Pictures from Ostia Antica, the ancient harbour of Rome

in #backpacking8 years ago (edited)

Ciao a tutti,

today I want to share some pictures I took in Ostia Antica, the ancient harbour of Rome, which I visited twice because it is absolutly fantastic.


Myself getting sunburned on top of the theatre.


And here you can see the theatre and me fixing my leaf crown.


The ancient buildings in Ostia are made with bricks.


Artwork from the very old times. Shaddow of me and my friend.


Beautiful ruins... and they are still digging out more of them.


Wild flowers, herbs and grases embellish the scenery with their beautiful colours and sweet perfumes.


Ruin maze

The adventure of how we got to Ostia you can find with this link: https://steemit.com/life/@yoganarchista/hitch-hiking-in-italy

Hope you like my pictures. Ostia Antica is one of my favorite places in the Rome area because it is so calm and peaceful there. The platanus trees that grow there spend shaddow and the bricks warm up during the day and spend warmth in the evening.
Lots of Love to you :)

Sort:  

welcome to Rome :)

Thank you, actually I took the pictures in 2014. I miss this lovely place :)

Nice pics. I'm dead jealous, sitting here in my parents house in Ireland. It's raining outside!

Thanks. I'm in Berlin at the moment. The weather is nice so I'll propably go for a little walk outside. Maybe you can too, I mean take care of your health but sometimes feeling cool rain in the face can be a fantasic experience. :)

Wow gorgeous, Rome aint bad either ;)

Yes, Rome is a very nice place to go. Forum Romanum was very impressive to me and I totally fell in love with all the art on the streets and in the small galleries. <3

I like the artwork on the walls... looks like an ancient Trogdor

Yes, the mosaic is super-nice. I think the room was a thermae, thats why the art is connected so much to water. It is actually on the floor (the picture is made from a balcony on top of another building looking downwards).

Great pictures! I was in ostia antica last year, took a lot of pictures but somehow i lost them all haha

Happened to me too, when I was there the first time. In the night after my camera was stolen... or lost... who knows :D I was drunk with nice Italian wine and had a blackout :D

Welcome aboard, are you italian?

Thank you, I'm from Germany. I enjoyed traveling in Italy very much because I found a lot of beautiful and lovely people, art, fruits, music, little towns, historic places, campingspots etc... I will share other pictures and storys from my journeys in Italy. :)

I've been here. I fell in one of these steps

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43