Walk with me - a day in Amden

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Another weekend, another day trip!

Last week I said that I probably wouldn't go to the mountains this year anymore, but I couldn't resist. My legs don't hurt that much, and my doctor said that an easy walk will help healing so we decided to go to Amden that is also known as the "sun terrace".

The village is at 900 meters above sea level and there are many hiking trails to several mountain summits. We usually come here with our visitors as the walk is very easy, the air is fresh and the views are beautiful.

DSC_0088.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

swoosh stretched.png

Amden is a village in the canton of St. Gallen. The first mention of Amden dates back to 1178. For many years, there was no infrastructure between Amden and the valley. The road to the village was built at the end of the 19th century. Until then, the village was dependent on its own resources. Today, it's a winter as well as summer sports paradise.

In the middle of the photo, between those two mountains, you can see Amden.

DSC_0003.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

Here, the village is on the left side..

There is a hiking trail from where we stand that will lead you to the village. We chose to go by car as I believe this is not that kind of walking that my orthopedist was referring to 😊

DSC_0004.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

Between the village and the valley there is a parking place where you can pull over your car, walk around and enjoy the views of the lake Walensee. This is another point where you can start your hike to Amden.

The lake is 15.5 km long, 2 km wide and its maximum depth is 145 m.

DSC_0011.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

Now we are looking at the Kerenzenberg in the Glarus Alps. This area is popular for its hiking trails as well.

DSC_0013.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

Majestic Rautispitz (in the back) overlooking the region.

DSC_0015.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

This is the village where we started our tour. It's called Weesen.

DSC_0020.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/8 18 mm

The mountains raise steeply from the Walensee and it was challenging to build roads to the villages. Swiss engineers resolved this problem by building the roads into the rock walls. You can see how the road is built inside the rock walls.

DSC_0021.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/8 18 mm

This is how it looks like.. Let's continue to Amden!

DSC_0025.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/8 18 mm

swoosh stretched.png

Here we are!

DSC_0030.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

On the right side there is Mattstock - it was one of the most feared mountains in Amden in the past. Can you see the avalanche barriers? The most disastrous avalanche accident hit Amden in 1844. There were many avalanches before the barriers were built. Thanks to the barriers, this doesn't happen anymore.

DSC_0036.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

On the left is Leistchamm - the highest mountain in the Ammler range. I have heard that the trail is very steep, but the views are worth the effort.

Our path road today is perfect for a relaxing walk.

DSC_0038.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

Are you asking where we go? We follow the path road to an observation platform with amazing views of the lake and surrounding mountains. It's only about 1 km long walk.

DSC_0040.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

The sun terrace is the right name for Amden. We have been here many times and it was always sunny.

DSC_0042.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

There are a few small farms on the way. The cows walk freely, so watch your step 😊

They are used to people around them and don't seem to be bothered by us at all.

DSC_0051.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

Look at this! I think that's a clear message of what they think of us 😊

We tried to talk to them and asked them to turn around, but they ignored us. It could have been a language issue as we spoke Dutch to them😊

When we almost gave up, a couple of hikers with a Bichon Frise (dog) showed up. The dog was running around the cows and they started to play with him. They were running and chasing him around. It was so much fun. People were stopping by, looking at them and taking videos. It was so fascinating that I forgot to take photos..

After the owners took the dog and left, the cows lost their interest again.

DSC_0053.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

You can rent a holiday house anytime during the year. Can you imagine your vacation here?

DSC_0056.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

There are some magical places on our way..

DSC_0059.jpg
ISO 100 1/80 sec. f/8 18 mm

These sculptures were created by Franz Baumberger, an artist and philosopher who was born in Amden.

DSC_0060.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

There are three of them - it's a prehistoric stone with carvings which stands out because of its unusual shape.

DSC_0062.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/11 18 mm

The last part of our walk is a little bit steeper, but I managed and we made it to the platform!

DSC_0067.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

For those who are interested there is a board with names of all mountains that can be seen from the observation deck.

DSC_0071.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

It was a foggy day and we couldn't see everything clearly..

DSC_0074.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

The air here is so fresh and it was also warmer than in the valley..

DSC_0085.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

DSC_0088.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

DSC_0091.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

DSC_0093.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

This gives some perspective on steepness of the rock wall. For safety reasons there is a fence around the platform.

We ate our snacks and returned back to the car.

DSC_0097.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

Going to the mountains is the best what we can do during foggy weekends. And we have many of those in autumn and winter in Schaffhausen area.

DSC_0102.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

I was surprised to see a lonely dandelion in the middle of October.

20181021_132708.jpg
Samsung Galaxy S7

Before we got to the car we noticed that we were above clouds 😊 That was a very nice way to finish our walk..

DSC_0106.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 18 mm

swoosh stretched.png

I must say that this short walk helped me to release the pain. Now I'm not that afraid anymore and I'm already preparing a plan for the next weekend.

20181021_121618.jpg
Samsung Galaxy S7

I hope you have enjoyed our walk today.

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

As usually, all photos are taken by my Nikon D3200 AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II (except of the ones indicated in the text)

swoosh stretched.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Oh I really enjoyed your post, so beautiful over there, amazing pictures. I added Amden to my "to see in this lifetime list". I would love to climb that road with my bike one day. Happy to hear you recovered well after the surgery.

I would say you were crazy if I didn't see other people biking this hill and other mountains in Switzerland, lol. You should come, you will love it. I'm still recovering, but I feel much better. Thank you Dan!

ohhh wow... there are so many beautiful pictures here... Its hard to believe you aren't a professional photographer... you capture the moments in a breathtaking fashion! Thank you for sharing your talent Martina! :)

I wish I would be a professional photographer :) But it's very flattering to hear that you enjoy seeing my photos, Dave. Thank you for your kind words!

Such a great selection of beautiful photos - do take it really easy though Please don’t overdo it just for a desire to post here!! I hope your pain is not too bad - turmeric is a great anti inflammatory and pain killer - do make some ginger and turmeric tea to help heal yourself ❤️🌈🍀🦋🤗

No worries my dear. I was sitting at home all week and couldn't stand it anymore :) I had a small surgery last week. My condition is very strange and I keep hearing the word 'special' from the doctors. Sometimes I feel like they will write a book about me, lol. BUT it's better after the surgery. I might need one more but this is what they'll tell me in 8 days once I go there to check it..

Ginger and turmeric tea is a great idea! Shall I cook water with them or just leave them sitting in hot water?

Thank you for stopping by my dear Sallybeth!

Simmer the ginger and turmeric in a few cups of water for about 15 mind then let it cool slightly before adding honey and lemon to taste. Xxx

Thank you for the tip sweet girl!

So beautiful, I love going to Walensee too, along the lake to Quinten then going back by boat. It is indeed always sunny, facing the south and protected by the Churfirsten mountains, even palm trees grow! Feels bit like Ticino already.

Glad to hear that you are better and able to enjoy the mountains.

I think I got some better feeling with cows, they were quite curious with me haha

29F4B61D-44F4-49D2-98AA-AB4791F27013.jpeg
(On the way up to Pilatus)

I love the color of the lake and that it's changing during the day depending on the sun. It can be so blue that if you take some photos people might think that you manipulated the color :)

I have heard a lot about Quinten but haven't been there yet. Is it worth it? I wonder if it's not overly crowded? I guess it's very popular.

You never know with cows. Some of them come to you and want you to scratch their head and other wouldn't even turn around. Maybe they had their siesta time :)

Thank you for visiting :)

Absolutely breathtaking place Martina and your images are magnificent 😊

By the way, what is wrong with your legs?

Thank you for stopping by Lena :)

I was born with some issues (I can tell you on discord) and now I'm in process of getting it fixed as it started to hurt..

Oh I see! That must be very difficult, especially for someone who likes to walk a lot like you. If you like to write more details, feel free to send me an email Martina and I wish you fast healing 🌸💖🌸

I look at your pictures and my heart shrinks from the fact that there are such beautiful places on Earth....I've never been in a mountain like this. It's something magical! Beauty!

You should come to Switzerland. There are many beautiful places like this one here :)

Awesome pics and the place is very beautiful. I would walk there everyday with that scenery. Going up a mountain is an amazing experience the view you have there is absolutely breath taking. Thanks for sharing your walk.

Where are you based? Do you have similar landscape close to you?

Thank you for stopping by! I'm glad that you liked it!

Oh I'm from the Philippines and the closest landscape we have here is a lake with a volcano.

Wow, that is some amazing photographs! In the first photo, are you above the clouds, or is it a weird reflection from water... I think it is above clouds, but I'm not 100 percent sure!

Yes, we are above clouds. It actually happens quite often in the Alps :) It feels so cool! It's like you were in heaven :)

Thank you for stopping by @bengy!

Howdy there delishtreats! My gosh that looked so high that you guys were! I mean you're looking down on clouds..it seems like it would be hard to breath even. lol.
I know the fog hampered a little bit of the views but it also gave a really cool effect. With the sun shining I didn't think the fog would still be there but I guess in the mountains it's different.

Well, this is a wonderful post and I'm thankful that you were able to make the trip!

Good morning cowboy!

Hahaha, of course it's not difficult to breathe there :) It's just about 1000 m above sea level :)

Yes, I think as well that the effect was cool but I when it's a clear day, the lake is very blue and it would be nice to show. The conditions in the mountains change very quickly and the fog above the lake is normal. We also have it here around the river. All town looks like in a cloud and then you climb up the hill and you realize it's a sunny day :)

Thank you for visiting Jonboy! :) It's always nice to have you over here!

@nickeyhavey. Thanks for resteeming this one.

@delishtreats, what a fun experience that was! My wife just informed me you typically post this type of content so I’m gonna get a front row view now, followed. 👍🏿

Happy Monday from Los Angeles.

Yes definitely follow @delishtreats as there are some amazing photos, details and storytelling in her posts!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you Nicky! You are very kind!

Is your wife @puravidaville? If so, then I'm looking forward to following your travel adventures! :)

Yes, I post mostly about my travel and I'm planning to share some details from my vegan life as well.

Thank you for visiting! It's always nice to know that I gained a new follower! :)

Happy Tuesday from Schaffhausen (CH)!

Well don’t we just have a bajillion things in common. Thanks for scoping out some paths ahead of us!

Yes, @puravidaville is why I’m the luckiest guy I know.

I'm surprised that the love of your life didn't introduce us earlier :)

Yes, it looks like we have many things in common!! It's nice to 'meet' you!

In her defense, she probably did and I probably did one of this “mm hmm” but I never really heard her! :sh: secret. 😉

Hahaha, no worries, my husband is the same (I mean he is like you) :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19