policy. It is the largest and most complex Gothic building in Italy, made of pink-veined white marble from the Candoglia quarries, in the Val d'Ossola. It is 157 meters in length and covers an area of 11,700 m2. The highest spire measures 108.5 and, in October 1774, the golden 4,16 meter-high statue of the Madonna by the sculptor Giuseppe Perego was placed on its pinnacle. Source

CATHEDRAL


If the outside is so grand and majectic , imagine the inside of this structure


33 (8).jpg


29(1).jpg


16 (9).jpg


14 (16).jpg

The golden statue of the Madonna

Sculptures at Duomo Cathedral are a true work of art in themselves.


15873471_1624702030873584_776434073656939822_n.jpg

Statue of St Bartholomew Flayed by Marco d’Agrate


Stained glass windows are impressive depicting the biblical scenes. It was magical and a treat for the eyes. the light playing with the colorful windows making the whole place mysterious.


19 (13).jpg


30 (8).jpg


18 (16).jpg


Great architecture and incredible art


20 (15).jpg


26 (7).jpg


34 (5).jpg


I hope you enjoyed reading my post and I am grateful for every Upvote, Resteem, and Comment. Until next time! 😍

All photos and by itravelarts

Love. Swati ❤️

Follow me @itravelarts

Sort:  

What a beautiful Duomo! I've never been to Milan even though it's just 4 hours away by car. I'm not that fond of crowds and I heard that it's always packed with tourists.

Thank you for showing us the interior too. It's magnificent! Oh, and I loved to learn about the history. If I would ever get to Milan I wouldn't have to look it up anymore :)

where are you from?
It is always packed with tourist and even for a persom like me who is afraid of being in crowd, i loved this place, i would sit till midnight here just so to see and have my moment alone when everyones retured.
Thank you for stopping by <3
Love

I live in Switzerland - not that far away from Zurich. I might go in late autumn or in winter. I guess it will be less tourists during that time :) I also feel uncomfortable being in a crowd.. I feel like I can't breathe..

What I have seen, whether autumn, summer or winters, it always crowded, being the center and around the shopping malls.
If I am not wrong Swiss National Museum is in Zurich ..right? I once saw a post aboiyt it and ever since then wanted to visist Landesmuseum ..

and thank you for feauting this post..Cant be more happy..Much love and power to you

Yes, Landenmuseum is in Zurich. I've never been there myself as it't very big so you need one full day for it.

My pleasure ❤ I enjoy your blog and think you deserve more visibility 😊

howdy there this fine Thursday night itravelarts! oh my gosh! this magnificent Cathedral is one of the greatest things I've ever seen. I agree with Mark Twain.."an anthem sung in stone ..a poem wrought in marble"
This has to go on my bucket list. amazing post, I loved it!
vote is still recharging today, I'm sorry.

hahaha...no worries about the votes..just glad that you liked it <3
thank you for stopping by..
love

howdy this fine Friday itravelarts! it's my pleasure, your blog is so opposite of mine that it's like another world and that's why I love it! plus you're a great artist and writer!

they are ..but I think that's the beauty..we learn from others..I have never read so much information about cowboys in my entire life, but thanks to you I know a bit now in just a few days..I love reading them..I actually googled too about cowboys after reading your blog.."History of Indian cowboys'..hahaha..which I never would have done if it wasnt for yoy .<3
Thank you for your kind words.. Love

ha! well my main goal, usually, is to bring some accurate historical information to people to educate and dispell some of the Hollywood myths about the Old West but do it in such a way that it isn't boring. Force people to learn history in an entertaining way..like the post i did on myths of the Old West. that was really fun.

thanks so much, that is really cool!

Great pictures! I enjoyed reading your post. Italy is on my travel list next year,I hope I will get to see the Dome of Milan 😊

Thank you for stopping by ...Much love
I hope you do..and please don't miss going to the top of the Duomo.Its a beautiful from the top, you can see the whole city, bright and beautiful and also get to see some statues up close.

These pictures are exciting to look at on my computer at work. Its just like you are bringing Italy to me. I love to travel but I am constantly stuck with papers and folders than I would like to. I am pretty Impressed with the Night and day shot of the Duomo Di Milano which brings a perspective to it. Nice job! 👍

thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a beautiful comment.
I loved going to Duomo by evening and would enjoy looking at streets, people posing, just enjoying thr time with loved ones, and slowly it gets peaceful and more beautiful as night comes..It was magical

Such beautiful photos, and I totally understand the problem with adequately portraying the sheer magnificence of this Duomo! Years ago I took a group of art students to Italy and we visited so many of these ... none of my photos truly captured their essence :)

Thank you again for sharing!

Thank you..and i am glad you share my views..
do you teach art? would love to know more about it.

I taught at a Fine Arts High School, but taught English and History :) I was lucky enough to get on this trip and learned so much along with the kids :)

As an aside, I just realized that @delishtreats featured you in a Pay it Forward contest entry (I'm one of the judges); you should consider joining us next week with an entry of your own :) We'd love to have you there!

It would be my pleasure to be a part of pay it forward. And so nice of you to invite me.. Thank you.. Since the day I have been on this platform, every one is so helping and humble.. I really love this place 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

That's great to hear @itravelarts! I've found people here are incredibly kind as well 😅

FYI, here is the link to this weeks' contest; it just came out today 😅

I am so glad that @delishtreats has decided to feature you in the curation for @pifc this week! I would have never seen this otherwise.
I understand the feeling of not being able to always capture the feel of a place. I think you did an extraordinary job with the photos. I am particularly glad you chose to include the interior shots.
Thank you so much for sharing your adventure with us.

Thank you..and I am glad that @delishtreats is featuring me..I feel honoured..

You are welcome. I look forward to exploring your blog more in future. I love that you include so many great photos along with the information.

Another fantastic article! I love visiting cathedrals, but it's been a long time since I could visit one. Thanks for taking us on this tour.

I am glad to know you liked it..I can never get tired of going back to Duomo. Not because I am spritual but it was just magical.So much art at a single place.

This is absolutely gorgeous. This is now high on my wishlist for travel. Thank you so much for sharing!

Thank you for stopping by...Glad to know I could add something to your wish list.I would highly recommend this place. Do not miss going to the roof, the view is amazing thr, I could not take a picture as my camera battery died but one cannot miss it.
Loads of love <3

That sounds divine! Thank you for the suggestion!!!
Where is your favorite place to visit?

Wow, so much information! Great post; I've found you thanks to @deishtreats and the @pifc!

They have been amazing and I am thankful to them for sharing my post..thank you for stopping by and appreciating my work 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

It is well deserved; keep up the good work!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

thank you..<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88