Hitchhiking adventures in Italy - Tuscania #4

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to one of the most beautiful places I saw while traveling Italy: Tuscania. This old town is build on a hill and surrounded by lots of old castle and church ruins. 07-08.06.2014

This is what we saw right after entering the town. Isn't it incredibly beautiful?

I love old stone houses, and in the Toscany and generally in Italy there is a lot of beautiful and very ancient architecture.

So of course, the first thing we did, was getting crazy with photographying the stunning scenery.

Then we entered and found this very charming guitare store, where my friend could play on one of the handmade guitars there. I can tell you it was such a blissful moment listening to the sweet sound of a guitare in the evening when the temperature cools down a bit, after a long hot day. A lot of people stopped and joined listening :) If you ever visit Tuscania you should check out this guitare shop. The owner is a very nice guy and a great artist: I mean look at those guitars!

I think I made a photo in every street we entered. At least I had the wish to photograph everything I saw for I was so enchanted by the palce.

We decided to visit the monastery too, since we had walked already half the way up to the hill. When we arrived we wondered if it was possible to see the inside too, when a nunn asked us if we would like to have a free guided tour. They showed us the place and told us about Skt. Joseph and the wonders he had done there. On the picture you can see the yard of the nunnery. It was a super nice atmosphere and the nunns were so lovely, very happy and funny. They were preparing a party that night for one farmer who supplied the whole convent with 80 nuns all year with milk, so they invited all his friends and family and one nun played flamencoguitar. Also they told us that their convent was very international because the oldest nunn who had lives there did not want to leave the place and if there is one nun at a monestry it can not be closed.

PL197494.jpg

I talked to a very charming nun about the philosophy of Nietzsche and she was very interested to hear about the resasons he had for saying "God is dead!" After they had shown us around they filled up our waterbottles and gave us this paper with a prayer on the back and some sunscreen for we were very sunburned.

ALready on the way up to the convent we had smelled the incredibly good smell of fresh pizza. So on the way down we were following our noses. Hmmm such an awesome smell I can tell you. And there is a reason: In Tuscania they have the only restaurant that has a 7-cheese Pizza on the menue.

20140607_221817.jpg

Yes! You read it right: 7-cheese Pizza! And look at the size! I had the Tuna one but I tried the 7 cheese one and if you are a cheese lover it is the best you can get :D Eventhough I mostly eat vegan nowadays I would definatly have one of those 7 cheese pizzas again if I was in Tuscania.

After the meal it was already night and we had no place to stay. Since we were travelling low budget staying in a Hotel was no option. So we started walking out of town. And kept walking, looking for a nice field to camp on. The problem was: there were heaps of fields but also heaps of fences and dogs barking loudly.

I really like the summer in Italy: even at 1 o'clock in the night you can hear children playing and laughing.

This was were we placed out tent in the end. The grass was comfortable and fluffy but we stayed totally paranoid to get caught by the owner of the field all night because the barking of the dogs just did not stop and sometimes it seemed like they were coming for us.

Can you imagine how hard it was to leave? But we were already looking foreward to visiting another beautiful lake: Lago di Bolsena. In my next post I will share with you the adventures on the way to this incredibly beautiful lake and the happy times we had there. Thank you so much for reading ;)

Lots of Light and Love <3

The way to Ostia - 1
Ostia Antica -1.1
Bracciano -2
Viterbo -3

Sort:  

Beautiful place..you're not by any chance going to check Sienna?? It's a very quaint and charming town after Pisa.

This tour was in 2014... I was in Sienna and found it very beautiful but sadly very expensive ;) I will make a post about it too ;)

It was a daytrip for us from Florence..please make a post as I want to go back at some point. Cheers!

Nice. Have you made a post about it? I follow you, so if you decide to make one I will see it ;)

No lols..that was more than 10 yrs ago. You make one ;)

this is great, love the photos, my first big adventure I hitchiked from canada all the way throught the united states, into mexio, guatemala, el salvador and further!!
For Best Results: Resteem, Upvote, Follow and Comment!

Awesome, sounds like a great adventure. I have never been at any of these places but I hope I can travel Southamerica this winter ;) Thanks a lot for your support ;) I will check your profile too now ;)

Great! We love it here we actually ended up moving to Costa Rica a few years ago, we loved it taht much. Now we have a little farm with lots of medicinal plants ect

Sounds awesome! Just the perfect way to life: cultivating your own medicine and food ;)

We try our best. WE have good days, and bad ones. Like everyone

Thats true but I still hope to be able to grow my own food and medicine one day - it is so fascinating ;)

We hope you get that chance to!

Sweet and Resteemed :-) Bei ist auch der nächste Prag Post gerade raus ;-)

Danke, den schau ich mir doch gleich mal an ;)

Nice that you enjoyed Italia! Great place!

Yes, it was an awesome journey :) 3 weeks of freedom, sun and fun ;)

It's on my buckets list. 😁 I am so happy for you. Great post. Many info and great shots. Awsome

Thank you for reading and commenting. I am very happy you enjoyed the post ;) If you have the chance go for it ;D

Pictures are great. I guess, you had a blast. Its inspiring, at the same time. It wakes up "that travelers" inside us.

Thank you. Yes, it was a great journey ;D Great that you find it inspiring ;) Go for it if you feel like it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49