Travel Pro Health #11: Coconut Oil Around the World!

in #travel7 years ago

Hey there my Steemit friends. One of my favorite health items that I almost always travel with is coconut oil! I say almost always as in some countries it's easier to get and more affordable than others. Thailand is one of the easiest and most affordable countries to get coconut oil. It's a fairly inexpensive high quality domestic product sold at just about every 7-Eleven in the country; and there are 7-Elevens everywhere!

This bottle is 120ml. I bought it at a 7-Eleven in Bangkok for about three dollars. The Thais are very healthy people and the health benefits of this oil is common knowledge to them. It's a crying shame that the American and global propaganda has taught people that all fats and oils are unhealthy. Only some fats and oils are terrible for you; mostly the synthetic ones while natural fats are often great for you. Not all fats are created equal. This oil is probably one of the healthiest on the planet!

Seems like the Ecuadorians haven't gotten the message yet. It's almost impossible to find coconut oil in Ecuador unless you really know where to look. It's often sold in natural health food stores in the western world. Ecuador has many health food stores, yet none of them sell coconut oil! In fact the only place I was able to find it and where I bought this 130ml jar was in the high end western style super market "Super Maxi". No coincidence that this is where most foreigners shop. This small jar was not cheap either. I paid about seven dollars for it!

Not all cultures and countries are the same or created equal. I'll state for the record I prefer Thailand over Ecuador. One main reason is that they are a much more health conscience culture. Hence you can buy coconut oil there at a fair price and on almost every street corner. I really love Thailand for this reason and many others.

Here we can see coconut oil being sold at the Yellow Green Farmers Market in Hollywood Florida. The vendors know how good this is for you so they are not shy about using it's incredible health benefits as an advertising aid. The western world is really becoming aware of healthy fats unlike years in the past. This product is growing in popularity in the USA and I'm happy to see that. If any country needs a health make-over my home country of the United States who leads the world in obesity certainly is it. When I saw this at the farmers market in Florida it really put a smile on my face.

If your ambitious enough, want to go old school, and you have your own coconut tree; you can make it yourself. This is Uncle Kenny's tree in his backyard. However I certainly don't see him going through the labor intensive process of grating mature coconuts, boiling them in water on a low heat for hours and then ladling off the coconut oil that rises to the top. However if you want to make your own, that is basically the process.

Besides all the great health benefits of coconut oil that I'll get into in just a moment. One reason why I take a spoonful of coconut oil each morning is because it makes the other supplements I take more bio-available. For example I always take turmeric capsules as part of my morning supplement routine. Taking coconut oil along with it really allows your body to adsorb all of the turmeric health benefits. Fats in general work well with nutrient dense foods allowing your body to absorb them better. If I don't have coconut oil on hand, I'll have a slice of avocado with my supplements, which is about 80% fat.

Health Benefits!

Coconut oil is 91% healthy medium chained saturated fat and 60% of it is comprised of super healthy Caprylic acid, Lauric acid, Capric acid. These kinds of fats are very easy for the body to digest only taking a three step process to turn into fuel, where unhealthy oils like vegetable oil take a 26 step process and is very hard on the body in many ways.

Coconut oil has been proven to aid in a host of different things. The way it naturally raises ketone levels in the body helps patients suffering from Alzheimer's disease. It increases HDL (good cholesterol) and converts bad cholesterol into good cholesterol making coconut oil incredibly good for the heart and cardiovascular system.

Coconut oil has anti-bacterial and anti-microbial properties making it a good treatment for UTI infections and kidney infections. It is also a potent killer of intestinal candida overgrowth which is very common in the USA with the SAD diet. This amazing oil also has a protective effect on the liver as well; I know a lot of people that would love that!

Due to it's anti-inflammatory properties coconut oil is great for those suffering from any inflammation related illness. From arthritis to asthma, even brain fog! Coconut oil is also very anti-cancer. Studies where cancer was chemically induced on lab subjects, with the use of coconut oil the cancer was prevented!

Being anti-viral, anti-bacterial, and anti-fungal makes it one great booster for your immune system. Since coconut oil is quickly converted into energy, you can replace cheap carbohydrates with a table spoon of this oil three times a day to aid in recovering faster from many common illnesses like the flu or a cold. Sugars and cheap carbs often aid bad bacteria and viruses keeping you sick longer.

Coconut oil improves brain and memory function. The medium chain fatty acids are easily available for the brain cells to use as energy; there for as mentioned earlier it's obviously good for those suffering from Alzheimer. Coconut oil also increases your metabolism and gives you long lasting energy.

Coconut oil has also been proven to do much more like: improve digestion, reduce stomach ulcers, reduce symptoms of gallbladder disease and pancreatitis, improve skin issues, prevent gum disease and tooth decay, prevents osteoporosis, improves type II diabetes, aids in weight loss while helping build muscle, good for your hair, fights against candida and other yeast infections, balances your hormones, and it even slows the aging process!

This is one of the more powerful super foods/supplements you can take and I make sure to take it regularly. I spent some time on Dr. Axe's website researching all this information so I must give him credit on where I learned so much about this incredible stuff.

Yes, it really is incredible and I highly suggest you start adding it to your diet. You can even cook with it as it's very stable even at fairly high heat. For all these reasons coconut oil truly is a Travel Pro Health item and super food! Until next time -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Up-Date From the Galapagos and Issues with Time Management! (15 photos)

Travel Pro Eats #11: Poo Hot Pot Buffet in Krabi Thailand and Some Travel Budget Tips! (14 food photos)

Real Life Captured #70: Yellow Green Farmers Market in Hollywood Florida USA! Part Seven (14 photos)

Travel Pro Hotels #9: Hotel David Alejandro Quito Ecuador!

Real Life Captured #69: Quatro Manzanas Mercado, Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Three (14 photos)

Travel Pro Deals #2: Three Travel Pro Deals Found in Ecuador!

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Sort:  

I love coconuts. Great post, I enjoyed this read.

What??? A food health store without coconut oil. How's that possible?
I love this oil so much and I am thankful to live in coconut growing and producing part of the world! Though the one for Thailand always seems to be cheaper than the ones made in Cambodia...

Yes, Thailand really brings a lot to the table and good prices too! I know, Ecuador and much of South America is behind the curve in this stuff. They are slowly catching up :)

funny enough i was just eating coconut when i stumbled on your post felt nicer eating and reading about it. hahahaha great post by the way

That is fantastic! Thanks for your comment and enjoy your coconuts!

Coconut oil is the thing brother 🙏🏼

Getting my daily dose by having it in my coffee, the mct oil combined with the caffeine (and also some l-Theanine for optimal perks) is an amazing nootropic. Firepower for the brain 🤟🏼

Great additional info for the post! Thank you for sharing you know your coconut oil combos! I'll try it in my coffee tomorrow :)

Great post about coconut oil! A few days ago I uploaded a Video on D tube how to make a toothpaste out of coconut oil and turmeric. Since last year I had one tooth that was always bothering me. I went to the doctor several times and he always gave me antibiotics but a few weeks later the pain would come back. Now I use the toothpaste for 2 weeks now and since then its way less sensitive and I didn't have any pain. I hope the
effect continues and now I use coconut oil for many purposes :D

That is such a great addition to this post. Thank you for sharing. I'm so glad this fixed your tooth, but I can imagine you may have orange turmeric teeth for a short while after you brush!

Wow high quality post! I have definitely used coconut oil to help with irritated skin when moving between different climates. I’ll be more intentional on packing some next time I travel!

Thank you for the compliment I do try my best here on Steemit. So glad my post has helped you in regards to packing it for your next trip. Or don't pack it, it may be cheaper depending on where you are going, like SE Asia! :) Thanks for stopping by and hope to see you again soon! -Dan

I’ve noticed the coconut oil trend for the last year/s and defintely have gotten on board... of course my mother (who is from Malaysia) said “we’ve been using that forever back in Malaysia, old news! ” 🤷🏻‍♀️😂

Ha ha. That is true. It's old news for many from the South East Asia! Thanks for the comment how to see you again soon! -Dan

Looks like I'm going to have to add coconut oil to my increased advocado intake. I'm curious to see whether it does actually shorten a cold. I'm a bit sceptical myself!

When you say "You can even cook with it as it's very stable even at fairly high heat." What would it mean if it wasn't stable? 😊

When oils get hot, or too hot, it changes the molecules of it and makes it more carcinogenic. Coconut oil has a higher temperature than most oils before that change happens. Thanks for stopping by as always Gillian!

I think I read about that somewhere. Something to do with marinading meat being a bad thing to do when BBQing but that certain beer counteracted the effects! 😁

Its very cheap in the Philippines that virin coconut oil you can get that 2$ in every 120ml bottle or less specially in provinces.

Yes, I remember. Also many people there make their own. But sometime they burn it!

in our country coconut oil water is the best for dehydration and best juice for pregnant women's.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44