Travel Tip #10 Bikepacking Vs Backpacking!

in #travel7 years ago

I have spent a year and a half bicycling through five countries in South East Asia as well as a year biking the Ecuadorian Andes and Coastline. Bike-packing has given me adventures and memories I'll never forget but the reality of it all is that it can be a bit burdensome.

I believe my bike-packing days are over. If you need to take an airplane it becomes a major headache and expense. Buses will charge you more. It makes for slow and often exhausting travel with an extra element of danger. It simply complicates long term travel, you spend more time on the road and less time at the places you want to be.

The other side of the coin is, if you're really into biking, and looking for an adventure. I would pick a country and make a plan and go all in 100%. Make the most of it, be out in nature, take off the beaten path trails and get lost until you start to worry about what you'll do when the sun goes down!

Nowadays, I prefer to carry a mid-size backpack and nothing else. I get around fast and inexpensively. I take advantage of cheap flights with no checked baggage. I have no bike to take care off, I don't worry about having a bike stolen while running into a store, I enjoy walking around, being sociable and not biking past everyone.

Not To be Missed!

Road Trip Tour Around the Island! Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand!

World Travel Report: Aruba

World Travel Pro Finds his Office in Koh Pha Ngan Thailand!

The Beach Dogs of Haad Rin, Koh Pha Ngan Thailand and One Happy Cat :)

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

Interesting post @world-travel-pro :)

Although my biking experience have a little different perspective.

Can't speak for the states but taking your bike with airplanes aren't that expensive in my optic. Think the average in Europe is 45 euro :)

Biking is about wanting to be where you are and not where you are going. The amount of people, nature and cultures outside the tourist zones is something I would never have seen by taking the train, car or plane.

It's slow and it takes patience. But the reward is great. Both physically and mentally.

Hope to see you around! Cheers!

Totally agree. That's why I back packed for over two and half years. But now I don't give a shit. I just want to get to where I'm going. I never ridden a bike in the states nor would I. Thanks for the detailed response. Looking forward to more great posts!

-Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Awesome !!! GREAT POST....loved it.
Every time i see your posts i get delighted,they are just awesome,keep it up :) good luck and
dont forget to upvote back.

Thank you. I'm about to post another great article shortly.

yes i will definitely read that article.

Awesome! Thank you

Thank you for your insightful tips! I just started to get into bag-packing. This year I traveled around Europe and the south part of Thailand and it was the best experience I had by far (and yes I definitely took cheap flights to get around). However, I haven't been to Koh Pha Ngan just yet (Thank you for your Koh Pha Ngan post as well :) ) I had just been somewhere pretty close by actually, Krabi, Koh Phi Phi and Phuket. If you are planning to travel to Thailand again I would be happy to provide you with information about the places I mentioned :).

That's great, thank you so much! Thailand is one of my favorite countries. That's for sure!

I love my bike for the ease of travel, I don't know how long I'd last following your tracks though!

How many punctures? Stolen seats /bikes?

Like you say, lots of time in the saddle and less chance to meet people while riding - plenty to talk about once you do get off though eh!? Nice one :)

I prefer to carry a mid-size backpack and nothing else. I get around fast and inexpensively.

I agree! Great post!

Thanks. You're doing great on here I noticed. I'm happy for you!

I'm happy that you are now more motivated, and your reputation score is increasing! :)

Thanks! What I'm about to post in a short while will give you an idea of why I've been less than thrilled to be spending so much time on the computer. But I'm now happy with the decision I've made to stick around. By the looks of things I think you are too!

Because money is addicting lol. I have always been even though I ranted, I never stopped writing even with <$1.

Become insta-whale, become insta-whale, become insta-whale, become insta-whale!

PS: Let's strip away the whale support, I don't know if you will still be happy. lol

Thanks, I just dropped him a note and an up-vote for 3 cents :)

hahaha just checked but i am worth 3 cents aswell

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43